Conference Achievements

School of Medicine LMHS Research Symposium February 2020

LMHS winners

Congratulations to Carlos Arroyo got first place (current Junior) & Alyssa Canales got second place (current sophomore).

Congratulations Eloy Lozoya on being recognized as a Presentation Awardee at the 2019 Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS) in Anaheim, California for his presentation titled “Mesenchymal Stem Cells Transfected with Osteogenic Inducing MicroRNAs for Bone Tissue Engineering”.

Eloy Lozoya

American Society for Neurorehabilitation (ASNR) Annual Meeting - Chicago, IL - November 2019

Alondra Medina

Alondra Medina

Abstract was in the top 4% of submitted abstracts.  She was therefore chosen for a platform presentation. 

Presentation was titled: “Residual Ruins: The effect of spinal cord injury edema on potential functional recovery”

Aaron Castillo

Aaron Carrillo

Poster presentation titled: “Through Thick and Thin: How Sparing of the Spinal Cord after Injury Influences Motor Recovery”

Gisselle Montemayor

Gisselle Montemayor

Poster presentation titled: “Losing Your Mind: Understanding Demyelination in the Brain After SCI”


UTRGV School of Medicine Research Symposium 2019

SOM Research symposium

September 13-14, 2019, our own Aaron Carrillo won Best Undergraduate Poster and delivered a Flash talk at the event. In addition, Maria Martin and Ileana Mendoza won the “People’s Choice Award” for their poster as well!

BMED swept the undergrad awards!  

Congratulations to all the BMED students who presented and was recognized at the Engaged Scholar Symposium 2019. 




Award Type

Health Science
Oral Presentation

The Evaluation of Osteogenic Inducing MiRNAs for Bone Tissue Engineering

Astrid S. Gutierrez

Distinguished Scholar

Health Science
Poster Presentation

Development of a Biomarker for Parkinson's Disease

Daphne AlcalaZuniga

Honorable Mention

Life Science
Poster Presentation

Melatonin Increases 3T3-L1 Adipogenesis and Brown Adipocyte Characteristics

Roman Sanchez-Martinez

Honorable Mention

Service Learning Poster Presentation

Starting STEM: a Child's Introduction to the Human Body's Vital Organs

Rozena Shirvani-Arani, Jacob Maciel, Veronica Levrier, Gabriella Lopez

Honorable Mention

Social Science
Oral Presentation

Biomedical Freshman Research Initiative (BFRI): A Study of the Benefits of a Course-Based Undergraduate Research Experience

Sachin George

Distinguished Scholar


Congratulations Roman!

Roman's poster  Roman award  Hooray!

Out of the almost 60 poster attendees  at the Capital of Texas Undergraduate Research Conference held on Nov 3rd, 2018 at The University of Texas at Austin, Roman Sanchez Martinez was recognized as one of the top 6 students (the only UTRGV student) for an Outstanding Presentation of a Research Poster Award. He was also interviewed by The Daily Texan - Nov. 5, 2018 - "Capital of Texas Undergraduate Research Conference highlights interdisciplinary undergraduate research"

May-Hui Ding

Congratulations to BMED student May-Hui Ding for being awarded the 2018 Texas Society Allied Health Professions (TSAHP) Undergraduate Student Award as well as First Place in the Student Poster Presentation Competition at the 41st Annual TSAHP Conference "Preparing the 21st Century Workforce"  for her poster titled “The Study of Osteogenic Inducing MicroRNA’s for Bone Tissue Engineering Applications”.

Congratulation to Lakshman Vigneswaran on being recognized as  “Outstanding Presenter” at the 2017 Gulf Coast Undergraduate Research Symposium (GCURS) for his presentation titled “High-Resolution Microendoscopy Training Models for Health Care Providers in Low Resource Settings”



Congratulations to Natasha Vora on being presented the “1st Place Poster Award” at the 2018 Shine Academy of Health Science Education Innovations in Health Science Education Meeting for her presentation titled  “Biomedical Freshman Research Initiative (BFRI) at The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley – An Opportunity to Expose A Larger Number of Underrepresented Students to Research”


Congratulations 2017 ABRCMS and SACNAS Winners!

2017 SACNAS winners
2017 SACNAS Winners
Top (left to right): Jesus Franco and Jonathan Abshier 
Bottom (left to right):  Daniela Barbosa and Aylin Flores

2017 ABRCMS winners

ABRCMS Winners 2017
Top: Raul Ordonez
Bottom: Left to Right; Daniela Barbosa and Astrid Gutierrez