Recruitment

Mission

The Recruitment and Scholarships Department is committed to reviewing current practices to improve efficiencies. This will allow us to reiterate UTRGV’s commitment to make college attainable for prospective students, campus visitors, and the University community at large. By continuously coaching constituents through the admissions and financial aid process, students will be successful not only in enrolling but in completing their collegiate goals. By utilizing technology, data, and innovation, we will identify and recruit top academic achievers to increase retention and graduation rates.

Essential functions include assisting high school and transfer students through the admissions and financial aid process, managing new student orientations and assisting with registration, managing campus tours, new student scholarships as well as the entering freshmen welcome event, The Vaquero Roundup.

Dara Newton
Associate VP for Strategic Enrollment
956-665-2925
dara.newton@utrgv.edu

Welcome

UTRGV recruiters are your admissions counselors who will guide you through the enrollment process. They are here to answer your questions and share information about academics, campus life, scholarships, and much, much more. 

Meet your UTRGV Recruiter to find out more about attending UTRGV.

Staff Directory

Carlo Tamayo
Assistant Director of Outreach
Office: 956-882-3814
Mobile: 956-466-1560
carlo.tamayo@utrgv.edu

Veronica Flores
Outreach Representative II
Office: 956-882-7624
Mobile: 956-521-9341
veronica.flores@utrgv.edu

Jeanette Tamez
Outreach Representative II
Office: 956-665-3179
Mobile: 956-467-6414
jeanette.tamez@utrgv.edu

Jacob Salinas
Outreach Representative I
Office: 956-665-7121
Mobile: 
jacob.j.salinas01@utrgv.edu

New Student Orientation Coordinators

Brenda Rodriguez
Coordinator of Recruitment & Orientation
Office: 956-882-7624
Mobile: 956-376-8063
brenda.rodriguez@utrgv.edu

Krystal Marroquin
Coordinator of Recruitment and Orientation
Office: 956-665-5390
krystal.marroquin01@utrgv.edu

Administrative Staff

Blanca Garcia
Administrative Assistant II
Office: 956-665-7335
blanca.garcia@utrgv.edu

Veronica Leos
Office Assistant I
Office: 956-665-7442
veronica.leos01@utrgv.edu

Office is Closed