About Us

The Counseling Center is a place that provides free and confidential counseling services to address mental health concerns and to promote personal growth for currently enrolled UTRGV students.

Counseling is a process that enables a person to grow in a way that s/he chooses. Students may want to change their behavior, thoughts, or lifestyle to increase self-awareness or to remedy a problem. The counselor’s responsibility is to assist the student as s/he works toward achieving those goals for personal growth and development.

Does counseling work?

Research has shown that, in most cases, counseling helps people feel better and resolve problems such as depression, anxiety, sleep difficulty, and other emotional or behavioral difficulties. For college students, counseling helps with emotional adjustment and is associated with improving academic performance. With more serious conditions, it may work best in combination with medication treatment or other forms of help.

How does it work?

Therapists help by listening and discussing issues without judgment. They also encourage problem-solving, educate about and connect students to other resources, and assist students in developing healthier coping skills.

Who provides counseling services?

Counseling services are provided by either licensed mental health professionals or graduate-level interns under the supervision of a licensed counselor.

What counseling services are available for students?

Learn more about our services.

Staff Directory

Counseling Center

Brownsville and Edinburg Campus
Christopher Albert Profile Photo

Christopher Albert, Ph.D.
Director
christopher.albert@utrgv.edu

 
Brownsville Campus
Rosie Camero Profile Photo

Rosie Camero
Administrative Assistant I
rosalba.camero@utrgv.edu

 
Leah Ellis Profile Photo

Leah Ellis, M.Ed., LPC-S
Supervising Clinical Therapist
leah.ellis@utrgv.edu

 
Elsa Garcia Profile Photo

Elsa Garcia, M.Ed, LPC-Intern
Clinical Therapist
elsa.garcia@utrgv.edu

 
Maria Alejandra Mazariegos Profile Photo

Maria Alejandra Mazariegos, M.Ed., LPC
Clinical Therapist
maria.mazariegos@utrgv.edu

 
Edinburg Campus
Janie Arguelles Profile Photo

Janie Arguelles
Administrative Assistant II
janie.arguelles@utrgv.edu

 
Addie Wieland Profile Photo

Addie Wieland, LCSW, CCTP
Supervising Clinical Therapist
adelia.wieland@utrgv.edu

 
Andrew Perez Profile Photo

Andrew Perez, Ph.D., LPC-S
Supervising Clinical Therapist
andrew.perez02@utrgv.eduu

 
Felix Murad Profile Photo

Felix Murad, M.Ed, LPC, NCC
Clinical Therapist
felix.murad01@utrgv.edu

 
Annette Alisson Profile Photo

Annette C. Allison, DSW, LCSW
Clinical Therapist
annette.allison@utrgv.edu

 

Collegiate Recovery Program

Brownsville and Edinburg Campus
Krystal Klein Profile Photo

Krystal Klein, MS, LPC-Intern, LCDC
Assistant Director
Collegiate Recovery Program/Counseling Center
krystal.klein@utrgv.edu
Brownsville and Edinburg Campus

 
Edinburg Campus
Raymond Salas Profile Photo

Raymond Salas
Program Coordinator
raymond.salas@utrgv.edu

 

Cross-Divisional Collaboration

Edinburg Campus
Valerie Rivera Profile Photo

Valerie Rivera, LCSW, CCTP
Social Worker
valerie.rivera@utrgv.edu
School of Medicine