Program Coordinators

Below you will find a list of Program Coordinators by program. Program Coordinators are faculty members who will guide you throughout your entire graduate program from admissions through graduation. If you have questions, they have answers. Feel free to contact them at any point of your graduate career.

Jump to Program by College/School:

Robert C. Vackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship
College of Education P-16 Integration
College of Engineering and Computer Science
College of Fine Arts
College of Health Professions
College of Liberal Arts
College of Sciences
School of Medicine
School of Nursing
School of Social Work

Graduate Degrees

Robert C. Vackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship

Doctoral Degrees
Business Administration (Ph.D.) Dr. Bin Wang bin.wang@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees

Accountancy (MACC)

Linda Acevedo

Deborah Gonzalez

linda.acevedo@utrgv.edu

deborah.gonzalez@utrgv.edu

Business Administration (MBA)

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi 

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

Business Administration in Spanish (MBA)

Jimmie Limón

jimmie.limon@utrgv.edu

Business Analytics (MS)

Dr. Murad Moqbel

murad.moqbel@utrgv.edu

Business Administration – Spanish (MBA)

Dr. Clara Downey

clara.downey@utrgv.edu

Graduate Certificate Programs
Advanced Business Administration

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

Business Analytics

Dr. Jerald Hughes

j.hughes@utrgv.edu

Entrepreneurship

Dr. Russell Adams

russell.adams@utrgv.edu

International Sustainability Management

Dr. Edith Galy

edith.galy@utrgv.edu

User Experience and User Interface Design

Dr. Jerald Hughes
Dr. Elizabeth Berger

j.hughes@utrgv.edu
elizabeth.berger@utrgv.edu

College of Education and P-16 Integration

Doctoral Degrees
Curriculum and Instruction (Ed.D.) Dr. Laura Jewett laura.jewett@utrgv.edu
Educational Leadership (Ed.D.) Dr. Federico Guerra federico.guerra@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees
Bilingual Education (M.Ed.) Dr. Zulmaris Diaz zulmaris.diaz@utrgv.edu

Counseling (M.Ed.)
with a specialization in
Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Dr. Selma Yznaga

selma.yznaga@utrgv.edu

Counseling (M.Ed.)
with a specialization in
School Counseling

Dr. Selma Yznaga

selma.yznaga@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction with a Content Specialization in English (M.Ed.)

Dr. Ming-Tsan Lu

mingtsan.lu@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction with a Content Specialization in Mathematics (M.Ed.)

Dr. Ming-Tsan Lu

mingtsan.lu@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction with a Content Specialization in Elementary Math and Science Education (M.Ed.)

Dr. Ming-Tsan Lu

mingtsan.lu@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction with a Content Specialization in Mathematics Education (M.Ed.)

Dr. Ming-Tsan Lu

mingtsan.lu@utrgv.edu

Early Childhood Education (M.Ed.) Dr. Hilda Medrano hilda.medrano@utrgv.edu
Educational Leadership (M.Ed.) Dr. Rosalinda Hernandez rosalinda.hernandez@utrgv.edu
Educational Technology (M.Ed.) Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
Reading and Literacy (M.Ed.) Dr. Janine Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu
School Psychology (MA) Dr. Nancy Razo nancy.razo@utrgv.edu
Special Education (M.Ed.) Dr. John Lowdermilk john.lowdermilk@utrgv.edu
Teacher Leadership (M.Ed.) Dr. Velma Menchaca velma.menchaca@utrgv.edu
Certification Programs
Board Certified Behavior Analyst  Dr. Cheryl Fielding cheryl.fielding@utrgv.edu
Teacher Certification (Superintendent) Dr. Roberto Zamora roberto.zamora@utrgv.edu
Teacher Certification (Principal) Dr. Roberto Zamora roberto.zamora@utrgv.edu
Graduate Certificate Programs
Bilingual Counseling Dr. Elizabeth Palacios elizabeth.palacios@utrgv.edu
Certificado Avanzado en Educación Bilingüe Dr. Michael Guerrero michael.guerrero@utrgv.edu
E-Learning Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu 
Reading Specialist Dr. Janine M. Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu 
Online Instructional Designer Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
Secondary Bilingual Education  Dr. Janine M. Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu
Technology Leadership in Education Dr. Joseph Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
TxVSN Digital Literacies Dr. Janine M. Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu

