

# School of Podiatric Medicine



CLASS OF 2028

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 25, 2024

## ORDER OF PROGRAM

### Welcome and Introduction to Ceremony

Javier Cavazos, DPM, FACPM, RCPS

Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, UTRGV School of Podiatric Medicine

#### **Student Processional**

UTRGV SOPM Class of 2028

#### **National Anthem**

Daniela Avilez

Kanaka Lanka

Merlin Sajeev

UTRGV SOPM Class of 2028

#### **School of Podiatric Medicine Dean's Address**

Javier La Fontaine, DPM, MS, Med

Dean, UTRGV School of Podiatric Medicine

#### Presentation of Faculty and Welcome Message

Tyreen Heybeck, DPM

UTRGV SOPM Department Chair for Podiatric Medicine Surgery and Biomechanics

#### **Texas Podiatric Medical Association Address**

Michael VanPelt, DPM, FACFAS

Podiatrist, President of TPMA

#### **Keynote Speaker**

Jose Luis Ayala, DPM

Podiatrist, CMO of Valley Baptist Medical Center

## ORDER OF PROGRAM

### Presentation of Students and Cloaking of White Coats

Tyreen Heybeck, DPM

UTRGV SOPM Department Chair for Podiatric Medicine Surgery and Biomechanics

Javier La Fontaine, DPM, MS, Med

Dean, UTRGV School of Podiatric Medicine

Javier Cavazos, DPM, FACPM, RCPS

Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, UTRGV School of Podiatric Medicine

#### **Pinning of White Coats**

Michael VanPelt, DPM, FACFAS

Podiatrist, President of TPMA

### **Recitation of Hippocratic Oath**

Tyreen Heybeck, DPM

UTRGV SOPM Department Chair for Podiatric Medicine Surgery and Biomechanics

### **Ringing of Bell**

Simon Barker

Asad Mustafa

UTRGV SOPM Class of 2028

### **Closing Remarks and Instructions**

Asad Mustafa

UTRGV SOPM Class Representative 2028

#### **Student Recessional**

UTRGV SOPM Class of 2028

## ACKNOWELDEGEMENTS







The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Podiatric Medicine gratefully acknowledges The Texas Podiatric Medical Association, Sagis Diagnostics, and Texas Podiatric Medical Foundation for its ongoing support and guidance.

## HIPPOCRATIC OATH

I do solemnly swear, by whatever I hold most sacred: That I will be loyal to the profession of medicine and just and generous to its members. That I will lead my life and practice my profession in uprightness and honor.

That into whatsoever house I shall enter, it shall be for the good of the sick to the utmost of my power, holding myself far aloof from wrong, from corruption, from the tempting of others to vice. That I will exercise my profession solely for the cure of my patients, and will give no drug, perform no operation for a criminal purpose, even if solicited; far less suggest it. That whatsoever I shall see or hear of the lives of all people which is not fitting to be spoken, I will keep inviolably secret.

These things do I swear. While I continue to keep this Oath unviolated, may it be granted to me to enjoy life and the practice of the art, respected by all, in all times. But should I trespass and violate this Oath, may the reverse be my lot!

(Adapted from The Modem Hippocratic Oath written in 1964 by Louis Lasagna, former Academic Dean of the School of Medicine at Tufts University.)

## CLASS OF 2028

Daniela Avilez Myra Mudassar

McAllen, TX – Texas A&M University

Temple, TX – Texas A&M University

Simon Barker Asad Mustafa

New Braunfels, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

McKinney, TX – University of Texas Dallas

Sampreeti Bingi Anh Pham

Irving, TX – The University of Texas at Austin Houston, TX - University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Derick Boakye Demian Rodriguez

McKinney, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Brownsville, TX – University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Juan Dominguez Mariana Rodriguez

Brownsville, TX – Texas A&M University

Houston, TX – Midway University

Sarah Romero-Chong

San Antonio, TX – University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Laredo, TX – Texas A&M International University

Joccelyn Garcia

Plano, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Leslie Guerrero Merlin Sajeev

La Grulla, TX – University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Princeton, TX – University of Texas at Dallas

Daniela Gutierrez

Jessica Sima

Brownsville, TX – University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Houston, TX – University of California Berkeley

Karen Hernandez Izz Syed

Pharr, TX – Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi Irving, TX – University of Texas at Dallas
Saschell King Sarah Weisbrodt

Odessa, TX – Texas Tech University

Austin, TX – Texas State University

Kanaka Srilalitha Lanka Brian Yazan

San Antonio, TX – University of Texas at San Antonio

Cedar Park, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Jason Luong



School of Podiatric Medicine