

# School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences 2023-2024 Committees

Graduate Coordinators Alexey Garber (MS, Math)	<b>Undergraduate Advisor</b> Eleftherios Gkioulekas, (BS, Math)	<b>Class Scheduler</b> Jasang Yoon
George Yanev (MS, ASDS)	Santanu Chakraborty, Hansapani Rodrigo, Kristina Vatcheva (BS, Statistics)	
Sergey Grigorian (PhD, MSIA)		

# **Personnel Committees**

**Tenure & Promotion Committee** (all tenured faculty) Chair: Baofeng Feng

**Full Professor Promotion Committee** (all Professors from Tenure & Promotion Committee) Chair: Karen Yagdjian

# Post Tenure Review Committee (elected)

Eleftherios Gkioulekas (Chair), Andras Balogh, Dambaru Bhatta, Paul Bracken, Oleg Musin

#### Lecturer Promotion Review Committee (elected)

David Tsay (Chair), Eun Yoon Ann, Paul Bracken, Edgar De La Cruz, Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Shaghayegh Setayesh

#### Annual Evaluation Committee for T/TT (elected)

Alexey Glazyrin (Chair), Santanu Chakraborty, Anahit Galstyan, Bingyuan Liu, Elena Poletaeva, John Villavert

#### Annual Evaluation Committee for Lecturers (elected)

Edgar De La Cruz (Chair), Hyung Kim, Salma Mahmood, Luis Sanchez, Kristina Vatcheva

#### Assessment

#### **Administrative Assessment & Program Assessment**

Alexey Glazyrin (chair), Santanu Chakraborty, Zhaosheng Feng, Alexey Garber, Sergey Grigorian, Timothy Huber, Hansapani Rodrigo, Jenq-Jong Tsay, Kristina Vatcheva, Vesselin Vatchev, Cristina Villalobos, George Yanev

# **Curriculum Committees:**

# **Graduate Curriculum Committee**

Executive Committee: Sergey Grigorian (Co-Chair), Alexey Garber (Co-Chair), Baofeng Feng, Santanu Chakraborty (Stats advisor), Anahit Galstyan (Applied Math advisor), Brandt Kronholm (Math Advisor), Erwin Suazo, Dambaru Bhatta, Aaron Wilson (Math Teaching Advisor), Jenq-Jong Tsay, Kristina Vatcheva, George Yanev

# **Ph.D. Program Committee:**

Sergey Grigorian (Chair), Dambaru Bhatta, Zhaosheng Feng, Timothy Huber, Zhijun Qiao, Tamer Oraby, Vesselin Vatchev, Kristina Vatcheva

# **Undergraduate Curriculum Committee**

Executive Committee: Santanu Chakraborty (Chair for Fall 23), John Villavert (Chair for Spring 24), Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Hyung Kim, Brandt Kronholm, Oleg Musin, Tamer Oraby, Josef Sifuentes, Sophie Wang, Aaron Wilson, Wilson Zuniga

# Subcommittee for Core Assessment Comprehensive Exam:

Andras Balogh (Chair), Edgar De La Cruz, Alexey Glazyrin, Timothy Huber, Jose Ponce

# Subcommittee for Assessment of Core Math Courses

Shaga Setayesh (Co-Chair), Tatiyana Altecor (Co-Chair), and Jose Ponce (Co-Chair) and all faculty teaching core mathematics courses

# **Coordination Subcommittees:**

# **College Algebra Coordination**

Madhavi Devanaboina (Chair), Tatiyana Altecor, Eun Yoon Ann, Salma Mahmood, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Liliana Zamfir

# **Co-Requisite and Jumpstart College Algebra**

Liliana Zamfir (Chair), Madhavi Devanaboina, Luis Sanchez

# **Elementary Statistics**

Shuxia Li (Co-Chair), Jose Ponce (Co-Chair), Santanu Chakraborty, Edgar De La Cruz, Madhavi Devanaboina, Sidketa Fofana, Luis Sanchez

# **Co-Requisite and Jumpstart Elementary Statistics**

Nam Nguyen (Co-Chair), Eun Ann Yoon (Co-Chair), Madhavi Devanaboina, Sidketa Fofana

# Math for Business & Social Sciences

Luis Sanchez (Chair), Tatiyana Altecor, Edgar De La Cruz, Madhavi Devanaboina, Shuxia Li

#### **Introduction to Biostatistics**

Kristina Vatcheva (Chair), Lakshmi Roychowdhury, Luis Sanchez

#### **Contemporary Mathematics:**

Edgar De La Cruz (Co-Chair), Tatiyana Altecor, Guillermo Garza, Mayra Huerta, Jose Ponce, Luis Sanchez, Liliana Zamfir

Calculus Sequence: (Co-Chairs: Shaghayegh Setayesh, Guillermo Garza, Michael Lindstrom)

*Pre-Calculus Subcommittee:* Shuxia Li, Salma Mahmood, Nam Nguyen, Shaghayegh Setayesh, Eun Ann Yoon, Liliana Zamfir

