News & Events

March 24,2020:

On behalf of the International Center for Sustainability Across the Curriculum (IC-SAC), these resources may be useful during our current on-line transition.

Welcome, Sustainability Fellows! 

Ten UTRGV graduate students have been selected to carry out their research in collaboration with the Office for Sustainability (OFS), as Sustainability Fellows. This new program from the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research, Graduate Studies and New Program Development is intended to provide a one-year research experience for graduate students that advances sustainable development at UTRGV. 

 Group photo, two rows of people standing. Individuals are sustainability fellows, their faculty advisors, and staff from the Office for Sustainability.

Shown, from left, front row are Mauricio Peña, Shreya Udawant, Perla Melendez, Diana Lara, Lazaro Lopez-Mendez, Karen Villarreal, Dr. Mirayda Torres-Avila, Yessenia Rodriguez, Yessica Rodriguez, Jeanette Moritz, and Dr. Nirakar Sahoo. Back row from left are Dr. Maysam Pournik, Dr. Mahmoud Quweider, Dr. Michael Persans, Diego Lopez, Dr. Parwinder Grewal (executive vice president for Research, Graduate Studies and New Program Development), Naomi Keith, Jeffrey Aquino-Gomez, Marianella Franklin (UTRGV Chief Sustainability Officer), and Dr. Juan Gonzalez. (UTRGV Photo by Paul Chouy)


UTRGV has been recognized for our college-wide commitment to sustainable practices in academics, research, operations, governance, and engagement.