About the Department

The Department of Computer Science is a part of the College of Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) and offers courses at both Brownsville and Edinburg campuses.

The Department of Computer Science offers three degrees: Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (BSCS) as a broad-field major, Master of Science (MS) with a major in computer science, and Master of Science in Information Technology (MSIT). The BSCS degree is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET, http://www.abet.org.