Scholarship Opportunities

  • Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers

    The Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers is accepting applications. Read more about the scholarship requirements or go directly to the application.

  • Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers Application

Carnegie Project Announcement

  • Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate (CPED)

    Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate announced the admittance of nine new member institutions. The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley is among the new members to the project. Read more about the Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate.

Testing Announcements and Updates

  • Educator Testing Transition

    Please be advised of the following Educator Testing Transition.

    The Texas Educator Certification Examination Program will transition to a new vendor, NCS Pearson, Inc., beginning September 1, 2018, for the following tests: TExES, TExMaT, TASC, and TASC-ASL. ETS will administer the new Performance Assessment for School Leaders (PASL) when it becomes effective in fall 2019. The Educator Testing Transition flyer (PDF, 56 KB) provides more information about the transition. Ongoing updates will be provided by both vendors and the Texas Education Agency in the coming weeks.

    Important to note for current, testing candidates: Registrations with ETS will continue through August 29th for test dates through August 31st.

    More information and FAQs may be found at the following website: The new full-content website will be available September 1, 2018. All test-related inquiries should continue to be directed to ETS through August 31st: ETS Customer Service 1-800-205-2626.

    Posted: August 3, 2018 | 9:12 AM CST

  • Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit Change

    Candidates are limited to a total of 5 attempts to pass a certification examination under   Texas Education Code §21.048. A subsection of the law, which currently counts all attempts of the same examination taken before September 1, 2015 as only one attempt, is set to expire.   Beginning September 1, 2018, all attempts of the same examination will count toward the 5-attempt testing limit regardless of when the examination was first attempted.  

    Candidates, educators, and others who took certification examinations before September 1, 2015 and have not yet passed those examinations will find more information in the   candidate guidance document. Testers impacted by the change must take their examination(s) by August 31, 2018 if the new test attempt counting method will make them ineligible on September 1, 2018. Candidates who reach the 5-time testing limit must apply for a test-limit waiver to retest.

    Note : Individuals who did not test before September 1, 2015 are not affected by the change since all examination attempts have always been included in the attempt count for these testers.

  • Submit a TExES Exam retest request by completing the following survey. If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Educator Preparation and Accountability.