

School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences 2020-2021 Committees

Graduate
Coordinators
Zhijun Oiao

Undergraduate Advisor Eleftherios Gkioulekas

Class Scheduler
Jasang Yoon

Zhijun Qiao Sergey Grigorian (MS, Math)

George Yanev (MS, ASDS)

Personnel Committees

Tenure & Promotion Committee (all tenured faculty)

Chair: Andras Balogh

Full Professor Promotion Committee (all Professors from Tenure & Promotion Committee)

Chair: Dambaru Bhatta

Post Tenure Review Committee (elected)

Jerzy Mogilski (Chair), Baofeng Feng, Paul Bracken, Bill Heller, Ben Onofa

Lecturer Promotion Review Committee (elected)

Alexey Garber (Chair), Shuxia Li, Salama Mahmood, Shaghayegh Setayesh, Eleftherios Gkioulekas

Annual Evaluation Committee for T/TT (elected)

Sergey Grigorian (Chair), Dambaru Bhatta, Jerzy Mogilski, Tamer Oraby, David Tsay, Hansapani Rodrigo

Annual Evaluation Committee for Lecturers (elected)

Edgar De La Cruz (Chair), Santanu Chakraborty, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Madhavi Devanaboina, Nam Nguyen, Jose Ponce

Assessment

Administrative Assessment & Program Assessment

Alexey Glazyrin (Chair), Jenq-Jong Tsay, Zhijun Qiao, Tim Huber, Vesselin Vatchev, Cristina Villalobos, Zhaosheng Feng, George Yanev

Assessment of Core Math Courses

Shaga Setayesh (Co-Chair), Tatiyana Altecor (Co-Chair) and all faculty teaching core mathematics courses

Curriculum Committees:

Graduate Curriculum Committee

Sergey Grigorian (Co-Chair), Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair), Mikhail Bouniaev, George Yanev (Stats advisor), Anahit Galstyan (Applied Math advisor), Alexey Garber (Math Advisor), Erwin Suazo, Dambaru Bhatta, Aaron Wilson (Math Teaching Advisor), Kristina Vatcheva, Jenq-Jong Tsay

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Jerzy Mogilski (Chair), Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Brandt Kronholm, Oleg Musin, Josef Sifuentes, Aaron Wilson, Sophie Wang, Tamer Oraby, Hyung Kim

Statistics Committee

George Yanev (Chair), Kristina Vatcheva, Santanu Chakraborty, Hyung Kim, Ben Onofa, Tamer Oraby, Hansapani Rodrigo, Xiaohui Wang

Math Ed Committee

Jenq-Jong Tsay, Hyung Kim, John Bernard, Olga Ramirez, Aaron Wilson, Mayra Ortiz-Galarza, Younggon Bae, Monty Taylor

Course Coordination and Improvement Committees:

College Algebra

Madhavi Devanaboina (Chair), Lekshmi Sassidhran (Co-Chair), Liliana Zamfir, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Salma Mahmood, Zaena Zamora, John Bernard, Eun Ann Yoon, Tatiyana Altecor

Co-Requisite and Jumpstart College Algebra

Zaena Zamora (Chair), Madhavi Devanaboina

Elementary Statistics

Shuxia Li (Co-Chair), Jose Ponce (Co-Chair), Sidketa Fofana, Ben Onofa, Edgar De La Cruz, George Yanev, Luis Sanchez, Madhavi Devanaboina

Co-Requisite and Jumpstart Elementary Statistics

Nam Nguyen (Co-Chair), Eun Ann Yoon (Co-Chair), Sidketa Fofana, Madhavi Devanaboina

Math for Business & Social Sciences

Luis Sanchez (Chair), Edgar De La Cruz, Tatiyana Altecor, Madhavi Devanaboina

Introduction to Biostatistics

Kristina Vatcheva (Chair), George Yanev, Santanu Chakraborty

Contemporary Mathematics Committee

Liliana Zamfir (Co-Chair), Edgar De La Cruz (Co-Chair), Jose Ponce, Luis Sanchez, Mayra Huerta, Tatiyana Altecor, Guillermo Garza

Pre-Calculus Committee

Shaghayegh Setayesh (Chair), Salma Mahmood, Liliana Zamfir, Paul-Hermann Zieschang, Nam Nguyen, Shuxia Li, Eun Ann Yoon

Calculus I Committee

Guillermo Garza (Chair), Baofeng Feng, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Andras Balogh, Cristina Villalobos, Erwin Suazo, Elena Poletaeva, John Villavert, Shaghayegh Setayesh

Calculus II

Anahit Galstyan (Co-Chair), Rajendra Rai (Co-Chair), William Heller, Roger Knobel, Paul Bracken, Mikhail Bouniaev

Colloquia, Seminars, & Workshop Committees

Applied Mathematics Seminar Committee

Zhaosheng Feng (Chair)

Colloquium & Distinguished Lecture Series Committee

Baofeng Feng (co-Chair), Elena Poletaeva (co-chair), Alexey Glazyin, Erwin Suazo, John Villavert, Sergey Grigorian

