UTRGV Allies

Safe Zone Allies

The following UTRGV community members and campus partners have completed Ally Safe Zone Training. They have also expressed interest in providing support and assistance to the LGBTQIA+ community.

Ally Zone card and two raindbow flags in the background.

Faculty

Name Department Contact Info
Grant Benham
Professor
Department of Psychological Science grant.benham@utrgv.edu
Michael Butler
Lecturer
Philosophy michael.butler@utrgv.edu
ELABS 362
Erica Buchberger
Professor
History erica.buchberger@utrgv.edu
ELABS 348A
Jennifer Cahn
Grant Research Officer
SOM Associate Dean of Research Office jennifer.cahn@utrgv.edu
956-296-1707
Ruby Charak
Assistant Professor
Psychological Science ruby.charak@utrgv.edu
956-665-3733
Dr. Monica Clua Losada
Associate Professor
Psychological Science monica.clualosada@utrgv.edu
ELABN 220
Annette Diaz
Part-time Lecturer
Biology annette.diaz01@utrgv.edu
ESCNE 2.326
Silvia Gutierrez-Leal
Lecturer
Rehabilitation Services & Counseling silvia.gutierrezleal01@utrgv.edu
956-665-7041
Marilyn Hagerty
Lecturer II
UNIV 1301 Learning Framework marilyn.hagerty@utrgv.edu
ESTAC 2.112
Terry Hawkins
Assistant Professor
Writing & Language Studies tekla.hawkins@utrgv.edu
ELABS 267
Mark Kaswan
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science mark.kaswan@utrgv.edu
956-882-8877
Shaun McCrory
Professor
Writing & Language Studies shaun.mccrory01@utrgv.edu
ELABS 207
Jeff Morrisey
Lecturer
Department of Philosophy jeffrey.morrisey@utrgv.edu
Cameron Ortega
Lecturer I
School of Rehabilitation Services & Counseling cameron.ortega@utrgv.edu
956-665-8738
Ernesto Ramirez
Lecturer III
Mexican American Students, School of Interdisciplinary Studies and Community Engagement, College of Liberal Arts ernesto.ramirez@utrgv.edu
EEDUC 2.216B
Andrew Smith
Lecturer III
Political Science andrew.smith@utrgv.edu
ELABN 230
Michelle Varon
Assistant Professor
School of Medicine, Department of Family & Community Medicine michelle.varon01@utrgv.edu

Staff

Name Department Contact Info
Caitlin Bruseth
Academic Advisor II
Academic Advising Center caitlin.bruseth@utrgv.edu
BMAIN 1.400
Dr. Joanna M. Camacho Escobar
Academic Advisor III
Academic Advising Center joanna.camachoescobar@utrgv.edu
Jesse Cadanoza
Medical Simulation Specialist
SOM Simulation Hospital jesse.candanoza@utrgv.edu
956-296-1566
Georgina (Gina) M. Diaz
Academic Advisor
Academic Advising Center gina.diaz@utrgv.edu
956-665-7966
Claudette Garza
Enrollment Specialist
Student Services Center claudette.garza01@utrgv.edu
956-665-8977
Rosalinda Garza
Program Manager
Department of Health and Biomedical Sciences rosalinda.garza@utrgv.edu
956-882-5002
Noelynn Gillamac Llasos
Admin. Coord.
Office of Institutional Accreditation noelynn.gillasos@utrgv.edu
956-665-4025
Greg Kuras
Student Athlete Advisor
Athletics greg.kuras@utrgv.edu
EACSB 1.102
Bernardo Macias
Graduate Admission Specialist
Graduate College bernardo.macias02@utrgv.edu
Rebecca Palacios
Admission Specialist
Grad Central rebecca.palacios@utrgv.edu
Karitza Pascual
Enrollment Specialist
Student Service Center karitza.pascual01@utrgv.edu
956-665-8977
Derek Perez
Outreach Representative
College of Education & P-16 Integration derek.perez@utrgv.edu
EEDUC 2.520
Julie Perez
Admin. Assistant I
Biology Department julie.perez@utrgv.edu
956-665-5223
Miguel Ramirez
Marketing Coordinator
Office of Engaged Scholarship and Learning miguel.ramirez05@utrgv.edu
Raymond Salas
Program Coordinator
Center for Students in Recovery raymond.salas@utrgv.edu
956-665-2674