College of Health Professions

Doctoral Degrees
Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) in cooperation with the University of Texas at Austin
Rehabilitation Counseling (Ph.D.) Dr. Sandra Hansmann sandra.hansmann@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees
Communication Sciences and Disorders (MS) Dr. Donald R. Fuller donald.fuller@utrgv.edu
Exercise Science (MS) Dr. Murat Karabulut murat.karabulut@utrgv.edu

Health Sciences (MS)

  • Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • Health Care Administration
  • Healthcare Informatics
  • Nutrition
  • Health Professions Education and Technology

Dr. Saraswathy Nair

Ms. Kim Garcia 

saraswathy.nair@utrgv.edu 

kim.garcia@utrgv.edu 

Kinesiology (MS) - Accelerated Online Dr. Zasha Romero zasha.romero@utrgv.edu
Occupational Therapy (MS) Dr. Roel Garcia roel.garcia03@utrgv.edu
Physician Assistant Studies (MPAS) Frank Ambriz frank.ambriz@utrgv.edu
Physician Assistant Studies – Bridge Program (MPAS) Lisa Kuhn lisa.kuhn@utrgv.edu
Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (MS) Dr. Elizabeth Palacios elizabeth.palacios@utrgv.edu 

College of Sciences

Doctoral Degrees
Physics (Ph.D.) in cooperation with the University of Texas at Arlington
Master’s Degrees
Agricultural, Environmental, and Sustainability Sciences (MS) Dr. Owen Temby owen.temby@utrgv.edu
Applied Statistics and Data Science (MS) Dr. George Yanev george.yanev@utrgv.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (MS) Dr. Michael Persans michael.persans@utrgv.edu
Biology (MS) Dr. Robert Dearth robert.dearth@utrgv.edu
Chemistry (MS) Dr. Javier Macossay-Torres javier.macossaytorres@utrgv.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (MSIS)
Science & Technology
Dr. Edgar Corpuz
edgar.corpuz@utrgv.edu
Mathematics (MS) Dr. Zhijun Qiao zhijun.qiao@utrgv.edu
Ocean, Coastal and Earth Sciences (MS) Dr. Diego Figueroa diego.figueroa@utrgv.edu
Physics (MS) Dr. Efrain Ferrer gradphys@utrgv.edu 

College of Engineering and Computer Science

Master’s Degrees
Civil Engineering (MS)

Dr. Mohamed Abdel Raheem

mohamed.abdelraheem@utrgv.edu

Computer Science (MS) Dr. Zhixiang Chen zhixiang.chen@utrgv.edu
Electrical Engineering (MSE) Dr. Dr. Nantakan Wongkasem nantakan.wongkasem@utrgv.edu
Engineering Management (MS) Dr. Anil Srivastava anil.srivastava@utrgv.edu
Engineering Management (MS) - Accelerated Online Dr. Anil Srivastava anil.srivastava@utrgv.edu
Information Technology (MS) Dr. Zhixiang Chen zhixiang.chen@utrgv.edu
Mechanical Engineering (MSE) Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Manufacturing Engineering (MSE) Dr. Anil Srivastava anil.srivastava@utrgv.edu
Graduate Certificate Programs
Materials Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Mechanics and Design Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Thermal Fluid Science Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu

College of Fine Arts

Master’s Degrees
Art (MFA) Dr. Christen Garcia christen.garcia@utrgv.edu 
Creative Writing (MFA) Dr. Jean Braithwaite jean.braithwaite@utrgv.edu
Music (MM) Dr. Cynthia Cripps cynthia.cripps@utrgv.edu
Art History (MAIS)

Dr. Christen Garcia

christen.garcia@utrgv.edu

Graduate Certificate Programs
Design

Dr. Christen Garcia

christen.garcia@utrgv.edu

Latin American Art History

Dr. Christen Garcia

christen.garcia@utrgv.edu

College of Liberal Arts

Doctoral Degrees
Clinical Psychology (PhD) Dr. Arthur Cantos clinicalpsychphd@utrgv.edu 
Master’s Degrees
Criminal Justice (MS) Dr. Marika Dawkins marika.dawkins@utrgv.edu
Criminal Justice (MS) - Accelerated Online Dr. Gordon Crews gordon.crews@utrgv.edu
Communication (MA) Dr. Kimberly Selber kimberly.selber@utrgv.edu
Clinical Psychology (MA) Dr. Jason Popan jason.popan@utrgv.edu
Disaster Studies (MA)

