Program Coordinators

Below you will find a list of Program Coordinators by program. Program Coordinators are faculty members who will guide you throughout your entire graduate program from admissions through graduation. If you have questions, they have answers. Feel free to contact them at any point of your graduate career.

Graduate Degrees

Robert C. Vackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship

Doctoral Degrees
Business Administration (Ph.D.) Dr. Sharon Schembri sharon.schembri@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees

Accountancy (MACC)

Dr. Penny Simpson

Linda Acevedo

Deborah Gonzalez

penny.simpson@utrgv.edu

linda.acevedo@utrgv.edu

deborah.gonzalez@utrgv.edu

Business Administration (MBA)

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi 

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

Business Administration – Spanish (MBA)

Dr. Clara Downey

clara.downey@utrgv.edu

Certificate Programs
Advanced Business Administration

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

Health Care Administration Leadership

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

College of Education and P-16 Integration

Doctoral Degrees
Curriculum and Instruction (Ed.D.) Dr. Laura Jewett laura.jewett@utrgv.edu
Educational Leadership (Ed.D.) Dr. Karen Watt  karen.watt@utrgv.edu 
Master’s Degrees
Bilingual Education (M.Ed.) Kip Austin Hinton, Ph.D. kipaustin.hinton@utrgv.edu

Counseling (M.Ed.)

  • Clinical Mental Health Counseling
  • School Counseling

Dr. Suzanne Maniss

suzanne.maniss@utrgv.edu
Curriculum and Instruction (M.Ed.)

Prof. James Telese

Dr. Kathy Bussert- Webb (Digital Literacy Specialization)

james.telese@utrgv.edu 

kathy.bussertwebb@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction in Elementary Math and Science Education (MED)

Dr. James Jupp (Primary Contact)

Prof. James Telese

james.jupp@utrgv.edu

james.telese@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction in Mathematics Education (MED)

Dr. James Jupp (Primary Contact)

Prof. James Telese

james.jupp@utrgv.edu

james.telese@utrgv.edu

Early Childhood Education (M.Ed.) Dr. Hilda Medrano hilda.medrano@utrgv.edu
Educational Leadership (M.Ed.) Dr. Federico Guerra federico.guerra@utrgv.edu
Educational Technology (M.Ed.) Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
Reading and Literacy (M.Ed.) Dr. Janine Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu
School Psychology (MA) Dr. Nancy Razo nancy.razo@utrgv.edu
Special Education (M.Ed.) Dr. John Lowdermilk john.lowdermilk@utrgv.edu
Certification Programs
Teacher Certification (Superintendent) Dr. Roberto Zamora roberto.zamora@utrgv.edu
Teacher Certification (Principal) Dr. Alejandro Garcia alejandro.garcia@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Assessment of Exceptional Learners Teacher Credential Certificate program Dr. John Lowdermilk john.lowdermilk@utrgv.edu 
Bilingual Education Coming soon! Coming soon!
Digital Literacy Leader Dr. Kathy Bussert-Webb kathy.bussertwebb@utrgv.edu
E-Learning Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu 
Higher Education Teaching Coming soon! Coming soon!
Reading Specialist Dr. Janine M Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu 
Technology Leadership in Education Dr. Joseph Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
TxVSN Digital Literacies Dr. Kathy Bussert-Webb kathy.bussertwerbb@utrgv.edu
Master Reading Teacher Dr. Janine Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu

College of Health Affairs

Doctoral Degrees
Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) in cooperation with the University of Texas at Austin
Rehabilitation Counseling (Ph.D.) Dr. Jerome Fischer jerome.fischer@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees
Communication Sciences and Disorders (MS) Dr. Donald R. Fuller donald.fuller@utrgv.edu
Exercise Science (MS) Dr. Murat Karabulut murat.karabulut@utrgv.edu
Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN) Dr. Beatriz Bautista beatriz.bautista@utrgv.edu  

Health Sciences (MS)

  • Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • Health Care Administration
  • Healthcare Informatics
  • Nutrition

Dr. Saraswathy Nair

Ms. Kim Garcia 

saraswathy.nair@utrgv.edu 

kim.garcia@utrgv.edu 

Kinesiology (MS) Dr. Zasha Romero zasha.romero@utrgv.edu
Nursing Administration (MSN)

Dr. Eloisa Tamez

Dr. Juanita Acebedo

Dr. Dahlia Rojas

eloisa.tamez@utrgv.edu 

juanita.acebedo@utrgv.edu

dahlia.rojas@utrgv.edu

Nursing Education (MSN)

Dr. Eloisa Tamez

Dr. Juanita Acebedo

Dr. Dahlia Rojas

eloisa.tamez@utrgv.edu 

juanita.acebedo@utrgv.edu

dahlia.rojas@utrgv.edu

Occupational Therapy (MS) Dr. Shirley Wells shirley.wells@utrgv.edu
Physician Assistant Studies (MPAS) Mr. Frank Ambriz frank.ambriz@utrgv.edu
Physician Assistant Studies – Bridge Program (MPAS) Mr. Frank Ambriz frank.ambriz@utrgv.edu
Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (MS) Dr. Elizabeth Palacios elizabeth.palacios@utrgv.edu 
Social Work (MSSW) Dr. John Gonzalez john.gonzalez@utrgv.edu 
Social Work - Administration and Community Practice (Advanced Standing) (MSSW) Dr. Denise Longoria denise.longoria@utrgv.edu
Social Work - Direct Practice with Latino Individuals, Families, and Groups (Advanced Standing) (MSSW) Dr. Denise Longoria denise.longoria@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Dr. Eloisa Tamez eloisa.tamez@utrgv.edu

