Our Mission

The Mission of the Department of EHSRM is to ensure a safe and healthy work environment for the campus community, promote safe work practices that do not harm the environment, ensure compliance with any and all rules and regulations pertaining to occupational health and safety and the environment, and to protect the University’s resources through sound administration of the University’s insurance coverage.

Our Goal is to ensure that when you leave at the end of the day, you are just as healthy and safe as when you arrived. 


Special Announcements

Policies

EHSRM Safety Alerts

EHSRM Safety Alerts are meant to provide guidance on UTRGV safety compliance issues that may have been observed.

The following information outlines the training sessions offered by the Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management Department. Click on each subject title to get information for the specific training along with the upcoming schedule. You may also sign-up or view training session pictures

Classroom Training Sessions
Subject Campus Date* Day Time* Building/Format
12-15 Passenger Van
New! Edinburg Feb 25 Tue 1:30 - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 1.111
Arc Flash Awareness
Edinburg Nov 12 Tue 2:30 - 3:30 p.m. EASFC Breakroom
Animal Research - Biological Safety Training
Brownsville Jan 15 Wed 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. BLHSB 1.602
Animal Research - Occupational Health and Safety (OHS)
Brownsville Jan 15 Wed 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. BLHSB 1.602
Asbestos Awareness
Edinburg Jul 18 Wed 6:30 - 7:30 p.m. EASFC Breakroom
Back Safety
New! Edinburg Sep 26 Thu 1:15 - 2:15 p.m. EEHSB 104
Basic Laboratory Safety / Hazard Communication
TBD
Bicycle Training for Parking and Transportation staff
New! Brownsville Mar 13 Fri 10:30 - 12:00 p.m. BVAQ A 1.113
Biological Safety (BSL-2)
Edinburg Feb 8 Thursday 3:30 - 4:45 p.m. EEHSB 104
Biosafety Level 3 (BSL-3)
Edinburg Sep 26 Thu 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Bloodborne Pathogens (BBP) Annual Refresher
Harlingen Sep 14 Fri 6:00 - 7:00 p.m. HCEBL 1.132
Child Protection Training
TBD
Clinical Safety Training (Initial Bloodborne Pathogens Training)
Zoom June 1 Mon 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Video Conference
Zoom June 15 Mon 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Video Conference
Zoom July 6 Mon 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Video Conference
Zoom July 20 Mon 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Video Conference
Construction Project Requirements
Edinburg Jan 28 Mon 12:00 - 1:30 pm EEHSB 104
Contractor Awareness
Brownsville Feb 27 Thu 11:30 - 1:30 p.m. BINAB 2.218
COVID-19 General Awareness
Zoom May 21 Thu 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. Video Conference
CPR / AED (American Heart Association Basic Life Support - RGV CPR)
New! Edinburg Apr 10 Wed 1:30 - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Crowd Control
Canceled Brownsville Dec 11 Wed 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. Canceled
Custodian Safety
New! Edinburg Apr 9 Mon 6:30 - 8:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Custodian Safety (Night shift)
TBD
Custodial Services: COVID-19 Awareness
New! Harlingen Mar 19 Thu 2:30 - 4:30 p.m. HCEBL 1.100
Department of Transportation (DOT) Hazardous Materials Transportation Annual Refresher (Veolia)
New! Edinburg Feb 19 Wed 12:30 - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Ergonomics
Edinburg Oct 24 Thu 9:00 - 10:00 a.m. EEHSB 104
Evacuation Assistant / Fire Extinguisher
Canceled Edinburg May 22 Fri 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. Canceled
Facilities New Employee Safety Orientation
Canceled Brownsville Mar 31 Tue TBD Canceled
Facilities Trade - AEEP
New! Edinburg Mar 30 Fri 8:30 - 10:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Facilities Trade - MMP
