DREAM Zone Advocates

Advocate TagA DREAM Zone Advocate is a UTRGV community member (student, faculty, or staff) interested in providing support, resource, and empowerment to members of our campus community who may identify as undocumented or DACAmented.

The following UTRGV community members have completed the DREAM Zone Advocate Training and may be able to assist you.

Advocate Directory

Faculty

Name Department Contact Info
Israel Aguilar
Assistant Professor
Organization and School
Leadership
israel.aguilar@utrgv.edu
956-345-8360
Carla Angulo-Pasel
Assistant Professor
Political Science carla.angulopasel@utrgv.edu
ELABN 222
Sonja L Arredondo
Lecturer II
School of Social Work sonja.arredondo@utrgv.edu
SWOT 1.217
Erica Buchberger
Assistant Professor
History erica.buchberger@utrgv.edu
956-665-7268
Lilia Cabrera
Lecturer, Undergraduate Advisor
School of Art lilia.cabrera@utrgv.edu
956-665-3482
Remei Capdevila Werning
Assistant Professor
Philosophy remei.capdevila@utrgv.edu
956-882-7112
Katherine Christoffersen
Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Writing and Language Studies katherine.christoffersen@utrgv.edu
956-665-3428
Alexandre Couture Gagnon
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science alexandre.couturegagnon@utrgv.edu
956-882-8259
Amy Cummins
Associate Professor
Department of Literatures and Cultural Studies amy.cummins@utrgv.edu
956-665-3421
George T. Diaz
Assistant Professor
History Department george.diaz@utrgv.edu
956-665-7897
Miryam Espinosa-Dulanto
Faculty
Teaching and Learning Department miryam.espinosadulanto@utrgv.edu
956-884-7423
Dr. Lucas Espinoza
Assistant Professor
Criminal Justice lucas.espinoza01@utrgv.edu
956-665-8757
Catherine Faver
Professor
School of Social Work catherine.faver@utrgv.edu
956-665-2628
Marlene Galvan
Lecturer III
Department of Writing & Language Studies marlene.galvan@utrgv.edu
956-665-8772
Christen Garcia
Assistant Professor
School of Art christen.garcia@utrgv.edu
956-665-4380
Criselda Garcia
Associate Professor/Associate Dean
College of Education and P-16 Integration/Dean’s Office/Teaching and Learning Department criselda.garcia@utrgv.edu
956-665-3448
Margaret Graham
Professor
Sociology & Anthropology margaret.graham@utrgv.edu
956-665-7393
Marilyn Jean Hagerty
Lecturer
University College – Learning Framework marilyn.hagerty@utrgv.edu
956-665-7152
Tekla Hawkins
Assistant Professor
Writing & Language Studies tekla.hawkins@utrgv.edu
956-665-3447
Juventino Hernandez
Rodriguez
Assistant Professor
Psychological Science juventino.hernandezrodriguez@utrgv.edu
956-665-7094
Stefanie Herweck
Lecturer
Writing and Language Studies, Environmental Studies Program stefanie.herweck@utrgv.edu
956-665-2374
Kip Austin Hinton
Associate Professor
Bilingual & Literacy Studies kipaustin.hinton@utrgv.edu
956-882-8847
Brendan L. Lavy
Assistant Professor
School of Earth,
Environmental, and Marine
Sciences
brendan.lavy@utrgv.edu
956-665-5280
Karin Lewis
Associate Professor
Teaching & Learning
Department
karin.lewis@utrgv.edu
956-882-5704
Arlett Lomeli
Assistant Professor
Sociology and Anthropology arlett.lomeli@utrgv.edu
956-882-7112
956-665-3321
Alfonso Mercado
Associate Professor
Psychological Science alfonso.mercado@utrgv.edu
956-665-3320
Jeff Morrisey
Lecturer
Philosophy jeffrey.morrisey@utrgv.edu
956-665-2323
Mark Noe
Professor
Writing and Language Studies joe.noe@utrgv.edu
956-665-3430
Alcione Ostorga
Associate Professor
Bilingual and Literacy Studies alcione.ostorga@utrgv.edu
956-665-3410
Ernesto Ramirez
Lecturer III
Mexican American Studies ernesto.ramirez@utrgv.edu
956-665-3212
Ben Ruiz
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology & Anthropology ben.ruiz@utrgv.edu
956-665-7843
Candace Robledo
Assistant Professor
Population Health & Biostatistics candace.robledo@utrgv.edu
956-296-1937
Cinthya M. Saavedra, PhD
Assistant Professor, Academic Program Director Interim Associate Dean, Interdisciplinary Programs & Community Engagement
Mexican American Studies Program cinthya.saavedra@utrgv.edu
956-665-3381
Andrew Smith
Lecturer III
Political Science andrew.smith@utrgv.edu
956-665-3037
Alexander Stehn
Associate Professor
Philosophy alex.stehn@utrgv.edu
956-665-7487
Karina Stiles-Cox
Lecturer III
Writing and Language Studies karina.stilescox@utrgv.edu
956-882-8853
Liliana Trevino
Associate Professor in Practice
UTeach liliana.trevino@utrgv.edu
956-243-5125
Bianca T. Villalobos, PhD
Assistant Professor
Psychological Science bianca.villalobos@utrgv.edu
956-665-7961
Heather Vitek
Lecturer
School of Social Work heather.vitek@utrgv.edu
956-665-4007

