Thursday, January 18, 2018

By Letty Fernandez

BROWNSVILLE, TEXAS – UTRGV’s Art Gallery at Rusteberg Hall and the Brownsville Museum of Fine Art have collaborated on “Icons and Symbols of the Borderland,” an exhibit curated by Diana Molina and organized by the Juntos Art Association. 

The Rusteberg’s opening reception will be from 6-8 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 23, at the gallery. The exhibit will run through Friday, March 23.

The Brownsville Museum of Fine Art opening reception will be from 6-8 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 30. The exhibit will be up through Friday, April 13. The museum also will be showcasing artwork from local artists, and artists located across the U.S.-Mexico border, in a separate binational exhibition. 

Both receptions will be free and open to the public.

Accompanying events for this art exhibit include:

  • Artist panel discussion, 6-8 p.m. Jan. 31, at UTRGV Rusteberg Gallery
  • Community event, 11 a.m.-6 p.m. Feb. 17 at the Brownsville Museum of Fine Art.

Events will be free and open to the public.

“In an age where visual representations are fundamental to communication and lifestyle, icons and symbols are the key to ethical precepts, inspirations and beliefs. They provide a framework for ideals, emotions, philosophy, and, ultimately, patterns of behavior,” curator Molina said. “The Icons and Symbols of the Borderlands exhibit is an embodiment of the landscape and cultural legacy of the U.S,-Mexico borderland.” 

Participating artists include: Ricky Armendáriz, Nanobah Becker, Antonio Castro, Mark Clark, David DeWitt, Socorro Diamonstein, Gaspar Enríquez, Priscilla Garcia-Franzoni, Chris Grijalva-García, Wayne Hilton, Romy Sáenz Hawkins, Wopo Holup, Benito Huerta, Ilana Lapid, Lydia Limas, Cesar Martínez, Diana Molina, Delilah Montoya, Oscar Moya, José Rivera, Roberto Salas, Victoria Suescum, Miguel Valenzuela, and Andy Villarreal.

Binational exhibition artists include: Armando Ibarra, Ashley Tristan, Daniel Benavides, Eduardo Quintero, Elizabeth McCormack-Whittemore, Erika Balogh, Gaby Rico, Gil Rocha-Rochelli, Elizabeth Gonzalez, Humberto Jimenez, Jaime Gonzalez, Jennie Price, Jesus Maria, John Liss, Jose Angel Lozano, Josie Del Castillo, Josue Ramirez, Juan Mora, Kathryn Elizondo, Kyle Chaput, Leila Hernandez, Linda Lewis, Luis Corpus, Marcy Gonzalez, Marilyn Brown, Mario Godinez, Maximiliano Cervantes, Noel Palmenez, Rosendo Sandoval, Ruby Garza, Samantha Rawls, Sandra Gonzalez, Stephen Hawks, Susie Vlaisavljevic, Tochiro Gallegos, Veronica Cardenas, Eva Soliz, and Veronica Gaona. 


The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) was created by the Texas Legislature in 2013 as the first major public university of the 21st century in Texas. This transformative initiative provided the opportunity to expand educational opportunities in the Rio Grande Valley, including a new School of Medicine, and made it possible for residents of the region to benefit from the Permanent University Fund – a public endowment contributing support to the University of Texas System and other institutions.

UTRGV has campuses and off-campus research and teaching sites throughout the Rio Grande Valley including in Boca Chica Beach, Brownsville (formerly The University of Texas at Brownsville campus), Edinburg (formerly The University of Texas-Pan American campus), Harlingen, McAllen, Port Isabel, Rio Grande City, and South Padre Island. UTRGV, a comprehensive academic institution, enrolled its first class in the fall of 2015, and the School of Medicine welcomed its first class in the summer of 2016.