TBD
Facilities Trade - PCCG
TBD
Fall Protection / Ladder Safety
Brownsville Dec 17 Tue 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. BINAB 1.206
Fall Protection with Demo Vehicle
Brownsville Mar 4 Wed 9:00 - 10:00 a.m. BASFC Lot
First Aid / CPR / AED
Canceled Edinburg Apr 17 Fri 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Canceled
First Aid / CPR / AED (American Heart Association (AHA) Heartsaver - RGV CPR)
New! Brownsville Oct 28 Mon 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Fire Extinguisher
Edinburg Sep 7 Sat 4:00 - 5:00 p.m. EIEAB 1.206
Fire Safety (Student Organizations)
New! Edinburg Sep 29 Sat 1:00 - 4:00 p.m. ESCNE 1.603
Forklift Operator Training
Edinburg Jan 16 Thu 1:00 - 4:00 p.m. ECESS 1.235
Groundskeeping Safety
TBD
General Hazard Communication for Non-Lab Personnel
Updated Brownsville Oct 29 Tue 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. BINAB 1.220
HAZWOPER 40-Hour
Canceled Edinburg May 18 Mon-Fri 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Canceled
HAZWOPER Refresher (Veolia)
Edinburg Feb 18 Tue 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Heat Stress
Brownsville Jun 20 Wed 6:30 - 7:30 p.m. BASFC Irg Conf.
Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) in an Institutional Environment
Brownsville Dec 5 Wed 1:30 - 2:30 p.m. BLHSB 1.104
Introduction to EHSRM for New Employees
Zoom June 1 Mon 9:30 a.m. – 9:45 a.m. Video Conference
Zoom June 15 Mon 9:30 a.m. – 9:45 a.m. Video Conference
Zoom July 6 Mon 9:30 a.m. – 9:45 a.m. Video Conference
Zoom July 20 Mon 9:30 a.m. – 9:45 a.m. Video Conference
Laboratory Safety / Hazard Communication Training
Edinburg Jan 8 Wed 11:10 - 12:00 p.m. ESCNE 2.288
Laboratory Safety for Minors
GAMES Edinburg Jun 22 Mon 8:00 - 9:30 a.m. Canceled
BLAST Edinburg Jul 13 Mon 8:00 - 9:30 a.m. Canceled
STISD STEMS Edinburg Jul 20 Mon 8:00 - 9:30 a.m. Canceled
Ladder Safety and Facilities Hazard Communication
Brownsville Apr 11 Wed 9:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. BASFC Lg. Conf.
Laser Safety
Edinburg Sep 12 Thu 11:00 - 12:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Lift Operator Training (for Scissor, Boom or Aerial Lift)
New! Brownsville Nov 1 Fri 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. BASFC Conf Rm
Lock Out/Tag Out , PPE, Pinch Points
New! Edinburg Oct 17 Thu 7:45 - 9:15 a.m. EASFC Breakroom
Mercury Spill Response
Edinburg Jul 23 Tue 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4)
Canceled Edinburg Mar 11 Wed 8:15 - 9:45 a.m. Canceled
New Faculty Resource Fair
TBD
RCRA/DOT Refresher (Veolia)
Edinburg Feb 20 Tuesday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
OSHA 10-Hour Construction
Canceled Edinburg Apr 29 Wed 8:00 - 10:00 a.m. Canceled
Basic Radiation Safety - Radioactive Materials
New! Edinburg Feb 7 Thu 12:00 - 2:00 p.m. ESCNE 1.604
Radiation Safety Training: Industrial X-Ray Devices (Non-Human Use)
New! Edinburg Feb 7 Thu 12:00 - 2:00 p.m. ESCNE 1.604
Radiation Safety Training: Medical X-Ray Devices (Human Use)
New! Edinburg Feb 7 Thu 12:00 - 2:00 p.m. ESCNE 1.604
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) Hazardous Waste Annual Refresher (Veolia)
New! Edinburg Feb 19 Wed 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Respiratory Protection Awareness (for Art department)
TBD
Rocket Safety Training
TBD
Stop The Bleed Training
Canceled Brownsville May 6 Wed 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.  Canceled
Supervisor Series EHSRM
Brownsville Feb 22 Thursday 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. Salon Cassia 2.402
UTS 157 Training
Canceled Brownsville Dec 19 Wed Canceled Canceled
Workers’ Compensation Insurance Refresher
New! Edinburg Oct 24 Thu 5:00 - 6:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
To register for any of the above training sessions, visit  www.utrgv.edu/training.

*Dates, times and locations are subject to change.