

School of Medicine

Offite Coat CEREMONY

Class of 2027

Saturday, July 29, 2023

Order of Program

Welcome and Introduction to Ceremony

Leonel Vela, M.D., M.P.H.

Senior Associate Dean, Education Resources
Professor, Department of Family and Preventative Medicine
Chair, Department of Population Health and Biostatistics
Chief Physician, Community Health Partnerships and Outreach

Student Processional

Class of 2027

National Anthem

Presentation of Platform Guests

Leonel Vela, M.D., M.P.H.

School of Medicine Dean's Address

Michael B. Hocker, M.D., M.H.S.

Dean, UTRGV School of Medicine

Senior Vice President, UT Health RGV

Welcome Messages on behalf of the Office of Education Affairs

Sambandam Elango, M.D., F.A.C.S., M. Med Ed.

Associate Dean, Education Affairs

Chair, Department of Medical Education

Professor, Medical Education & Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery

Maria de Jésus Muñoz, M.D.

Associate Dean, Clerkship

Director, Clinical Skills

Associate Professor, Family and Community Medicine

Presentation of Keynote Speaker

Michael B. Hocker, M.D., M.H.S.

Keynote Speaker

Everardo Cobos, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Chair, Department of Internal Medicine

Professor of Internal Medicine

Presentation of Students and Cloaking of White Coats

Class of 2027 Michael B. Hocker, M.D., M.H.S.

Recitation of Profession of Values

Karina Y. Zamora

Class of 2027 Student, School of Medicine

Ringing of the Bell

Erik Hinojosa

Class of 2027 Student, School of Medicine

Closing Remarks and Instructions

Leonel Vela, M.D., M.P.H.

Student Recessional

Class of 2027

Announcer:

Carlo Tamayo, Ph.D., Associate Director of Outreach

Prerecorded Processional and Recessional Music by: UTRGV Wind Ensemble under the direction of Dr. Saul Torres, Assistant Professor.

THE ARNOLD P.

GOLD FOUNDATION

The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine gratefully acknowledges the Arnold P. Gold Foundation for its ongoing support and guidance of this White Coat Ceremony. The Arnold P. Gold Foundation has generously provided each medical student in the Class of 2027 with a "Humanism in Medicine" lapel pin.

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation's mission is to perpetuate the tradition of the caring doctor by emphasizing the importance of the relationship between the practitioner and the patient.

Its objective is to help physicians-in-training become doctors who combine the high-tech skills of cutting-edge medicine with the high-touch skills of effective communication, empathy, and compassion.

Hippocratic Oath

I do solemnly swear, by whatever I hold most sacred: That I will be loyal to the profession of medicine and just and generous to its members. That I will lead my life and practice my profession in uprightness and honor.

That into whatsoever house I shall enter, it shall be for the good of the sick to the utmost of my power, holding myself far aloof from wrong, from corruption, from the tempting of others to vice. That I will exercise my profession solely for the cure of my patients, and will give no drug, perform no operation for a criminal purpose, even if solicited; far less suggest it. That whatsoever I shall see or hear of the lives of all persons which is not fitting to be spoken, I will keep inviolably secret.

These things do I swear. While I continue to keep this Oath unviolated, may it be granted to me to enjoy life and the practice of the art, respected by all, in all times. But should I trespass and violate this Oath, may the reverse be my lot!

Class of 2027

Nathaniel L. Alvarez Rowlett, Texas

Andrea Margarita Argeñal *McAllen, Texas*

Roxanne R. Argosino *McAllen, Texas*

Aun Ali Bangash Brownsville, Texas

Natasha N. Bell San Diego, California

Ivan M. Benavides *Pharr*, *Texas*

Sonya A. Bhatia The Woodlands, Texas

Victor A. Bob-Yellowe Port-Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria

Paul J. Bonilla *McAllen*, *Texas*

Desiree J. Brewer *Tomball, Texas*

Antoinette Burrell Woodville, Texas

Erica N. Burrell-Walker Dallas, Texas

Hunter M. Butler Harlingen, Texas

Kimberlee A. Cano *Mission, Texas*

Fernando Cisneros Brownsville, Texas

Elena E. Dike Wylie, Texas

Sowmya S. Duddu *Olympia, Washington*

Victoria A. Elizondo Mission, Texas

Daniel R. Flores *Brownsville*, *Texas*

Astrid-Ines N. Foamkom Katy, Texas

Hiram Lee Garcia *Mission, Texas*

Kevin A. Garcia Valdez Fort Worth, Texas

Danielle Rey Garza McAllen, Texas

Maria Camila Gonzalez Tovar *McAllen*, *Texas*

Jennifer Z. Gordon *Edinburg, Texas*

Yolanda V. Gutierrez *Pharr, Texas*

Shaunte Hadnot Oceanside, California

> Chloe C. Harris Sherman, Texas

Justin Z. Heckman *McAllen*, *Texas*

Jared A. Hensley
Little River, South Carolina

Erik Hinojosa Roma, Texas

Jake Daniel Lanoue Edinburg, Texas

Samantha Lopez *Mission, Texas*

Meyer B. Maddox Dresden, Tennessee Maria Sophia Z. Malbas Edinburg, Texas

Blake C. Martin *Harlingen, Texas*

Smaran S. Marupudi *McAllen*, *Texas*

Allison J. McAdams Keller, Texas

Jacqueline A. Mendoza McAllen, Texas

Justin D. Mills *McAllen*, *Texas*

Anesu K. Murambadoro Overland Park, Kansas

Sira Hart Nakwaasah Korokoro, Rivers State, Nigeria

Michelle C. Nwaeri Lagos, Nigeria

Joshua Onyemaechi Nwose Mesquite, Texas

> Julia T. Paz Waco, Texas

Neharika Penmetcha Normal, Illinois

Kassandra M. Pulido *Clute, Texas*

Kory D. Punch Stratford, Texas

Miguel A. Quintanilla Brownsville, Texas

Alyssa Lysel Sepulveda McAllen, Texas

Ronald Antony Shaju *Edinburg, Texas*

Class of 2027

Chantal U. Uzoma Ypsilanti, Michigan

Russell W. Wiggins *Montgomery, Texas*

Naya L. Williams Lancaster, Texas Jihoo Woo Guangju, South Korea

Bethany M. Woolman *Pasadena, Texas*

Karina Y. Zamora Rio Grande City, Texas Model Zerfu Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

> Jorge Zuniga Mission, Texas



School of Medicine