Our Mission

The Mission of the Department of EHSRM is to ensure a safe and healthy work environment for the campus community, promote safe work practices that do not harm the environment, ensure compliance with any and all rules and regulations pertaining to occupational health and safety and the environment, and to protect the University’s resources through sound administration of the University’s insurance coverage.

Our Goal is to ensure that when you leave at the end of the day, you are just as healthy and safe as when you arrived. 


Special Announcements

The following information outlines the training sessions offered by the Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management Department. Click on each subject title to get information for the specific training along with the upcoming schedule.

Classroom Training Sessions

Subject Campus Date* Day Time* Building
12-15 Passenger Van
New! Edinburg Apr 9 Monday 10:00 - 12:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Animal Care Occupational Health and Safety (OHS)
New! Edinburg Mar 23 Fri 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Asbestos Awareness
Edinburg Apr 27 Fri 8:30 - 9:30 a.m. EMAGC 1.302
Back Safety
Edinburg Feb 27 Tuesday 9:00 - 10:00 a.m. EEHSB 104
Basic Laboratory Safety / Hazard Communication
TBD
Biological Safety (BSL-2)
Edinburg Feb 8 Thursday 3:30 - 4:45 p.m. EEHSB 104
Bloodborne Pathogens (BBP)
Brownsville Jun 7 Thu 10:30 - 11:45 a.m. TBD
Edinburg Jun 14 Thu 3:30 - 4:45 p.m. EEHSB 104
New! Edinburg Aug 8 Wed 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. ESTAC 1.112B
Child Protection Training
TBD
CPR / AED (American Heart Association Basic Life Support - RGV CPR)
TBA TBA
Custodian Safety
New! Edinburg Apr 9 Mon 6:30 - 8:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Custodian Safety (Night shift)
TBD
Ergonomics
TBA
Evacuation Assistant / Fire Extinguisher
Harlingen Apr 24 Tue 8:30 - 10:00 a.m. HCEBL 1.100
Harlingen Apr 24 Tue 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. HCEBL 1.100
Edinburg Apr 27 Fri 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Harlingen May 9 Wed 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. HCEBL 1.132
Harlingen May 15 Tue 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. HCEBL 1.132
Brownsville May 30 Wed 8:30 - 10:00 a.m. BSABH 1.102
Facilities New Employee Safety Orientation
New! Brownsville Mar 6 Tuesday 9:00 - 10:00 a.m. BASFC
Facilities Trade - AEEP
New! Edinburg Mar 30 Fri 8:30 - 10:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Facilities Trade - MMP
TBD
Facilities Trade - PCCG
TBD
Fall Protection
Edinburg Apr 27 Fri 3:45 - 4:45 p.m. EASFC Breakroom
First Aid / CPR / AED
Edinburg Apr 26 Thu 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg May 15 Tue 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
New! Edinburg May 16 Wed 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
New! Edinburg May 18 Fri 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg Jun 27 Wed 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg July 18 Wed 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
First Aid / CPR / AED (American Heart Association (AHA) Heartsaver - RGV CPR)
Brownsville May 16 Wed 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Brownsville Jun 8 Fri 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Brownsville Aug 22 Wed 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. BLHSB 2.604
Fire Extinguisher - For Student Involvement
New! Brownsville Apr 11 Wed 12:00 - 1:30 p.m. BSTUN 2.20
Forklift / Lift Truck Operator Safety Training (Class I, IV, and V)
Edinburg May 8 Tue 8:30 - 12:30 p.m. ECESS 1.235
Edinburg Jun 18 Mon 12:30 - 4:30 p.m. ECESS 1.235
Groundskeeping Safety
TBD
Hazard Communication for Facilities
Edinburg Apr 26 Thu 3:45 - 4:45 p.m. EASFC Breakroom
HAZWOPER 40-Hour
Edinburg May 21-25 Mon-Fri 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEDUC 1.504
HAZWOPER Refresher (Veolia)
Edinburg Feb 19 Monday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Heat Stress
Brownsville May 2 Wed 9:30 - 10:30 a.m. TBD
Edinburg May 3 Thu 8:30 - 9:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg May 3 Thu 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Edinburg May 4 Fri 8:30 - 9:30 a.m. EEHSB 104
Brownsville May 7 Mon 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. TBD
Laboratory Safety / Hazard Communication Training
Brownsville Jun 4 Mon 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. BMAIN 2.112
Edinburg Jun 4 Mon 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. EMSAC 1.105
Edinburg Jun 13 Wed 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. EHABE 1.114
Brownsville Jun 18 Mon 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. TBD
Edinburg Jun 19 Tue 11:00 - 12:00 p.m. ESCNE 2.342
New! Edinburg Jun 25 Mon 8:30 - 10:00 a.m. ESCNE 2.102
New! Edinburg Jul 23 Mon 8:30 - 10:00 a.m. EENGR 1.300
New! Edinburg Jul 30 Mon 8:30 - 10:00 a.m. EENGR 1.300
New! Edinburg Aug 8 Wed 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. ESTAC 1.112B
Ladder Safety and Facilities Hazard Communication
Brownsville Apr 11 Wed 9:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. BASFC Lg. Conf.
Laser Safety
Edinburg Apr 25 Wed 1:30 - 2:30 p.m. EEHSB 104
Lock Out/Tag Out
New! Edinburg Apr 18 Wed 8:00 - 9:00 a.m. EASFC Breakroom
New Faculty Resource Fair
TBD
RCRA/DOT Refresher (Veolia)
Edinburg Feb 20 Tuesday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EEHSB 104
Radiation Safety
TBD
Respiratory Protection Awareness (for Art department)
TBD
Supervisor Series EHSRM
Brownsville Feb 22 Thursday 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. Salon Cassia 2.402
Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Brownsville Jan 24 Wednesday 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. BSABH 2.106
To register for any of the above training sessions, visit www.utrgv.edu/training.

Additional Training Sessions

12-15 Passenger Van
Basic Laser Safety
Basic Radiation Safety Training - Radioactive Materials
CITI Program
Driver Safety
Food Handler
Radiation Safety - Radiation Producing Devices (X-Ray devices)

*Dates, times and locations are subject to change.