College of Sciences

Doctoral Degrees
Doctoral Degrees
Physics (Ph.D.) in cooperation with the University of Texas at Arlington
Master’s Degrees
Agricultural, Environmental, and Sustainability Sciences (MS) Dr. Christopher Gabler christopher.gabler@utrgv.edu
Biology (MS) Dr. Robert Dearth robert.dearth@utrgv.edu
Chemistry (MS) Dr. Evangelia Kotsikorou evangelia.kotsikorou@utrgv.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (MSIS)
Science & Technology
Dr. Edgar Corpuz
edgar.corpuz@utrgv.edu
Mathematics (MS) Dr. Zhijun Qiao zhijun.qiao@utrgv.edu
Ocean, Coastal and Earth Sciences (MS) Dr. Abdullah F. Rahman abdullah.rahman@utrgv.edu
Physics (MS) Dr. Malik Rakhmanov malik.rakhmanov@utrgv.edu 

College of Engineering and Computer Science

Master’s Degrees
Civil Engineering (MS)

Dr. Robert Jones

Dr. Jungseok Ho

robert.jones@utrgv.edu

jungseok.ho@utrgv.edu

Computer Science (MS) Dr. Zhixiang Chen zhixiang.chen@utrgv.edu
Electrical Engineering (MSE) Dr. Hasina Huq hasina.huq@utrgv.edu
Engineering Management (MS) Dr. Jianzhi Li jianzhi.li@utrgv.edu
Information Technology (MS) Dr. Zhixiang Chen zhixiang.chen@utrgv.edu
Mechanical Engineering (MSE) Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Manufacturing Engineering (MSE) Dr. Jianzhi Li jianzhi.li@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Materials Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Mechanics and Design Dr. Constantine Tarawneh constantine.tarawneh@utrgv.edu
Thermal Fluid Science Dr. Constantine Tarawneh constantine.tarawneh@utrgv.edu

College of Fine Arts

Master’s Degrees
Art (MFA) Dr. Robert Bradley robert.bradley@utrgv.edu 
Creative Writing (MFA) Dr. Britt Haraway britt.haraway@utrgv.edu
Music (MM) Dr. Cynthia Cripps cynthia.cripps@utrgv.edu
Art History

Dr. Carlos De Souza

Dr. Robert Bradley

carlos.desouza@utrgv.edu

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

Certificate Programs
Design

Dr. Robert Bradley

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

Latin American Art History

Dr. Carlos De Souza

Dr. Robert Bradley

carlos.desouza@utrgv.edu

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

College of Liberal Arts

Doctoral Degrees
Clinical Psychology (PhD) Dr. Arthur Cantos clinicalpsychphd@utrgv.edu 
Master’s Degrees
Criminal Justice (MS) Dr. Thomas White thomas.white@utrgv.edu
Communication (MA) Dr. Aje-Ori Agbese ajeori.agbese@utrgv.edu
Clinical Psychology (MA) Dr. Jason Popan jason.popan@utrgv.edu
Disaster Studies (MA)

Dr. William Donner

Dr. Dawid Wladlyka

william.donner@utrgv.edu

dawid.wladyka@utrgv.edu

English (MA)

Dr. Mark Noe

Dr. Javier Martinez

joe.noe@utrgv.edu

javier.martinez@utrgv.edu 

Experimental Psychology (MA) Dr. Jason Popan jason.popan@utrgv.edu
English as a 2nd Language (MA) Dr. Mark Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
History (MA) Dr. Megan Birk megan.birk@utrgv.edu
Political Science (MA) Dr. Paul Jorgensen paul.jorgensen@utrgv.edu
Public Affairs (MPA) Dr. Aziza Zemrani
Dr. Terence Garrett
aziza.zemrani@utrgv.edu
terence.garrett@utrgv.edu
Sociology (MS) Dr. Igor Ryabov igor.ryabov@utrgv.edu
Spanish (MA) Dr. Hugo Mejias hugo.mejias@utrgv.edu
Spanish Translation and Interpreting (MA) Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (MAIS)
Anthropology Dr. Margaret Graham margaret.graham@utrgv.edu
Mexican American Studies Dr. Christopher Carmona christopher.carmona@utrgv.edu
English Dr. Joe Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
History Dr. Megan Birk megan.birk@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Advanced Placement Spanish Literature Dr. Hugo Mejías hugo.mejias@utrgv.edu
Board Certified Behavioral Analyst Dr. Jason Popan jasonpopan@utrgv.edu
Communication Training and Consulting Dr. Aje-Ori Agbese ajeori.agbese@utrgv.edu
Court Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
Gender and Women’s Studies Dr. Linda English linda.english@utrgv.edu
Healthcare Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez tip@utrgv.edu
Literary Translation Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez tip@utrgv.edu
Localization and Audiovisual Translation Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
Media Relations and Strategic Communication Dr. Aje-Ori Agbese ajeori.agbese@utrgv.edu
Mexican American Studies Dr. Chris Carmona

christopher.carmona@utrgv.edu

Secondary English Language Arts Dr. Mark Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
Spanish Translation and Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu