Program Coordinators

Below you will find a list of Program Coordinators by program. Program Coordinators are faculty members who will guide you throughout your entire graduate program from admissions through graduation. If you have questions, they have answers. Feel free to contact them at any point of your graduate career.

Graduate Degrees

Robert C. Vackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship

Doctoral Degrees
Business Administration (Ph.D.) Dr. Bin Wang bin.wang@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees

Accountancy (MACC)

Dr. Andres Bello

Linda Acevedo

Deborah Gonzalez

andres.bello01@utrgv.edu

linda.acevedo@utrgv.edu

deborah.gonzalez@utrgv.edu

Business Administration (MBA)

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi 

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

Business Analytics (MS)

Dr. Murad Moqbel

murad.moqbel@utrgv.edu

Business Administration – Spanish (MBA)

Dr. Clara Downey

clara.downey@utrgv.edu

Certificate Programs
Advanced Business Administration

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

Business Analytics

Dr. Jerald Hughes

j.hughes@utrgv.edu

Health Care Administration Leadership

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

International Sustainability Management

Dr. Edith Galy

edith.galy@utrgv.edu

College of Education and P-16 Integration

Doctoral Degrees
Curriculum and Instruction (Ed.D.) Dr. Laura Jewett laura.jewett@utrgv.edu
Educational Leadership (Ed.D.) Dr. Roberto A. Peña roberto.pena@utrgv.edu 
Master’s Degrees
Bilingual Education (M.Ed.) Dr. Zulmaris Diaz zulmaris.diaz@utrgv.edu

Counseling (M.Ed.)
with a specialization in
Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Dr. Selma Yznaga

selma.yznaga@utrgv.edu

Counseling (M.Ed.)
with a specialization in
School Counseling

Dr. Eunice Lerma

eunice.lerma@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction with a Specialization in Elementary Math and Science Education (M.Ed.)

Dr. Ming-Tsan Lu

mingtsan.lu@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction with a Specialization in Mathematics Education (M.Ed.)

Dr. Ming-Tsan Lu

mingtsan.lu@utrgv.edu

Early Childhood Education (M.Ed.) Dr. Hilda Medrano hilda.medrano@utrgv.edu
Educational Leadership (M.Ed.) Dr. Rosalinda Hernandez rosalinda.hernandez@utrgv.edu
Educational Technology (M.Ed.) Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
Reading and Literacy (M.Ed.) Dr. Janine Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu
School Psychology (MA) Dr. Nancy Razo nancy.razo@utrgv.edu
Special Education (M.Ed.) Dr. John Lowdermilk john.lowdermilk@utrgv.edu
Teacher Leadership (M.Ed.) Dr. Velma Menchaca velma.menchaca@utrgv.edu
Certification Programs
Board Certified Behavior Analyst  Dr. Cheryl Fielding cheryl.fielding@utrgv.edu
Teacher Certification (Superintendent) Dr. Roberto Zamora roberto.zamora@utrgv.edu
Teacher Certification (Principal) Dr. Alejandro Garcia alejandro.garcia@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Certificado Avanzado en Educación Bilingüe Dr. Michael Guerrero michael.guerrero@utrgv.edu
Digital Literacy Leader Dr. Janine M. Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu
E-Learning Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu 
Higher Education Teaching Dr. Karin Lewis karin.lewis@utrgv.edu
Reading Specialist Dr. Janine M. Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu 
Secondary Bilingual Education  Dr. Janine M. Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu
Technology Leadership in Education Dr. Joseph Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
TxVSN Digital Literacies Dr. Janine M. Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu
Master Reading Teacher Dr. Janine M. Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu

College of Health Professions

Doctoral Degrees
Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) in cooperation with the University of Texas at Austin
Rehabilitation Counseling (Ph.D.) Dr. Jerome Fischer jerome.fischer@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees
Communication Sciences and Disorders (MS) Dr. Donald R. Fuller donald.fuller@utrgv.edu
Exercise Science (MS) Dr. Murat Karabulut murat.karabulut@utrgv.edu
Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN) Dr. Beatriz Bautista beatriz.bautista@utrgv.edu  

Health Sciences (MS)

  • Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • Health Care Administration
  • Healthcare Informatics
  • Nutrition

Dr. Saraswathy Nair

Ms. Kim Garcia 

saraswathy.nair@utrgv.edu 

kim.garcia@utrgv.edu 

Kinesiology (MS) Dr. Zasha Romero zasha.romero@utrgv.edu
Nursing Administration (MSN)

Dr. Juanita Acebedo

juanita.acebedo@utrgv.edu

Nursing Education (MSN)

Dr. Juanita Acebedo

juanita.acebedo@utrgv.edu

Occupational Therapy (MS) Dr. Shirley Wells shirley.wells@utrgv.edu
Physician Assistant Studies (MPAS) Frank Ambriz frank.ambriz@utrgv.edu
Physician Assistant Studies – Bridge Program (MPAS) Lisa Kuhn lisa.kuhn@utrgv.edu
Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (MS) Dr. Elizabeth Palacios elizabeth.palacios@utrgv.edu 
Social Work (MSSW) Dr. Janis Feldman janis.feldman@utrgv.edu
Social Work - Administration and Community Practice (Advanced Standing) (MSSW)- Accelerated Online Dr. Sudershan Pasupuleti sudershan.pasupuleti@utrgv.edu
Social Work - Direct Practice with Latino Individuals, Families, and Groups (Advanced Standing) (MSSW)- Accelerated Online Dr. Sudershan Pasupuleti sudershan.pasupuleti@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Velma Hughes velma.hughes01@utrgv.edu

