Thursday, November 29, 2018

By Jennifer Berghom

– Dr. Arden Dingle
– Dr. Arden Dingle
– Dr. Andrew Dentino
– Dr. Andrew Dentino

RIO GRANDE VALLEY, TEXAS – NOV. 29, 2018 – Dr. Arden Dingle and Dr. Andrew Dentino from The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine have been selected to serve on The University of Texas System Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., Academy of Health Science Education.

The UT System Academy of Health Science Education was founded in 2005 and renamed in 2013 in honor of Dr. Kenneth I. Shine upon his retirement as the system’s executive vice chancellor of Health Affairs.

The academy’s mission is to support and promote “excellence in all aspects of health science education, educational scholarship and leadership,” according to the academy’s bylaws. New members are selected annually from UT System’s health institutions.

Dingle serves as a professor of psychiatry and program director of the psychiatry residency program at the UTRGV School of Medicine. She earned her medical degree from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey and completed her residency and fellowship training from Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York, New York. She is board certified in Pediatrics, General Psychiatry, and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

Prior to joining UTRGV in September 2015, Dingle served at UT Health San Antonio, Emory University School of Medicine and the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia.

Dentino joined UTRGV in 2017 and currently serves as assistant vice president for the university’s Division of Health Affairs, as well as associate dean for Interprofessional Education, professor and chair for the Department of Internal Medicine in the School of Medicine, and interim chair of the UTRGV Departments of Psychiatry and Neurology.

He is board certified in internal medicine, general psychiatry and geriatric psychiatry. He also is fellowship-trained in geriatric medicine and completed his training in internal medicine and psychiatry from West Virginia University.

“Selection to the Shine Academy is a prestigious honor and recognizes the excellent contributions to medical education made by Drs. Dingle and Dentino,” said Dr. John H. Krouse, dean of the School of Medicine and executive vice president for Health Affairs at UTRGV. “I am proud of their continued leadership at UTRGV.”

For more information, visit


The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) was created by the Texas Legislature in 2013 as the first major public university of the 21st century in Texas. This transformative initiative provided the opportunity to expand educational opportunities in the Rio Grande Valley, including a new School of Medicine, and made it possible for residents of the region to benefit from the Permanent University Fund – a public endowment contributing support to the University of Texas System and other institutions.

UTRGV has campuses and off-campus research and teaching sites throughout the Rio Grande Valley including in Boca Chica Beach, Brownsville (formerly The University of Texas at Brownsville campus), Edinburg (formerly The University of Texas-Pan American campus), Harlingen, McAllen, Port Isabel, Rio Grande City, and South Padre Island. UTRGV, a comprehensive academic institution, enrolled its first class in the fall of 2015, and the School of Medicine welcomed its first class in the summer of 2016.