Additional Winners of the 2016 UTRGV Faculty Excellence Awards

Also honored at the UTRGV Faculty Excellence Awards ceremony May 5 for their accomplishments during the 2015-16 academic year were seven winners of The University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards, eight faculty winners of national external awards, nine faculty who had books published and 13 faculty who received grants of $1 million or more.

UT System Regents 2015 Outstanding Teaching Award winners were:

  • Colin Charlton, associate professor, English (tenured).
  • José J. Gutiérrez-Gonzalez, associate professor, Chemistry (tenured).
  • Horacio Vasquez, associate professor, Mechanical Engineering (tenured).
  • Daniel Hunter-Holly, associate professor, Music – voice, (tenured).
  • Christine Reilly, assistant professor, Computer Science (tenure-track).
  • Emmett Tomai, assistant professor, Computer Science (tenure-track).
  • Jorge Vidal, lecturer I, Economics and Finance (contingent).

Faculty recipients of national external awards were:

  • Stephanie Alvarez, Ph.D., Carnegie-CASE U.S. Professor of the Year Award.
  • Guadalupe Correa-Cabrera, Ph.D., Woodrow Wilson Residential Fellowship for 2016-17.
  • Karen Lozano, Ph.D., 2015 HENAAC Great Minds in STEM Engineer of the Year Award.
  • Irmo Marini, Ph.D., International Association of Life Care Planners – Patricia McCollom Distinguished Career Award in Life Care Planning Research, 2015.
  • Marie T. Mora, Ph.D., 2016 American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education's Outstanding Support of Hispanic Issues in Higher Education Award.
  • Bruce Reed, Ph.D., 2016 Educator of the Year Award, National Council on Rehabilitation Education.
  • Havidán Rodríguez, Ph.D., 2016 American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity Cesar Estrada Chavez Award.
  • Cristina Villalobos, Ph.D., 2016 American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education Outstanding Latino/a Faculty in Higher Education Service/Teaching Award.

Book authors included the following:

  • Megan Birk, “Fostering on the Farm: Child Placement in the Rural Midwest.”
  • Brent Campney, “This is not Dixie: Racist Violence in Kansas, 1861-1927.”
  • Francisco Guajardo, “Reframing Community Partnerships in Education: Uniting the Power of Place and Wisdom of People.”
  • Servando Hinojosa, “In this Body: Kaqchikel Maya and the Grounding of Spirit.”
  • Robert Hoppens, “The China Problem in Postwar Japan: Japanese National Identity and Sino-Japanese Relations.”
  • Robert Moreira, “Scores” (winner of the 2016 NACCS Tejas Fiction Award).
  • Steven Schneider, “The Magic of Mariachi/La Magia del Mariachi.
  • Jose Martinez, “Amado Nervo y las lectoras del Modernismo.
  • Lorenzo Pace, “Frederick Douglass and the North Star,” “Marching with Martin” and Harriet Tubman and my Grandmother’s Quilts.”

Faculty receiving grants of $1 million or more:

  • Robert Gilkerson, STEP 2 USDA Research Success, National Institute of Food and Agriculture/USDA.
  • Maria Diaz, Nurse Education, Practice, Quality, and Retention-Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services/HRSA.
  • Laura Almasy, Genetic Analysis of Common Diseases: An Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services/HRSA.
  • Yuanbing Mao, USDA HIS Collaboration: Integrating Food Science/Engineering and Education Network (IFSEEN), U.S. Department of Agriculture.
  • Karen Lozano, UTRGV-UMN Partnership for Fostering Innovation by Bridging Excellence in Research and Student Success, National Science Foundation.
  • Hilda Medrano, EHS-CC Partnership-The University of Texas-Pan American, PSJA ISD, Child Care Centers, Department of Health and Human Services/Administration for Children and Families.
  • Mary Curtis, Border SPICES (Special Intervention in Childcare and Education Services), U.S. Department of Education.
  • Bruce Reed, Rehabilitation Long-Term Training, U.S. Department of Education.
  • Eron Manusov, UTRGV SOM “Triply” Diagnosed Program for Health and Development of Healthy Children and Adolescents, Methodist Healthcare Ministries of South Texas, Inc.
  • Srinivas Mummidi, Impact of Disease Associate Noncoding Polymorphisms on Post-Transcriptional Gene Regulation, National Institutes of Health.
  • Francisco Fernandez, Colonia Integrated Care Program: VIDAS, United Health Foundation.
  • John Blangero, Whole Genome Sequencing to Identify Casual Genetic Variants Influencing CVD Risk, U.S. Department of DHHS/NIH.
  • Matthew Johnson, Genetic Epidemiology of Ocular Health and Disease, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.