Department Faculty

Tenured/Tenure-Track

Paul Sale
Professor and Interim Chair
paul.sale@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-2433 |  ELABN 356
Education: Ed.D., University of Georgia

 


Grant Benham
Professor
grant.benham@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-2807 | EIEAB 3.208 
Education: Ph.D., University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Specialization: Health Psychology
Research Lab: Stress, Sleep, & Health Lab


Arthur Cantos
Director of Clinical Training & Associate Professor
arthur.cantos@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-5022 | EIEAB 3.209 
Education: Ph.D., Stony Brook University, NY
Specialization: Clinical Psychology, anxiety disorders, depression, domestic violence, clinical training
Research Lab: Intimate Partner Violence/Domestic Violence


Ruby Charak
Assistant Professor
ruby.charak@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-3329 | EIEAB 3.207 
Education: Ph.D., Vrije Universiteit (VU) Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Specialization: Clinical Psychology, Childhood Maltreatment, PTSD, Structural Equation Modeling
Research Lab: Adversities in Childhood and Trauma Studies (ACT) Lab


Po-Yi Chen
Assistant Professor
poyi.chen@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-3329 | EIEAB 3.232 
Education: Ph.D., University of Kansas
Specialization: Quantitative Psychology


Hugo Curiel
Assistant Professor
hugo.curiel@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-3329 | EEDUC 1.220
Education: Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Specialization: Behavior Analysis


Russell Eisenman
Associate Professor
russell.eisenman@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-3327 | ELABN 363
Education: Ph.D., University of Georgia
Specialization: Evolutionary Psychology, Human Sexuality, Creativity, & Crime


Philip Gasquoine
Professor
philip.gasquoine@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-2155 | EEDUC 1.202A
Education: Ph.D., City University of New York
Specialization: Clinical Neuropsychology
Research Lab: Clinical Neuropsychology


Mario Gil
Assistant Professor
mario.gil@utrgv.edu  | (956) 882-8888 | MAIN 1.426 (Brownsville)
Education: Ph.D., Florida State University
Specialization: Behavioral Neuroendocrinology, Neurobiology of Learning, Neural Development and Plasticity
Research Lab: Behavioral and Systems Neuroscience


Michiyo Hirai
Associate Professor
michiyo.hirai@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-2638 | ELABN 352
Education: Ph.D., Virginia Tech
Specialization: Clinical, trauma and anxiety disorders
Research Lab: Trauma and Anxiety Disorders


Joseph D. Hovey
Professor
joseph.hovey@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-7877 | ELABN 349
Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan
Specialization: Clinical Psychology, Culture & Mental Health, Suicide Risk & Protective Factors
Research Lab: Immigration and Mental Health


Jerwen Jou
Professor
jerwen.jou@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-2689 | ELABN 365
Education: Ph.D., Kansas State University
Specialization: Cognitive
Research Lab: Memory


Yu-Cheng Lin
Assistant Professor
yucheng.lin@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-3825 | ELABN 303
Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at El Paso
Specialization: Cognitive
Research Lab: Cognitive Science of Language & Education Lab


Alfonso Mercado
Associate Professor
alfonso.mercado@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-3320 | EIEAB 3.206;
Education: Ph.D., Fielding Graduate University
Specialization: Clinical, Latino Mental Health and Treatment Outcomes
Research Lab: Multicultural Clinical Lab


Cecilia Montiel-Nava
Associate Professor
cecilia.montielnava@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-7950 | EIEAB 3.231
Education: Ph.D., Central University, Caracas (Venezuela)
Specialization: Neurodevelopmental Disorders
Research Lab: Behavior and Child Development Lab (BeChildLab)


Jason Popan
Associate Professor
jason.popan@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-3328 | ELABN 357
Education: Ph.D., University of Texas, Arlington
Specialization: Social
Research Lab: Social and Political Behavior


Juventino Hernandez Rodriguez
Assistant Professor
juventino.hernandezrodriguez@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-7094 | EIEAB 3.230
Education: Ph.D., University of Arkansas – Fayetteville
Specialization: Clinical Psychology
Research Lab: Research Enhancing Access to Culturally-Informed Mental Health Services (REACH) Lab


Laura Seligman
Professor
laura.seligman@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-2866 | ELABN 347
Education: Ph.D., Virginia Tech
Specialization: Clinical Child, Internalizing Disorders in Youth
Research Lab: Internalizing Disorders in Youth


Bianca Villalobos
Assistant Professor
bianca.villalobos@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-7961 | EIEAB 3.206
Education: Ph.D., University of Arkansas – Fayetteville
Specialization: Clinical Psychology, Mental Health Disparities, Integrated Behavioral Health Care
Research Lab: Research Enhancing Access to Culturally-Informed Mental Health Services (REACH) Lab



 
Lecturers


Jaime Cano

Lecturer
jaime.cano@utrgv.edu | (956) 882-5704 | MAIN 1424 (Brownsville)


Marcus Galle
Lecturer
marcus.galle@utrgv.edu | ELABN 201
Education: Ph.D., University of Iowa


Kathleen Glynn McWhorter
Lecturer
kathleen.glynn01@utrgv.edu  | (956) 882-7112 | MAIN 1438 (Brownsville)


Gary Leka
Lecturer
gary.leka@utrgv.edu  | (956) 665-2162 | ELABN 367
Education: Ph.D., Walden University


Rosalva Longoria
Lecturer
rosalva.longoria@utrgv.edu  | (956) 665-3826 | ELABN 313
Education: M.A., University of Texas-Pan American


Yolanda Matus
Lecturer
yolanda.matus@utrgv.edu  | (956) 665-3826 | ELABN 313
Education: M.A. University of Texas-Pan American


Valerie Neeley
Lecturer
valerie.neeley@utrgv.edu |  ELABN 354
Education: M. A., University of Texas - Pan American


Maria Romero-Ramirez
Lecturer
maria.romeroramirez@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-5354 | ELABN 359
Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin


Liza Talavera-Garza
Lecturer
liza.talaveragarza@utrgv.edu | ELABN 302
Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin


Qing Zeng
Lecturer
qing.zeng@utrgv.edu | (956) 665-3325 | ELABN 369
Education: Ph.D. Brigham Young University