College of Sciences

Doctoral Degrees
Physics (Ph.D.) in cooperation with the University of Texas at Arlington
Master’s Degrees
Agricultural, Environmental, and Sustainability Sciences (MS) Dr. Christopher Gabler christopher.gabler@utrgv.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (MS) Dr. Michael Persans michael.persans@utrgv.edu
Biology (MS) Dr. Robert Dearth robert.dearth@utrgv.edu
Chemistry (MS) Dr. Tulay Atesin tulay.atesin@utrgv.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (MSIS)
Science & Technology
Dr. Edgar Corpuz
edgar.corpuz@utrgv.edu
Mathematics (MS) Dr. Zhijun Qiao zhijun.qiao@utrgv.edu
Ocean, Coastal and Earth Sciences (MS) Dr. Diego Figueroa diego.figueroa@utrgv.edu
Physics (MS) Dr. Hamidreza Ramezani gradphys@utrgv.edu 

College of Engineering and Computer Science

Master’s Degrees
Civil Engineering (MS)

Dr. Philip Park

philip.park@utrgv.edu

Computer Science (MS) Dr. Zhixiang Chen zhixiang.chen@utrgv.edu
Electrical Engineering (MSE) Dr. Paul Choi paul.choi@utrgv.edu
Engineering Management (MS) Dr. Jianzhi Li jianzhi.li@utrgv.edu
Information Technology (MS) Dr. Zhixiang Chen zhixiang.chen@utrgv.edu
Mechanical Engineering (MSE) Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Manufacturing Engineering (MSE) Dr. Jianzhi Li jianzhi.li@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Materials Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Mechanics and Design Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Thermal Fluid Science Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu

College of Fine Arts

Master’s Degrees
Art (MFA) Dr. Robert Bradley robert.bradley@utrgv.edu 
Creative Writing (MFA) Dr. Britt Haraway britt.haraway@utrgv.edu
Music (MM) Dr. Cynthia Cripps cynthia.cripps@utrgv.edu
Art History

Dr. Robert Bradley

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

Certificate Programs
Design

Dr. Robert Bradley

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

Latin American Art History

Dr. Carlos De Souza

Dr. Robert Bradley

carlos.desouza@utrgv.edu

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

College of Liberal Arts

Doctoral Degrees
Clinical Psychology (PhD) Dr. Arthur Cantos clinicalpsychphd@utrgv.edu 
Master’s Degrees
Criminal Justice (MS) Dr. Thomas White thomas.white@utrgv.edu
Communication (MA) Dr. Kimberly Selber kimberly.selber@utrgv.edu
Clinical Psychology (MA) Dr. Jason Popan jason.popan@utrgv.edu
Disaster Studies (MA)

Dr. Dean Kyne

dean.kyne@utrgv.edu

English (MA)

Dr. Mark Noe

joe.noe@utrgv.edu

Experimental Psychology (MA) Dr. Jason Popan jason.popan@utrgv.edu
English as a 2nd Language (MA) Dr. Minhee Eom minhee.eom@utrgv.edu
History (MA) Dr. Megan Birk megan.birk@utrgv.edu
Political Science (MA) Dr. Monica Clua Losada monica.clualosada@utrgv.edu
Public Affairs (MPA) Dr. Aziza Zemrani aziza.zemrani@utrgv.edu
Sociology (MS) Dr. Salvatore Restifo salvatore.restifo@utrgv.edu
Spanish (MA) Dr. Hugo Mejias hugo.mejias@utrgv.edu
Spanish Translation and Interpreting (MA) Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (MAIS)
Anthropology Dr. William Yaworsky william.yaworsky@utrgv.edu
Mexican American Studies Dr. Chris Carmona christopher.carmona@utrgv.edu
English Dr. Joe Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
History Dr. Megan Birk megan.birk@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Advanced Placement Spanish Literature Dr. Hugo Mejías hugo.mejias@utrgv.edu
Board Certified Behavioral Analyst Dr. Jason Popan jason.popan@utrgv.edu
Communication Training and Consulting Dr. Kimberly Selber kimberly.selber@utrgv.edu
Court Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
Gender and Women’s Studies Dr. Friederike Bruehoefener

Dr. Cathryn Merla-Watson
friederike.bruehoefener@utrgv.edu

cathryn.merlawatson@utrgv.edu
Healthcare Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez tip@utrgv.edu
Literary Translation Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez tip@utrgv.edu
Localization and Audiovisual Translation Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
Media Relations and Strategic Communication Dr. Kimberly Selber kimberly.selber@utrgv.edu
Mexican American Studies Dr. Chris Carmona

christopher.carmona@utrgv.edu

Secondary English Language Arts Dr. Mark Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
Spanish Translation and Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu