Our Mission

The Mission of the Department of EHSRM is to ensure a safe and healthy work environment for the campus community, promote safe work practices that do not harm the environment, ensure compliance with any and all rules and regulations pertaining to occupational health and safety and the environment, and to protect the University’s resources through sound administration of the University’s insurance coverage.

Our Goal is to ensure that when you leave at the end of the day, you are just as healthy and safe as when you arrived. 


Special Announcements

EHSRM Safety Alerts

EHSRM Safety Alerts are meant to provide guidance on UTRGV safety compliance issues that may have been observed.

The following information outlines the training sessions offered by the Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management Department. Click on each subject title to get information for the specific training along with the upcoming schedule.

Classroom Training Sessions

Subject Campus Date* Day Time* Building
12-15 Passenger Van
Edinburg Aug 8 Thu 9:00 - 12:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Animal Care Occupational Health and Safety (OHS)
New! Edinburg Mar 23 Fri 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Asbestos Awareness
Edinburg Jul 18 Wed 6:30 - 7:30 p.m. EASFC Breakroom
Back Safety
New! Edinburg Feb 28 Thu 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Basic Laboratory Safety / Hazard Communication
TBD
Biological Safety (BSL-2)
Edinburg Feb 8 Thursday 3:30 - 4:45 p.m. EEHSB 104
Biosafety Level 3 (BSL-3)
Edinburg Jul 26 Fri 2:00 - 2:45 p.m. EEHSB 104
Bloodborne Pathogens (BBP)
Harlingen Sep 14 Fri 6:00 - 7:00 p.m. HCEBL 1.132
Child Protection Training
TBD
Clinical Safety Orientation
Edinburg Aug 19 Mon 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. ESCNE 2.288
Edinburg Aug 21 Wed 10:45 - 11:45 a.m. EUREC Conf. Rm.
Brownsville Aug 22 Thu 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. BLHSB 2.804
Construction Project Requirements
Edinburg Jan 28 Mon 12:00 - 1:30 pm EEHSB 104
CPR / AED (American Heart Association Basic Life Support - RGV CPR)
New! Edinburg Apr 10 Wed 1:30 - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Crowd Control

Edinburg Aug 15 Thu 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Custodian Safety
New! Edinburg Apr 9 Mon 6:30 - 8:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Custodian Safety (Night shift)
TBD
Ergonomics
Edinburg Apr 24 Wed 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. ESTHC Conf. Rm.
Evacuation Assistant / Fire Extinguisher
Brownville Aug 20 Tue 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. BLHSB 2.804
Edinburg Aug 21 Wed 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. EUREC Conf. Rm.
Facilities New Employee Safety Orientation
Edinburg Aug 27 Tue 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Sep 24 Tue 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Oct 29 Tue 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Facilities Trade - AEEP
New! Edinburg Mar 30 Fri 8:30 - 10:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Facilities Trade - MMP
TBD
Facilities Trade - PCCG
TBD
Fall Protection
Brownsville Apr 26 Fri 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. BMSLC 1.115
First Aid / CPR / AED
New! Edinburg Aug 21 Wed 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Aug 22 Thu 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Brownsville Sep 13 Fri 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Edinburg Sep 17 Tue 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Brownsville Oct 4 Fri 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Edinburg Oct 17 Thu 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Brownsville Oct 28 Mon 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Brownsville Nov 15 Fri 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Brownsville Dec 18 Wed 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
First Aid / CPR / AED (American Heart Association (AHA) Heartsaver - RGV CPR)
New! Brownsville Oct 28 Mon 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Fire Extinguisher - For Student Organizations
New! Edinburg Oct 5 Fri 12:15 - 1:15 p.m. EEHSB 104
Fire Safety (Student Organizations)
New! Edinburg Sep 29 Sat 1:00 - 4:00 p.m. ESCNE 1.603
Forklift Operator Training
Brownsville Sep 13 Fri 1:00 - 4:00 p.m. BASFC Conf Rm
Groundskeeping Safety
TBD
Hazard Communication for Non-Lab Personnel
New! Brownsville Aug 20 Tue 2:30 - 4:00 p.m. BLHSB 2
HAZWOPER 40-Hour
Edinburg May 21-25 Mon-Fri 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEDUC 1.504
HAZWOPER Refresher (Veolia)
Edinburg Feb 19 Monday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Heat Stress
Brownsville Jun 20 Wed 6:30 - 7:30 p.m. BASFC Irg Conf.
Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) in an Institutional Environment
Brownsville Dec 5 Wed 1:30 - 2:30 p.m. BLHSB 1.104
Laboratory Safety / Hazard Communication Training
Brownsville Aug 20 Tue 2:30 - 4:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.804
Laboratory Safety for Minors
[For Marine Science
Teen Camp]
South Padre Jul 29 Mon 11:30 - 1:00 p.m. Coastal Studies Lab
Ladder Safety and Facilities Hazard Communication
Brownsville Apr 11 Wed 9:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. BASFC Lg. Conf.
Laser Safety
New! Edinburg Jul 18 Thu 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Lift Operator Training (for Scissor, Boom or Aerial Lift)
Brownsville Jul 12 Fri 1:00 - 4:00 p.m. BASFC Conf Rm
Lock Out/Tag Out
New! Edinburg Apr 18 Wed 8:00 - 9:00 a.m. EASFC Breakroom
Mercury Spill Response
Edinburg Jul 23 Tue 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4)
Edinburg Oct 16 Tue 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. ESTUN 1.102
New Faculty Resource Fair
TBD
RCRA/DOT Refresher (Veolia)
Edinburg Feb 20 Tuesday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
OSHA 10-Hour Construction
Edinburg Apr 16 Tue 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Radiation Safety - Radioactive Materials
New! Edinburg Feb 7 Thu 12:00 - 2:00 p.m. ESCNE 1.604
Respiratory Protection Awareness (for Art department)
TBD
Stop The Bleed Training
Edinburg Aug 20 Tue 8:00 - 9:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Aug 20 Tue 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Aug 20 Tue 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Aug 20 Tue 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Brownsville Aug 21 Wed 9:00 - 10:25 a.m. BLHSB 2.804
New! Edinburg Aug 26 Mon 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
New! Edinburg Aug 27 Tue 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
New! Edinburg Aug 28 Wed 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Updated! Brownsville Sep 19 Thu 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. BLIBR 3.102
Edinburg Sep 25 Wed 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Sep 25 Wed 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Sep 25 Wed 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Updated! Brownsville Oct 4 Fri 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. BLIBR 3.102
Edinburg Oct 7 Mon 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Oct 7 Mon 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Oct 7 Mon 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Supervisor Series EHSRM
Brownsville Feb 22 Thursday 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. Salon Cassia 2.402
UTS 157 Training
Canceled Brownsville Dec 19 Wed Canceled Canceled
Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Edinburg Aug 21 Wed 10:00 - 10:30 a.m. EUREC Conf. Rm.
To register for any of the above training sessions, visit www.utrgv.edu/training.

Additional Training Sessions

12-15 Passenger Van
Basic Laser Safety
Basic Radiation Safety Training - Radioactive Materials
CITI Program
Driver Safety
Food Handler
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Safety
Radiation Safety - Radiation Producing Devices (X-Ray devices)

*Dates, times and locations are subject to change.