*Calculus 1 Subcommittee:* Andras Balogh, Baofeng Feng, Guillermo Garza, Elena Poletaeva, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Shaghayegh Setayesh, Erwin Suazo, Cristina Villalobos, John Villavert

*Calculus 11 Subcommittee:* Paul Bracken, Alexey Glazyrin, Roger Knobel, Brandt Kronholm, Michael Lindstrom, Bingyuan Liu, Zhijun Qiao

Calculus III Subcommittee: Anahit Galstyan, Alexey Garber, Vesselin Vatchev

# Colloquia, Seminars, & Workshop Committees

**Colloquium & Distinguished Lecture Series Committee:** Alexey Glazyrin (Chair), Baofeng Feng, Sergey Grigorian, Tamer Oraby, Elena Poletaeva, Erwin Suazo, John Villavert

# **GRDS -SPIE Chapter Seminar**

Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair), Vesselin Vatchev (Co-Chair), Yong Zhou (Co-Chair, EE) Thursday, 2:00-4:00. Campus Location TBA and Zoom

Texas Combinatorics and Number Theory Seminar. Brandt Kronholm (Chair) and Tim Huber Tuesdays, 12:30-1:30. EMAGC 1.402 and Zoom

# SMSS Mathematics Education Research Seminar. Kaitlyn Serbin (Chair) Thursdays, 11am-12pm.

**Statistics Seminar** Tamer Oraby (Co-Chair), Hansapani Rodrigo (Co-Chair)

# **Math-Biology Seminar**

Zhaosheng Feng (Chair), Michael Lindstrom, Erwin Suazo

# **Integrable System and Nonlinear Mechanics Seminar**

(bi-Weekly co-organized with TAMUCC): Dambaru Bhatta (Co-Chair), Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair)

## **Brownsville Seminar**

Alexey Glazyrin (Chair), Alexey Garber, Jerzy Mogilski, Oleg Musin, Vesselin Vatchev, Wilson Zuniga-Galindo. Friday, 1:30-2:30. BLHSB 1.316 and Zoom.

# **Other Committees**

# **Recruitment and Outreach committee**

Aaron Wilson (Chair), Paul Bracken, Luigi Ferraro, Luis Fernandez, Alexey Garber, Hyung Kim, Brandt Kronholm, Debanjana Kundu, Michael Lindstrom, Zhuanzhuan Ma, Oleg Musin, Jose Ponce, Bima Sapkota, Kaitlyn Serbin, Josef Sifuentes, Kristina Vatcheva

# **Scholarship Committee**

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Luigi Ferraro, Guillermo Garza, Brandt Kronholm, Debanjana Kundu, Shuxia Li, Bingyuan Liu

## **Placement Exam Committee**

Nam Nguyen (Co-Chair), Luis Sanchez (Co-Chair), Tatiyana Altecor, Eun Yoon Ann, Madhavi Devanaboina, Shuxia Li

# **SMSS OYA and Adjunct Mentoring Committee**

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Younggon Bae, Madhavi Devanaboina, Guillermo Garza, Shuxia Li, Nam Nguyen, Mayra Ortiz Galarza, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Bima Sapkota, Shaga Setayesh, Liliana Zamfir

#### **Statistics Committee**

George Yanev (Chair), Santanu Chakraborty, Sidketa Fofana, Hyung Kim, Mike Lindstrom, Tamer Oraby, Hansapani Rodrigo, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Kristina Vatcheva, Xiaohui Wang

# Math Education Committee

Jenq-Jong Tsay (Chair), Tenchita Alazaga Elizondo, Younggon Bae, Luis Fernandez, Hyung Kim, Mayra Ortiz-Galarza, Bima Sapkota, Kaitlyn Serbin, Aaron Wilson

# **Social Committee**

Mike Lindstrom (Chair), Joseph Alanis, Andrew Alaniz, Zhuanzhuan Ma, Bima Sapkota, Andrew Sebok, Liliana Zamfir

# **Library Liaison**

Paul Bracken

# **Faculty Advisors for Student Organizations**

**Faculty Advisor for the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM)** Michael Lindstrom

**Faculty Advisor for the SIAM student Chapter** Baofeng Feng

**Faculty Advisor for the SPIE student Chapter** Zhijun Qiao

**Faculty Advisor for the AMS graduate student Chapter** Andras Balogh

Faculty Advisor for Out in STEM (oSTEM) student chapter Luis Fernández

**Faculty Advisor for the Student Chapter of the ASA** Zhuanzhuan Ma

University & College Committees (not a comprehensive list, added at request of faculty)

SMSS Faculty Senators: Salma Mahmood, Tamer Oraby, Aaron Wilson

University Tenure and Promotion Committee: Anahit Galstyan

University Undergraduate Committee: Tatiyana Altecor

College Tenure and Promotion Committee: Eleftherios Gkioulekas