

School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences 2019-2020 Committees

GraduateUndergraduateClass SchedulerAdvisorAdvisorJasang YoonZhijun QiaoEleftherios Gkioulekas

Personnel Committees

Tenure & Promotion Committee (all tenured faculty)

Chair: Eleftherios Gkioulekas (Fall 2019), John Bernard (Spring 2020)

Full Professor Promotion Committee (all Professors from Tenure & Promotion Committee)

Chair: Paul-Hermann Zieschang

Post Tenure Review Committee (elected)

Andras Balogh (Chair), Baofeng Feng, Anahit Galstyan, Elena Poletaeva, Oleg Musin

Lecturer Promotion Review Committee (elected)

Mrinal Roychowdhury (Chair), Elena Poletaeva, Salama Mahmood, Shaga Setayesh, Edgar De La Cruz

Annual Evaluation Committee for T/TT (elected)

Sergey Grigorian (Chair), Eleftherios Gkioulekas, George Yanev, Alexey Garber, Dambaru Bhatta, Oleg Musin

Annual Evaluation Committee for Lecturers (elected)

Luis Sanchez (Chair), Guillermo Garza, Santanu Chakraborty, Edgar De La Cruz, Salma Mahmood, Mrinal Roychowdhury

Faculty Search Committees

Debnath Endowed Professorship

Sophie Wang (Co-Chair), Vesselin Vatchev (Co-Chair), Zhijun Qiao, Erwin Suazo, John Bernard

Tenure Track Search Committee

Zhaosheng Feng (Chair), Hyung Kim, Andras Balogh, Mayra Ortiz Galarza, Sergey Grigorian

3-Year Lecturer Search Committee

Jose Ponce (Chair), Alexey Glazyrin, Madhavi Devanaboina, Guillermo Garza, Shaghayegh Setayesh

OYA / OSA Search Committee

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Shaghayegh Setayesh, Liliana Zamfir, Nam Nguyen, Guillermo Garza, Jacob White

Assessment

Administrative Assessment & Program Assessment

Alexey Glazyrin (Chair), Jenq-Jong Tsay, Zhijun Qiao, Tim Huber, Vesselin Vatchev, Cristina Villalobos, Zhaosheng Feng,

Assessment of Core Math Courses

Mikhail Bouniaev (Chair), Zhaosheng Feng, Liliana Zamfir, Jerzy Mogilski, Tatiyana Altecor, Rajendra Rai, Ben Onofa, Salma Mahmood, Madhavi Devanoboina, Eun Ann Yoon, Shuxia Li, Edgar De La Cruz, Guillermo Garza, Nam Nguyen, Rene Torres, Karen Yagdijan, Monty Taylor, Lekshmi Sassidharan, Zaena Zamora, Jose Ponce, Luis Sanchez, Kristina Vatcheva, Shaghayegh Setayesh, Roger Knobel

Curriculum Committees:

Graduate Curriculum Committee

Zhijun Qiao (Chair), Sergey Grigorian, Mikhail Bouniaev, George Yanev, Anahit Galstyan, Alexey Garber, Erwin Suazo, Dambaru Bhatta, Zhenjun Jiang, Jenq-Jong Tsay

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Jerzy Mogilski (Chair), Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Brandt Kronholm, Oleg Musin, Olga Ramirez, Josef Sifuentes, Aaron Wilson, Sophie Wang, Tamer Oraby

Statistics Committee

George Yanev (Chair), Kristina Vatcheva, Santanu Chakraborty, Demba Fofana, Zhengjun Jiang, Hyung Kim, Ben Onofa, Tamer Oraby, Hansapani Rodrigo, Xiaohui Wang

Math Ed Committee

Jenq-Jong Tsay, Hyung Kim, John Bernard, Olga Ramirez, Aaron Wilson, Mayra Ortiz-Galarza, Younggon Bae, Monty Taylor

Course Coordination and Improvement Committees:

College Algebra

Madhavi Devanaboina (Chair), Lekshmi Sassidhran (Co-Chair), Liliana Zamfir, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Salma Mahmood, Zaena Zamora, Tamer Oraby, John Bernard, Eun Ann Yoon, Tatiyana Altecor

Co-Requisite and Jumpstart College Algebra

Zaena Zamora (Chair), Rene Torres

Elementary Statistics

Shuxia Li (Co-Chair), Jose Ponce (Co-Chair), Sidketa Fofana, Ben Onofa, Edgar De La Cruz, George Yanev, Luis Sanchez, Demba Fofana, Monty Taylor, Madhavi Devanaboina