Staff

Name Department Contact Info
Christopher Albert
Director
Counseling Center christopher.albert@utrgv.edu
956-665-2574
Caitlin Bruseth
Academic Advisor II
Academic Advising Center caitlin.bruseth@utrgv.edu
BMAIN 1.400
Jesus Buitron
Scholarship Coordinator
Scholarship Office jesus.buitron@utrgv.edu
956-665-2935
Nathan Burk
Senior Associate Athletic Director for Compliance and Administration
Department of Intercollegiate Athletics nathan.burk@utrgv.edu
956-665-3042
Frances G. Caballero
Library Assistant II
University Library frances.caballero@utrgv.edu
956-665-2346
Cristina Castillo
Assistant Director for GEAR UP
Student Educational Outreach cristina.castillo@utrgv.edu
956-665-7707
Brenda Codallo
Associate Athletic Director for Academic Services
Athletics brenda.codallo@utrgv.edu
956-665-3094
Cristina De Leon
NCAA Certification Coordinator
Office of the University Registrar cristina.deleon@utrgv.edu
956-665-5356
Estela De La Garza
Program Coordinator
Engaged Scholarship & Learning estela.delagarza@utrgv.edu
956-882-4300
Magdalena Flores
Student Support and Tutoring Specialist
Writing Center magdalena.flores@utrgv.edu
956-665-7977
Rebecca Gadson
Associate Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students
Office of Student Life and Dean of Students rebecca.gadson@utrgv.edu
956-665-2260
Violeta Hernandez
Administrative Assistant
Student Support Services violeta.hernandez01@utrgv.edu
956-882-8289
Jose Aaron Hinojosa
Program Coordinator
Center for Diversity & Inclusion and DREAM Resource Center aaron.hinojosa@utrgv.edu
956-665-2260
Noelynn G. Llasos
Administrative Coordinator
Academic Affairs - Office of Institutional Accreditation noelynn.gillasos@utrgv.edu
956-665-4025
Cindy Mata-Vasquez
Director
Student Activities cindy.mata@utrgv.edu
956-882-7152
April Munoz
Program Coordinator
Leadership and Mentoring april.munoz@utrgv.edu
956-665-3676
Alicia Nieto
Graduate Admissions Specialist
Graduate College alicia.nieto@utrgv.edu
956-665-2207
Shannon Pensa
Librarian
University Library Special Collections & Archives shannon.pensa@utrgv.edu
956-665-5288
Andrew Perez
Supervising Clinical Therapist
Counseling Center andrew.perez02@utrgv.edu
956-665-2574
Jesus Pierce
Enrollment Generalist
Student Service Center jesus.pierce@utrgv.edu
956-882-4026
Miguel Ramirez
Marketing Coordinator
Office of Engaged Scholarship and Learning miguel.ramirez05@utrgv.edu
956-665-3461
Valerie M. Rivera
Clinical Social Worker
School of Medicine, Office of
Student Health & Wellness
valeria.rivera@utrgv.edu
956-665-3306
Cynthia Saldivar
Program Manager
Student Academic Success Cynthia.saldivar@utrgv.edu
956-882-7483
Vanessa Sandoval
Program Coordinator for Leadership and Social Change
Leadership and Mentoring vanessa.sandoval01@utrgv.edu
956-882-5937
Ruben Santibanez
Assistant Director for Residence Life
Housing and Residence Life ruben.santibanez@utrgv.edu
956-882-7191
Miranda Savage
Academic Advisor
Academic Advising miranda.savage01@utrgv.edu
956-665-7120
Rebekah Sepulveda
Assistant Director
Student Service Centers (U Central) rebekah.sepulveda@utrgv.edu
956-665-2505
Lindy Toy
Graduate Admission Specialist and Student
Graduate College Office (Staff) and Educational Leadership, Ed.D. (Student) lindy.toy01@utrgv.edu
956-882-1944
Emilia Trevino
Financial Manager
Office of Student Success emilia.trevino@utrgv.edu
956-882-7867
Daniela Venegas
Youth Program Support Manager
Student Educational Outreach daniela.venegas@utrgv.edu
956-665-2522
Addie Wieland
Supervising Clinical Therapist
Counseling Center adelia.wieland@utrgv.edu
956-665-2574
Cindy Yarely Marroquin
Program Coordinator
Engaged Scholarship and Learning cindy.marroquin01@utrgv.edu
956-665-3157

