## **Faculty Senate Resolution on Shared Governance**

WHEREAS the Faculty Senate of The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) is the "standing elected faculty governance organization recognized as the voice of the faculty";

WHEREAS the Faculty Senate strongly endorses The University of Texas System Philosophy of Shared Governance in its entirety, including "while recognizing it is the President who is accountable for the all the institution does or fails to do, an appropriate level of shared responsibility and accountability in decision making exists along with a bias for action and follow-up on all institutional decisions";

WHEREAS UTRGV's inaugural Strategic Plan has Shared Governance as a key <u>institutional</u> <u>value</u>;

WHEREAS The University of Texas System Regent's Rules and Regulations 40101 (Faculty Role in Educational Policy Formulation) states "the faculties of the institutions regularly offering instruction shall have a major role in the governance of their respective institutions...";

WHEREAS <u>Standard 10.4</u> (Academic Governance) of the 2018 *Principles of Accreditation: Foundation for Quality Enhancement* of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges states that: "The institution...publishes and implements policies on the authority of faculty in academic and governance matters...";

WHEREAS UTRGV has yet to publish ADM 06-101 (Shared Governance) on the University's <u>Handbook of Operating Procedures</u> (HOP) website as of December 11, 2018;

WHEREAS the Faculty Senate is alarmed with what it perceives to be the lack of adherence by senior leadership to the principles of shared governance when making significant changes to the institution's organizational scope and structure, including the:

- unexpected elimination of the position of Provost/Executive Vice President (EVP) for Academic Affairs;
- unexpected creation of three EVP positions in Spring 2018 during a hiring freeze for essential instructional and support staff that threatens the delivery of instructional services to our students and the research enterprise;
- possibility of overlapping duties among these three EVPs, which may place faculty
  members in untenable positions of being evaluated under different sets of criteria for
  tenure, promotion, annual evaluation, and post-tenure review;
- unexpected creation of other senior-level administrative positions such as the Deputy President, the Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, and the Senior Associate Vice President for Operations, among others;
- unexpected structural changes to numerous offices, such as the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs & Diversity that subsequently became the Office of the

Senior Associate Vice President of Faculty Success & Diversity, as well as the Office of the Vice President for Student Success that subsequently became the Senior Associate Vice President for Student Success; and

 elimination of academic faculty from key leadership positions and the installment of non-academic personnel in key administrative positions, such as the Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Senior Associate Vice President for Student Success, among others; and

WHEREAS the Faculty Senate is troubled that senior leadership has recruited and hired key members of the senior administration in Academic Affairs without any input from the Faculty Senate, such as the Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Senior Associate Vice President for Student Success:

THEREFORE, be it resolved that the Faculty Senate of The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley respectfully requests that The University of Texas System Administration, the Texas State Auditor's Office, and the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission provide appropriate oversight of UTRGV senior leadership to ensure compliance with applicable policies, procedures, and regulations of the institution, system, accreditation bodies, and state and federal agencies.

Approved by senate majority vote on December 21, 2018.

Volker Quetschke

Faculty Senate President 2018-2019