People

FACULTY

bostic

Amie Bostic, PhD
Assistant Professor
amie.bostic@utrgv.edu
Phone:956-882-8894
Office: Brownsville, Main 1.436
Specialization: Social policy, poverty, political sociology, immigration, gender
Curriculum Vitae

donner

William Donner, PhD
Associate Professor, Disaster Studies Program Coordinator
william.donner@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-2367
Office: Edinburg, LABN 350
Specialization: Environmental sociology, disasters, demography, quantitative methods, statistics
Curriculum Vitae

foy-photo

Steven Foy, PhD
Assistant Professor
steven.foy@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-3703
Office: Edinburg, LABN 360
Specialization: Medical sociology, social psychology, race and ethnicity
Curriculum Vitae

guerra-photo

Ramon Guerra, PhD
Associate Professor & Department Chair
ramon.guerra@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-3339
Office: Edinburg, LABN 344A (M,W-F) and Brownsville, Main 1.440 (T)
Specialization: Religion, race and ethnicity, Mexican Americans
Curriculum Vitae

kyne.dean

Dean Kyne, PhD
Assistant Professor
dean.kyne@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-2572
Office: Edinburg, LABN 343
Specialization: Disasters, sustainability, environmental justice, nuclear power disasters, GIS
Curriculum Vitae

lomeli.arlett

Arlett Lomeli, PhD
Assistant Professor
arlett.lomeli@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-882-7112
Office: Brownsville, Main 1.438
Specialization: Race/ethnicity, gender, criminology, ecofeminism
Curriculum Vitae

oum.youngrae

Young-Rae Oum, PhD
Lecturer
youngrae.oum@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-3321
Office: Edinburg, LABN 344
Specialization: Gender, life course and the family, food studies, diasporas and immigration, Korean Americans
Curriculum Vitae

restifo-photo

Salvatore Restifo, PhD
Assistant Professor
salvatore.restifo@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-8798
Office: Edinburg, LABN 333
Specialization: Race/ethnicity, immigration, stratification/mobility, political economy, social movements, sociological theory
Curriculum Vitae

Richardson photo

Chad Richardson, PhD
Emeritus Professor
chad.richardson@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-3321
Office: Edinburg, LABN 344
Specialization: Race/ethnicity, Border Studies, Immigration, Education
Curriculum Vitae

ruiz-photo

Bienvenido Ruiz, PhD
Assistant Professor
ben.ruiz@utgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-7843
Office: Edinburg, LABN 362
Specialization: Race/ethnicity, U.S. Latino populations, international migration, social stratification  
Curriculum Vitae

raybov-photo

Igor Ryabov, PhD
Associate Professor, Graduate Program Advisor, Sociology Program Coordinator
igor.ryabov@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-7384
Office: Edinburg, LABN 342A
Specialization: Sociology of education, Sociology of health, immigration, race/class/gender
Curriculum Vitae

sepielak-katarzyna

Katarzyna Sepielak, PhD
Lecturer II
katarzyna.sepielak@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-882-7384
Office: Brownsville, Main 1.434
Specialization: Cross-cultural communication, mass media and advertising, medical interpreting, audiovisual translation, multilingualism
Curriculum Vitae

sun.qi

Qi "Phoenix" Sun, PhD
Lecturer
qi.sun@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-3321
Office: Brownsville Main 1.432
Specialization: Deviance, disasters, advanced statistics
Curriculum Vitae

Alma Trevino Garza

Alma D. Trevino-Garza, PhD
Lecturer
almad.trevinogarza01@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-2581
Office: Edinburg, LABN 338
Specialization: Social psychology, Race and ethnic relations, Latinos, social stratification, research methods, education, quantitative methods.
Curriculum Vitae

ulibarri billy

Billy Ulibarri, PhD
Lecturer II
billy.ulibarri@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-3321
Office: Brownsville, Main 1.432
Specialization: Public sociology, applied sociology, gender and sexuality, intersectionality, qualitative methods
Curriculum Vitae

villarreal jose

Jose M. Villarreal, PhD
Lecturer
jose.villarreal2@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-33579
Office: Edinburg, ELABN 324
Specialization: Folklore, oral tradition, indigenous religion, Chicano civil rights movement, social justice movements
Curriculum Vitae

wladyka.dawid

Dawid Wladyka, PhD
Assistant Professor
dawid.wladyka@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-882-7384
Office: Brownsville, Main 1.434
Specialization: Ethnic relations, urban/rural studies, geographic information systems (GIS)
Curriculum Vitae

zavala.leticia

Leticia Zavala, MS
Lecturer
leticia.zavala01@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-3579
Office: Edinburg, ELABN 324 
Specialization: Gender, forced steralization, eugenics, race
Curriculum Vitae

STAFF

medina.jesus

Jesus "Jesse" Medina
Administrative Assistant II
jesus.medina@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-8723
Office: Edinburg, LABN 344

Jose Garcia

Jose Garcia
Work-Study 
jose.garcia42@utrgv.edu
Phone: 956-665-3321
Fax: 956-665-2343
Office: Edinburg, LABN 344

FACULTY RESOURCES

Tenure, Promotion, and Annual Review Guidelines

Peer Observation of Teaching Policies

Department Policy and Procedures Handbook