Students

Name Field of Study Email
Marissa Flores
Student
BMED marissa.flores03@utrgv.edu
Denise Kourtnie Hernandez
Graduate Student
Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling denise.k.hernandez01@utrgv.edu
Eneida Hernandez
Undergraduate Student
Biology eneida.hernandez02@utrgv.edu
Emily Jordan
Undergraduate Student
BMED emily.jordan01@utrgv.edu
Elias Lumbreras
Undergraduate Student
Social Work elias.lumbreras01@utrgv.edu
Janet Magadan
Undergraduate Student
Education roberta.magadanpena01@utrgv.edu
Abigail Pozulp
Graduate Research Assistant
Biology abigail.pozulp01@utrgv.edu
956-882-5141
Tabitha Rodriguez
Graduate Student
Counseling and Guidance tabitha.rodriguez01@utrgv.edu
956-882-5141
Jazmin Sibaja
Student
Biological Sciences abigail.pozulp01@utrgv.edu
956-882-5141
Kelsey Simpson
Student
Interdisciplinary Studies
EC-6
jazmin.sibaja01@utrgv.edu
Mayra N Solis
Student
Psychology mayra.solis01@utrgv.edu
Damaris C. Uriegas
Student
Bilingual Education damaris.uriegas01@utrgv.edu
Zoila C. Zambrano
Graduate Student, Research Assistant
Marketing zoila.zambrano01@utrgv.edu

Off-Campus Partnerships

Name Organization Email
Priscilla Aguilar
Manager, Teacher Leadership Development
Teach for America priscilla.aguilar@teachforamerica.org
Nazanin Ahmadieh
Resident Physician
OBGYN nazanin.ahmadieh@utrgv.edu
Adelaida Castillo
Managing Director, Program Continuum
Teach for America adelaida.castillo@teachforamerica.org
>Gil Garza Reyes
Manager, Program Operations
Teach for America gilberto.garzareyes@teachforamerica.org

Who can you reach out to at UTRGV?

You may email dreamer@utrgv.edu with questions or contact any of the following individuals:

Name Title Email
>Rebecca Gadson Dean of Students and Associate Vice President of Student Life rebecca.gadson@utrgv.edu
>Douglas Stoves Senior Associate Dean for Students for Student Rights & Responsibilities doug.stoves@utrgv.edu
>Delma Olivarez Associate Dean for Student Involvement delma.olivarez@utrgv.edu
>VACANT Administrative Manager
>Jose Aaron Hinojosa Program Coordinator for the Center for Diversity & Inclusion aaron.hinojosa@utrgv.edu

Go back link