Wednesday, February 7, 2018

By News and Internal Communications

Dr. Marie T. Mora
Dr. Marie T. Mora

Rio Grande Valley, Texas Dr. Marie T. Mora, UTRGV professor of economics and associate vice provost for Faculty Diversity, has been appointed to the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas’ San Antonio Branch by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

As a board member, Mora will provide input on regional economic conditions in South Texas, as part of the Federal Reserve’s monetary policy functions. She will serve a three-year term ending December 2020.

“I am very excited about serving in this capacity, not only because I will be able to share my insights and perspectives on regional economic conditions with Federal Reserve officials, but also because I will learn a lot from the experience,” Mora said. “It is exciting that the Fed is reaching out to get a broad range of input as they work through monetary policy.”

Previously, Mora served as vice provost fellow for Faculty Affairs, among other positions, at UTRGV legacy institution UTPA. Prior to moving to UTPA, she was an associate professor of economics at New Mexico State University. She holds BA and MA degrees in economics from the University of New Mexico, and a Ph.D. in economics from Texas A&M University.

Mora serves as director of the National Science Foundation-funded American Economic Association Mentoring Program, and has served on the board of the American Economic Association’s Committee on the Status of Minority Groups in the Economics Profession. She also served two terms as a member of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data Users Advisory Committee, two terms as president of the American Society of Hispanic Economists and was a member of the Dallas Fed’s Texas Border Colonias Study Steering Committee, and the Early Education Subcommittee of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Economic Development Committee.

Her recognitions include the Outstanding Support of Hispanic Issues in Higher Education Award from the American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education, and the Cesar Estrada Chavez Award from the American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity. She also received the distinguished alumnus award from the Department of Economics of University of New Mexico, the University Faculty Excellence Award for Service from UTPA, and has been named to Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers.

“Hispanics are underrepresented in the economics profession,” Mora said. “We want diversity in our profession to provide input that will result in better informed policy recommendations.”

The San Antonio Branch board consists of seven members, four appointed by the Dallas Fed board and three by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.


The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) was created by the Texas Legislature in 2013 as the first major public university of the 21st century in Texas. This transformative initiative provided the opportunity to expand educational opportunities in the Rio Grande Valley, including a new School of Medicine, and made it possible for residents of the region to benefit from the Permanent University Fund – a public endowment contributing support to the University of Texas System and other institutions.

UTRGV has campuses and off-campus research and teaching sites throughout the Rio Grande Valley including in Boca Chica Beach, Brownsville (formerly The University of Texas at Brownsville campus), Edinburg (formerly The University of Texas-Pan American campus), Harlingen, McAllen, Port Isabel, Rio Grande City, and South Padre Island. UTRGV, a comprehensive academic institution, enrolled its first class in the fall of 2015, and the School of Medicine welcomed its first class in the summer of 2016.