Functional Analysis Seminar

Jasang Yoon (Chair)

Informal Seminar in Number Theory

Brandt Kronholm (Chair), Tim Huber

Integrable Systems and Nonlinear Mechanics Seminar

Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair), Dambaru Bhatta (Co-Chair)

PGRA/DGRA/GTA/GA Research Seminar

Vesselin Vatchev (Co-Chair), Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair)

SPIE Chapter Seminar

Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair), Yong Zhou (Co-Chair, EE)

Math Education and Teaching Workshop Committee

Jenq-Jong Tsay (Chair), Hyung Kim, Jasang Yoon, Jose Torres, Shaghayegh Setayesh, Zaena Zamora, Enmee YoonAnn

Mathematical Physics Seminar Committee

Karen Yagdjian (Chair)

Nonlinear Analysis and Simulation Seminar

Zhaosheng Feng (Chair), Bingyuan Liu

Nonlinear Wave Equations Committee

Karen Yagdjian (Chair), Anahit Galstyan, John Villavert

Pure Mathematics Seminar Committee

Sergey Grigorian (Co-Chair), Alexey Garber (Co-Chair)

SMSS Undergraduate and Graduate Research Workshop Committee

Jasang Yoon (Chair), Zhaosheng Feng, Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Sergey Grigorian, Shaga Setayesh, Jose Ponce

Statistics Seminar Committee

Tamer Oraby (Chair), Hansapani Rodrigo

Discrete Geometry and Algebraic Combinatorics Conference Committee

Alexey Garber (Chair), Alexey Glazyrin, Mikhail Bouniaev, Jerzy Mogilski, Oleg Musin

Other Committees

Recruitment and Outreach committee

Zaena Zamora (Chair), Aaron Wilson, Paul Bracken, John Villavert, Josef Sifuentes, Lekshmi Sasidharan, Brandt Kronholm, Kristina Vatcheva, Oleg Musin, Hyung Kim, Jose Ponce

Ph.D. Planning Committee

Zhijun Qiao (Chair), Sergey Grigorian, Tim Huber, Zhaosheng Feng, George Yanev, Anahit Galstyan, Alexey Garber, Oleg Musin, Vesselin Vatchev

Scholarship Committee

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Rajendra Rai, Guillermo Garza, Brandt Kronholm, Ben Ebaseh-Onofa, Bill Heller, Alexey Glazyrin, Bingyuan Liu

Committee for Mentoring of Online Teaching

Liliana Zamfir (Chair), Luis Sanchez, Shaghayegh Setayesh, Edgar De La Cruz, Jerzy Mogilski, Eun Ann Yoon, Jasang Yoon, Tatiyana Altecor

Placement Exam Committee

Nam Nguyen (Co-Chair), Luis Sanchez (Co-Chair), Shuxia Li, Eunmee Ann, Rajendra Rai, Eun Ann Yoon, Lekshmi Sasidharan, Madhavi Devanaboina

Mathlab and GTA Supervisor Committee

Jasang Yoon (Chair), Nam Nguyen, EunMee Yoon, Younggon Bae, Mayra Ortiz-Galarza, Shuxia Lia, Madhavi Devanaboina

Comprehensive Exam Committee for Core Assessment

Andras Balogh (Chair), Timothy Huber, Jose Ponce, Alexey Glazyrin, Edgar De La Cruz, William Heller, Jacob White, Salma Mahmood, Paul-Hermann Zieschang, Madhavi Devanaboina

SMSS OYA and Adjunct Mentoring Committee

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Zaena Zamora, Liliana Zamfir, Guillermo Garza, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Mayra Ortiz Galarza, Younggon Bae, Shuxia Li, Shaga Setayesh, Madhavi Devanaboina, Nam Nguyen

SMSS Educational Data Steering Committee (involved in collecting & interpreting data to build and improve initiatives for student success):

Kristina Vatcheva, David Tsay, Tim Huber, Vesselin Vatchev, Cristina Villalobos

Ad Hoc Statistics Faculty Recruitment Committee

Santanu Chakraborty (Chair), Ben Onofa, Tamer Oraby, Hansapani Rodrigo, Kristina Vatcheva, Sophie Wang, George Yanev

Faculty Advisors for Student Organizations

Faculty Advisor for the SIAM student Chapter Baofeng Feng

Faculty Advisor for SACNAS student chapter Baofeng Feng

Faculty Advisor for the SPIE student Chapter Zhijun Qiao

University & College Committees (not a comprehensive list, added at request of faculty)

Library Liaison: Paul Bracken (Chair)

COS Tenure and Promotion Committee: Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Erwin Suazo, Sophie Wang

SMSS Faculty Senators: Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Salma Mahmood, Sergey Grigorian

University Graduate Committee: George Yanev

University Tenure and Promotion Committee: Anahit Galstyan

External Awards Committee: Karen Yagdjian

COS Research Advisory Committee: Sergey Grigorian