

School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences 2021-2022 Committees

Graduate Coordinators Sergey Grigorian (MS, Math) Undergraduate Advisor Eleftherios Gkioulekas, (BS, Math)

Tamer Oraby,

(BS, Statistics)

Class Scheduler
Jasang Yoon

George Yanev (MS, ASDS)

(MS, ASDS)

Zhijun Qiao (PhD, MSIA)

Personnel Committees

Tenure & Promotion Committee (all tenured faculty)

Chair: David Tsay

Full Professor Promotion Committee (all Professors from Tenure & Promotion Committee)

Chair: Zhaosheng Feng

Post Tenure Review Committee (elected)

Eleftherios Gkioulekas (Chair), Mrinal Roychowdhury, Karen Yagdjian, Elena Poletaeva, Ben Onofa

Lecturer Promotion Review Committee (elected)

Nam Nguyen (Chair), Alexey Garber, Shuxia Li, Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Eun Ann Yoon

Annual Evaluation Committee for T/TT (elected)

Jerzy Mogilski (Chair), Tamer Oraby, David Tsay, Hansapani Rodrigo, Andras Balogh, Aaron Wilson

Annual Evaluation Committee for Lecturers (elected)

Jose Ponce (Chair), Madhavi Devanaboina, Nam Nguyen, Baofeng Feng, Vesselin Vatchev, Lekshmi Sasidharan

Assessment

Administrative Assessment & Program Assessment

Alexey Glazyrin (Chair), Jenq-Jong Tsay, Zhijun Qiao, Tim Huber, Vesselin Vatchev, Cristina Villalobos, Zhaosheng Feng, Sergey Grigorian, George Yanev

Curriculum Committees:

Graduate Curriculum Committee

Executive Committee: Sergey Grigorian (Co-Chair), Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair), Baofeng Feng, George Yanev (Stats advisor), Anahit Galstyan (Applied Math advisor), Alexey Garber (Math Advisor), Erwin Suazo, Dambaru Bhatta, Aaron Wilson (Math Teaching Advisor), Kristina Vatcheva, Jenq-Jong Tsay

Ph.D. Admissions and Advising Subcommittee (Summer 2021 to March 2022)

Zhijun Qiao (Chair), Sergey Grigorian, Vesselin Vatchev, Zhaosheng Feng, Dambaru Bhatta, Kristina Vatcheva

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Executive Committee: Jerzy Mogilski (Chair), Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Brandt Kronholm, Oleg Musin, Josef Sifuentes, Aaron Wilson, Sophie Wang, Tamer Oraby, Hyung Kim

Subcommittee for Core Assessment Comprehensive Exam:

Andras Balogh (Chair), Timothy Huber, Jose Ponce, Alexey Glazyrin, Edgar De La Cruz, William Heller, Jacob White, , Paul-Hermann Zieschang

Subcommittee for Assessment of Core Math Courses

Shaga Setayesh (Co-Chair), Tatiyana Altecor (Co-Chair), and Jose Ponce (Co-Chair) and all faculty teaching core mathematics courses

Coordination Subcommittees:

College Algebra Coordination

Madhavi Devanaboina (Chair), Lekshmi Sassidhran (Co-Chair), Liliana Zamfir, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Salma Mahmood, Zaena Zamora, John Bernard, Eun Ann Yoon, Tatiyana Altecor

Co-Requisite and Jumpstart College Algebra

Liliana Zamfir (Chair), Madhavi Devanaboina, Luis Sanchez

Elementary Statistics

Shuxia Li (Co-Chair), Jose Ponce (Co-Chair), Sidketa Fofana, Ben Onofa, Edgar De La Cruz, Luis Sanchez, Madhavi Devanaboina, Santanu Chakraborty

Co-Requisite and Jumpstart Elementary Statistics

Nam Nguyen (Co-Chair), Eun Ann Yoon (Co-Chair), Sidketa Fofana, Madhavi Devanaboina

Math for Business & Social Sciences

Luis Sanchez (Chair), Edgar De La Cruz, Tatiyana Altecor, Madhavi Devanaboina, Shuxia Li

Introduction to Biostatistics

Kristina Vatcheva (Chair), Luis Sanchez, Lakshmi Roychowdhury

Contemporary Mathematics:

