The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

2016-2017 Faculty Senate Edinburg Campus, Ballroom Friday, March 31, 2017 Meeting 2:00 pm-4:30 pm Agenda

- I. Welcome/Introductions/Overview Bobbette M. Morgan, Faculty Senate President
- II. Guests: Rick Anderson, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration, Deputy Provost Cynthia Brown, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs & Diversity Ala Qubbaj, and Isai Ramirez, Assoc CIO Business Relations

III. Reports:

A. Blue Ribbon Committee

Members: Bobbette M. Morgan, Dora Saavedra, Marie Mora, Ala Qubbaj, Dean McHatton, Dean Block, Dean Diaz, Dean Grewal

B. Policy Updates:

- 1. ADM 06-403 Endowed Appointments and Reappointments (ready for vote)
- 2. ADM 07-500 Research Centers and Institutes (ready for vote)
- 3. ADM 06-505 Tenure and Promotion (status: in progress, approximately 50% done, projected vote in May)
- 4. ADM 06-111 Grievance (ready for vote)
- 5. ADM 02-201 Academic Committees and Councils (ready for vote)
- C. Status of ADM 06-101: The Faculty Role in Shared Governance, posted on website

IV. Old Business (Action Items)

- A. Minutes, Michelle Alvarado, Faculty Senate Secretary
- **B.** White Paper (Processes), Dora Saavedra, Faculty Senate President-Elect
- **C.** Vote on policies

V. New Business

- **A.** Evaluation of Administrators and Chairs
- **B.** Elections within Departments Election of to fill spaces of those rotating off need to be completed in March and April so new Senators attend the May 5th meeting and participate in the election of officers for 2017-2018.
- C. Resolution on Chair Selection, Volker Quetschke, UTRGV Parliamentarian
- **D.** Equity Report Request

VI. Meetings

- **A. Faculty Senate Executive Committee Meetings**: Edinburg Faculty Senate Offices, Library, Friday, April 21, 2017 at 2:00-4:30 pm.
- **B. Faculty Senate Meetings**: Friday, May 5, 2017 from 2:00 pm 4:30 pm in Harlingen HCEBL 1.00

VII. Other/Announcements

VIII. Closure and Processing