Preclerkship Team

Naomi D'Acolatse, MD, MPH
Associate Dean for Educational Affairs
Phone: 956-296-1923
naomi.davis@utrgv.edu

Nikita Chavarria, PhD
Assistant Dean for Medical Education, Preclerkship
Phone: 956-296-1923
nikita.chavarria@utrgv.edu

Karina Madrigal, EdD
Education Development Specialist
karina.madrigal@utrgv.edu

Angelica Martinez
SOM Course Coordinator (Year 1)
angelica.martinez01@utrgv.edu

Elena Guel
SOM Course Coordinator (Year 1)
elena.guel@utrgv.edu

Norma Lopez
SOM Course Coordinator (Year 2)
norma.lopez@utrgv.edu

Vickie Rangel
SOM Course Coordinator (Year 2)
vickie.rangel@utrgv.edu



Preclerkship Module Directors

Longitudinal Modules:

Clinical Skills
Ayleen Godreau, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics
ayleen.godreau@utrgv.edu

Language of Medicine
Pad Rengasamy, PhD
Professor
Department of Molecular Science
pad.renga@utrgv.edu

Health Systems Science
Beatriz Tapia, MD, MPH, EdD
Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics
beatriz.tapia@utrgv.edu

Claudio Kogan, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
claudio.kogan@utrgv.edu


Year 1 Modules:

Molecules to Medicine
Shivani Maffi, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Education & Academic Affairs
shivani.maffi@utrgv.edu

Timothy Heath, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
timothy.heath@utrgv.edu

Attack & Defense
Seratna Guadarrama, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Immunology and Microbiology
seratna.guadarrama@utrgv.edu

Robert Nelson, MD
Sr. Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Chair, Department of Pediatrics
robert.nelson@utrgv.edu

Cardiovascular & Respiratory
Humberto Hidalgo, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics
humberto.hidalgo@utrgv.edu

Amin Shah, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Science
amin.shah@utrgv.edu

Renal & Male Reproduction
Pratip Mitra, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Education & Academic Affairs
pratip.mitra@utrgv.edu

Timothy Loy, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Education & Academic Affairs
timothy.loy@utrgv.edu


Year 2 Modules:

Musculoskeletal & Dermatology
Pad Rengasamy, PhD
Professor
Department of Molecular Science
pad.renga@utrgv.edu

Maria Villegas, MD
maria.villegas@utrgv.edu

Mind, Brain & Behavior
Xiaoqian (Naomi) Fang, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Science
xiaoqian.fang@utrgv.edu

Michael Escamilla, MD
Professor
Department of Psychiatry
michael.escamilla@utrgv.edu

Endocrine & Female Reproduction
Yalchin Nuetzman, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Neuroscience
yalchin.nuetzman@utrgv.edu

Denise De Los Santos, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
denise.delossantos01@utrgv.edu

Digestive Health & Nutrition
Wendy Innis-Whitehouse, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Education & Academic Affairs
wendy.innis@utrgv.edu

Curtis Galke, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine
curtis.galke@utrgv.edu