Distinguished Speakers Committee

Student Input and Committee Membership 

The DSS Committee is comprised of student leaders, faculty and staff. Student membership consists of four students representing the Brownsville and Edinburg campuses, a graduate student and an SGA representative. Students are appointed by the Student Government Association.

Interested students should submit their application for eligibility to the Committee and Councils V Link page.


2018-2019 Membership 



Alexandra Smith-Macias

Student-At-Large (Edinburg)


Student-At-Large (Brownsville)


Graduate Student

Ingrid de la Torre

SGA Student Representative

Aje-Ori Agbese

Faculty Representative

Amy Cummins

Faculty Representative

Marisa Campirano

University Advancement Representative

John Sargent

Committee Chair

Lauren Contreras

Program Coordinator, Student Activities (ex-officio)

Cindy Mata-Vasquez

Director for Student Activities (ex-officio)

Faculty appointments are designated for two academic years with student appointments designated for one academic year.