Grants and Contracts

What We Do

The Office of Grants and Contracts collaborates closely with our stakeholders (Principal Investigator/Project Manager, Faculty, and University community, Sponsoring agencies, and other External entities) to ensure financial compliance with federal, state, and local regulations as well as university policies and procedures. We are responsible for management of expenditures, proper accounting and financial reporting of these externally sponsored program accounts. We are responsible for the cash management of these sponsored program accounts. In addition, we collaborate with the Office of Sponsored Programs and other University departments during audits and desk reviews of these sponsored program accounts. We assign a grant accountant to the award/project to review, monitor, and approve transactions related to the grant as part of the day to day operations.

Contact Us

Suelema Gonzalez
Director, Grants and Contracts
BVAQP-A 1.119
BRN Phone: 956-882-7716
EDN Phone: 956-665-2939
Email: suelema.gonzalez@utrgv.edu

Gisela Garza
Financial Manager
ELIBR 1.120
Phone: 956-665-5358
gisela.garza@utrgv.edu

Yazmin Sanchez
Sr Sponsored Program Accountant
ELIBR 1.120
Phone: 956-665-2004
Email: yazmin.sanchez@utrgv.edu

Yaneth Vaca
Sponsored Program Accountant
ELIBR 1.120
Phone: 956-665-3035
Email: yaneth.vaca01@utrgv.edu

Nelly Gomez
Accountant IV
BVAQP-A 1.118
Phone: 956-882-7024
Email: nelly.gomez@utrgv.edu

Rocio Arcia
Sponsored Program Accountant
BVAQP-A 1.122
Phone: 956-882-7278
Email: rocio.arcia@utrgv.edu

Abigail Soto
Sponsored Program Accountant
BVAQP-A 1.117
Phone: 956-882-8241
Email: abigail.soto@utrgv.edu

Patricia Stelling
Accounting Technician
BVAQP-A
Phone: 956-882-6593
Email: patricia.stelling@utrgv.edu

Locations:

UTRGV at Edinburg
University Library 1.120
1201 West University Dr.
Edinburg, Texas 78539-2909
Phone: 956-665-2889

UTRGV at Brownsville
Vaquero Plaza ( A ) 1.113
One West University Drive
Brownsville, TX 78520
Phone: 956-882-7676

Email: grantsandcontracts@utrgv.edu