About the Department

The Department of Sociology serves as a hub for many important initiatives while providing quality training in sociology and disaster studies. The department offers a B.A. and M.S. in sociology as well as an undergraduate minor. Faculty in the department also play a vital role in the newly launched interdisciplinary Disaster Studies M.A program and graduate certificate in Disaster Management and Sustainability. Internships and faculty-mentored research and teaching opportunities are available to students. The department also supports a Sociology Club and recognizes outstanding students through induction into the respective national honor societies: Alpha Kappa Delta and Lambda Alpha.

Department Profile and Program Offerings

Department Profile

Sociology (BA)

Sociology (MS)

Disaster Studies (MA)

Contact Information

Dr. William Donner
Department Chair
Edinburg: LABN 344A
Phone: (956) 665-2367
Brownsville: Main 1.440 (Tuesdays 10am-3pm) 
Phone: (956) 882-7313

Dr. Dean Kyne
Disaster Studies Program Coordinator
Edinburg: LABN 343
(956) 665-2572

Dr. Salvatore Restifo
Sociology Graduate Program Coordinator
Edinburg: LABN 333
(956) 665-8798



Mr. Jesus “Jesse” Medina
Administrative Assistant II
Edinburg: LABN 344
(956) 665-8723

Department Locations

Edinburg (main office)
Building: LABN (SBSC)
Room: 344
Address: 1201 West University Drive
Edinburg, TX 78539
Phone: (956) 665-3321
Office Hours: M-F: 8-12 pm; 1-5 pm

Building: Main
Room: 1.440
Address: One West University Boulevard
Brownsville, TX 78520
Phone: (956) 882-7313
Dr. Donner's Office Hours: Tuesdays 10 am - 3 pm

Mr. Medina's Dept. Hours: Thursdays 10 am - 3 pm

Note: Due to the pandemic, you will need to call the department for further information. Additionally, Dr. William Donner's Brownsville office location is Main Room 1.440. If you would like to contact Dr. Donner by email, you may reach him at william.donner@utrgv.edu.