Edgar De La Cruz (Co-Chair), Liliana Zamfir, Jose Ponce, Luis Sanchez, Mayra Huerta, Tatiyana Altecor, Guillermo Garza

Calculus Sequence: (Co-Chairs: Shaghayegh Setayesh, Guillermo Garza, Roger Knobel)

Pre-Calculus Subcommittee: Shaghayegh Setayesh, Salma Mahmood, Liliana Zamfir, Paul-Hermann Zieschang, Nam Nguyen, Shuxia Li, Eun Ann Yoon

Calculus 1 Subcommittee: Guillermo Garza, Baofeng Feng, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Andras Balogh, Cristina Villalobos, Erwin Suazo, Elena Poletaeva, John Villavert, Shaghayegh Setayesh

Calculus 11 Subcommittee: Roger Knobel, Rajendra Rai, Paul Bracken, Alexey Glazyrin, Brandt Kronholm

Calculus III Subcommittee: Anahit Galstyan, Alexey Garber, William Heller, Vesselin Vatchev

Colloquia, Seminars, & Workshop Committees

Colloquium & Distinguished Lecture Series Committee: Alexey Glazyrin (Chair), Baofeng Feng, Elena Poletaeva, Erwin Suazo, John Villavert, Sergey Grigorian

PGRA/DGRA/GTA/GA Research Seminar

Vesselin Vatchev (Co-Chair), Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair) Friday, 1:30-3:00. Campus Location TBA and Zoom

SPIE Chapter Seminar

Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair), Yong Zhou (Co-Chair, EE) Friday, 3:30-4:30. Campus Location TBA and Zoom

Texas Combinatorics and Number Theory Seminar.

Brandt Kronholm (Chair) and Tim Huber

Tuesdays, 12:30-1:30. EMAGC 1.402 and Zoom.

Other Committees

Recruitment and Outreach committee

Aaron Wilson (Chair), Paul Bracken, John Villavert, Josef Sifuentes, Lekshmi Sasidharan, Brandt Kronholm, Kristina Vatcheva, Hyung Kim, Jose Ponce, Alexey Garber, Oleg Musin, Luis Fernandez, Kaitlyn Serbin

Scholarship Committee

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Rajendra Rai, Guillermo Garza, Brandt Kronholm, Ben Ebaseh-Onofa, Bill Heller, Alexey Glazyrin, Bingyuan Liu, Shuxia Li

Placement Exam Committee

Nam Nguyen (Co-Chair), Luis Sanchez (Co-Chair), Shuxia Li, Eunmee Ann, Rajendra Rai, Eun Ann Yoon, Lekshmi Sasidharan, Madhavi Devanaboina, Tatiyana Altecor

SMSS OYA and Adjunct Mentoring Committee

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Liliana Zamfir, Guillermo Garza, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Mayra Ortiz Galarza, Younggon Bae, Shuxia Li, Shaga Setayesh, Madhavi Devanaboina, Nam Nguyen

Statistics Committee

George Yanev (Chair), Kristina Vatcheva, Santanu Chakraborty, Hyung Kim, Ben Onofa, Tamer Oraby, Hansapani Rodrigo, Xiaohui Wang, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Cuiyu He, Lekshmi Sasidharan

Math Education Committee

Jenq-Jong Tsay (Chair), Hyung Kim, John Bernard, Olga Ramirez, Aaron Wilson, Mayra Ortiz-Galarza, Younggon Bae, Kaitlyn Serbin, Luis Fernendez

Library Liason

Paul Bracken

Faculty Advisors for Student Organizations

Faculty Advisor for the SIAM student Chapter

Baofeng Feng

Faculty Advisor for SACNAS student chapter

Cristina Villalobos, Mirayda Torres-Avila (Biology)

Faculty Advisor for the SPIE student Chapter

Zhijun Qiao

Faculty Advisor for the AMS graduate student Chapter

Andras Balogh

University & College Committees (not a comprehensive list, added at request of faculty)

SMSS Faculty Senators: Salma Mahmood, Sergey Grigorian, Aaron Wilson

University Tenure and Promotion Committee: Anahit Galstyan

College Tenure and Promotion Committee: Eleftherios Gkioulekas