Dr. Dean Kyne

dean.kyne@utrgv.edu

English (MA)

Dr. Mark Noe

joe.noe@utrgv.edu

Experimental Psychology (MA) Dr. Jason Popan jason.popan@utrgv.edu
English as a 2nd Language (MA) Dr. Minhee Eom minhee.eom@utrgv.edu
History (MA) Dr. Jamie Starling jamie.starling@utrgv.edu
Political Science (MA) Dr. Sylvia Gonzalez-Gorman sylvia.gonzalezgorman@utrgv.edu
Public Affairs (MPA) Dr. Aziza Zemrani aziza.zemrani@utrgv.edu
Sociology (MS) Dr. Salvatore Restifo salvatore.restifo@utrgv.edu
Spanish (MA) Dr. Hugo Mejias hugo.mejias@utrgv.edu
Spanish Translation and Interpreting (MA) Dr. Nazaret Fresno nazaret.fresno@utrgv.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (MAIS)
Anthropology Dr. William Yaworsky william.yaworsky@utrgv.edu
Mexican American Studies Dr. Chris Carmona christopher.carmona@utrgv.edu
English Dr. Joe Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
History Dr. Jamie Starling jamie.starling@utrgv.edu
Graduate Certificate Programs
Advanced Placement Spanish Literature Dr. Hugo Mejías hugo.mejias@utrgv.edu
Board Certified Behavioral Analyst Dr. Jason Popan jason.popan@utrgv.edu
Communication Training and Consulting Dr. Kimberly Selber kimberly.selber@utrgv.edu
Court Interpreting Dr. Nazaret Fresno nazaret.fresno@utrgv.edu
Disaster Management and Sustainability Dr. Dean Kyne dean.kyne@utrgv.edu
Gender and Women’s Studies Dr. Friederike Bruehoefener

Dr. Cathryn Merla-Watson
friederike.bruehoefener@utrgv.edu

cathryn.merlawatson@utrgv.edu
Healthcare Interpreting Dr. Nazaret Fresno nazaret.fresno@utrgv.edu
Literary Translation Dr. Nazaret Fresno nazaret.fresno@utrgv.edu
Localization and Audiovisual Translation Dr. Nazaret Fresno nazaret.fresno@utrgv.edu
Media Relations and Strategic Communication Dr. Kimberly Selber kimberly.selber@utrgv.edu
Mexican American Studies Dr. Chris Carmona

christopher.carmona@utrgv.edu

Secondary English Language Arts Dr. Mark Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
Spanish Translation and Interpreting Dr. Nazaret Fresno nazaret.fresno@utrgv.edu

School of Medicine

Master’s Degrees
Bioethics (MS) Dr. Helene Krouse helene.krouse@utrgv.edu 

School of Nursing

Master’s Degrees
Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN) Dr. Beatriz Bautista beatriz.bautista@utrgv.edu  
Nursing Administration (MSN)

Dr. Juanita Acebedo

juanita.acebedo@utrgv.edu

Nursing Education (MSN)

Dr. Juanita Acebedo

juanita.acebedo@utrgv.edu

Graduate Certificate Programs
Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Velma Hughes velma.hughes01@utrgv.edu
Post Master’s Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate Dr. Beatriz Bautista
Eva Martinez

beatriz.bautista@utrgv.edu
eva.martinez1@utrgv.edu

School of Social Work

Master’s Degrees
Social Work (MSSW) Dr. Romeo Escobar romeo.escobar@utrgv.edu
Social Work - Administration and Community Practice (Advanced Standing) (MSSW)- Accelerated Online Dr. Denise Longoria denise.longoria@utrgv.edu
Social Work - Direct Practice with Latino Individuals, Families, and Groups (Advanced Standing) (MSSW)- Accelerated Online Dr. Denise Longoria denise.longoria@utrgv.edu
Social Work (63-hour) (MSSW) - Accelerated Online Dr. Denise Longoria denise.longoria@utrgv.edu