Students

Name Field of Study Email
Melissa Andrade
Student
Graduate College Staff melissa.andrade04@utrgv.edu
Caleb A. Ayala
Student
School of Social Work caleb.ayala01@utrgv.edu
Valerie Balli
Student
Grad Central valerie.balli@utrgv.edu
Alexia Y. Chavero
Graduate Student, Counseling Intern
Counseling Center alexia.chavero01@utrgv.edu
956-665-2574
Priscilla De Azevedo Drummond
Graduate Student
Engineering and Computer Science/Engineering Management priscilla.deazevedodrummond01@utrgv.edu
Ana Cristina Fernandez
Graduate Assistant
Graduate College, MBA ana.fernandez02@utrgv.edu
Briana Garcia
Student
Health & Biomedical Sciences (peer mentor) briana.garcia03@utrgv.edu
Yami Garcia
Graduate Student
Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling yamilex.garcia01@utrgv.edu
Daniel Garza
Graduate Student
Counseling and Guidance daniel.garza03@utrgv.edu
Kayla Guerra
Graduate Student
Counseling kayla.guerra02@utrgv.edu
Victoria Guerrero
Student
Sociology victoria.gerrero01@utrgv.edu
Emily Limas
Student
Health & Biomedical Sciences (peer mentor) emily.limas01@utrgv.edu
Kristen Maynard
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Biology kristen.maynard01@utrgv.edu
ESCNE 2.326
Jesus Pedraza-Banda
Student
Health & Biomedical Sciences (peer mentor) jesus.pedrazabanda01@utrgv.edu
Paulina Ramirez
Student
Anthropology paulina.ramirez01@utrgv.edu
Lizbeth Rocha
Graduate Student
Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling lizbeth.rocha01@utrgv.edu
Alejandro Sanchez
Graduate Student
Grad Central Staff alejandro.sanchez03@utrgv.edu
Juliana Segura
Student
SVA Student President juliana.pena@utrgv.edu
Lucas Smith
Student
President lucas.smith01@utrgv.edu
Maidhili Tantrauahi
Graduate Assistant
Graduate College maidhili.tantrauahi01@utrgv.edu
Evelyn Tienda
Student
Grad Central evelyn.tienda@utrgv.edu
Damaris C. Uriegas
Student
Bilingual Education damaris.uriegas01@utrgv.edu
Vanessa Vargas Cruz
Student
Mechanical Engineering vanessa.vargascruz01@utrgv.edu

Off-Campus Partnerships

Name Organization Email
Melissa Arjona
Librarian, Starr County Library
South Texas College marjona4@southtexascollege.edu
956-488-6992
Mayra Avila
Senior Coordinator of Counseling, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College mavila24@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-2530
Nadia Casaperalta
Culinary Arts
South Texas College ncasaperalta_8695@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-2218
Liz Diaz
Counselor, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College ldiaz@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-3593
Angela Doñes
Counselor, Counseling and Disability Services
Counseling Center adones_9950@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-2601, Bldg K 2.910
Kellie Flores
Intern, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College kflores38@my.gcu.edu
Erica Hansen
Ombudsperson, OSRR
South Texas College ehansen@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-2180
William Heinrich
Library Specialist, Library Public Services
South Texas College wheinrich_7212@southtexascollege.edu
Diana Hernandez
Counselor, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College dhernand@southtexascollege.edu
956-447-6618, MVC F113
Elizabeth Hollenbeck
Outreach & Instruction Librarian, Library Services
South Texas College ahollenb@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-1983
Teresa Jasso
Police Officer, Police Department
South Texas College tjasso_3745@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-4444
Elizabeth Lopez
coordinator of Student Activities & Events, Student Activities & Wellness
South Texas College elopez1@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-5866
Mari Martinez
Counselor, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College mmarti45@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-1987, Bldg K 2.900
Melissa Martinez
Counselor, CSDS
South Texas College mmartine@southtexascollege.edu
956-447-1213
Claraly Peña-Leal
Counselor, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College cpena_2419@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-2106
Sonia Rivera
Counselor, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College soniarg@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-2513
Jacqueline Rodriguez
Student Success Specialist, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College jrodr185@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-2633, Bldg K 2.900
Marianella Sanchez
Campus Librarian, Technology Campus, Technology Library A-179
South Texas College marig@southtexascollege.edu
956-872-6120
Andy Solis
Student Activities Specialist, Department of Student Activities and Wellness
South Texas College asolis_4340@southtexascollege.edu
Rebecca Ybarra Leal
BSW Intern, Counseling and Disability Services
South Texas College rebecca.ybarra_leal@students.tamuk.edu