Co-Requisite and Jumpstart Elementary Statistics

Nam Nguyen (Co-Chair), Eun Ann Yoon (Co-Chair), Sidketa Fofana, Madhavi Devanaboina

Math for Business & Social Sciences

Luis Sanchez (Chair), Edgar De La Cruz, Tatiyana Altecor, Madhavi Devanaboina

Introduction to Biostatistics

Kristina Vatcheva (Chair), Hansapani Rodrigo, Santanu Chakraborty, Zhengjun Jiang,

Contemporary Mathematics Committee

Guillermo Garza (Chair), Jose Ponce, Luis Sanchez, Mayra Huerta, Tatiyana Altecor

Pre-Calculus Committee

Shaghayegh Setayesh (Chair), Salma Mahmood, Liliana Zamfir, Rene Torres, Paul-Hermann Zieschang, Nam Nguyen, Shuxia Li, Eun Ann Yoon

Calculus I Committee

Roger Knobel (Co-Chair), Baofeng Feng (co-Chair), Mrinal Roychowdhury, Andras Balogh, Cristina Villalobos, Erwin Suazo, Elena Poletaeva, John Villavert, Shaghayegh Setayesh

Calculus II

Anahit Galstyan (Co-Chair), Rajendra Rai (Co-Chair), William Heller, Roger Knobel, Paul Bracken, Mikhail Bouniaev

Colloquia, Seminars, & Workshop Committees

Applied Mathematics Seminar Committee

Zhaosheng Feng (Chair)

Colloquium & Distinguished Lecture Series Committee

Baofeng Feng (co-Chair), Elena Poletaeva (co-chair), Alexey Glazyin, Erwin Suazo, John Villavert, Sergey Grigorian

Functional Analysis Seminar

Jasang Yoon (Chair)

Informal Seminar in Number Theory

Brandt Kronholm (Chair), Tim Huber

Integrable System Seminar

Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair), Erwin Suazo (Co-Chair)

Inverse Problem and Image Seminar

Vesselin Vatchev (Co-Chair), Zhijun Qiao (Co-Chair)

Math Education and Teaching Workshop Committee

Jenq-Jong Tsay (Chair), Hyung Kim, Jasang Yoon, Jose Torres, Shaghayegh Setayesh, Zaena Zamora, Enmee YoonAnn

Mathematical Physics Seminar Committee

Karen Yagdjian (Chair)

Nonlinear Analysis and Simulation Seminar

Zhaosheng Feng (Chair)

Nonlinear Wave Equations Committee

Karen Yagdjian (Chair), Anahit Galstyan, John Villavert

Pure Mathematics Seminar Committee

Sergey Grigorian (Co-Chair), Alexey Garber (Co-Chair)

SMSS Undergraduate and Graduate Research Workshop Committee

Jasang Yoon (Chair), Zhaosheng Feng, Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Sergey Grigorian, Shaga Setayesh, Jose Ponce

Statistics Seminar Committee

Kristina Vatcheva (Co-Chair), Demba Fofana (Co-Chair)

Discrete Geometry and Algebraic Combinatorics Conference Committee

Alexey Garber (Chair), Alexey Glazyrin, Mikhail Bouniaev, Jerzy Mogilski, Oleg Musin

Other Committees

Recruitment and Outreach committee

Zaena Zamora (Chair), Aaron Wilson, Paul Bracken, John Villavert, Josef Sifuentes, Lekshmi Sasidharan, Brandt Kronholm, Kristina Vatcheva, Demba Fofana, Oleg Musin, Hyung Kim, Jose Ponce

Ph.D. Planning Committee

Zhijun Qiao (Chair), Sergey Grigorian, Tim Huber, Zhaosheng Feng, George Yanev, Anahit Galstyan, Alexey Garber, Oleg Musin, Demba Fofana, Vesselin Vatchev

Scholarship Committee

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Rajendra Rai, Guillermo Garza, Brandt Kronholm, Ben Ebaseh-Onofa, Bill Heller, Alexey Glazyrin

Committee for Mentoring of Online Teaching

Liliana Zamfir (Chair), Luis Sanchez, Shaghayegh Setayesh, Edgar De La Cruz, Jerzy Mogilski, Eun Ann Yoon, Jasang Yoon, Tatiyana Altecor

Placement Exam Committee

Nam Nyugen (Co-Chair), Luis Sanchez (Co-Chair), Shuxia Li, Eunmee Ann, Rajendra Rai, Eun Ann Yoon, Lekshmi Sasidharan

Mathlab and GTA Supervisor Committee

Jasang Yoon (Chair), Rene Torres, Nam Nguyen, EunMee Yoon, Younggon Bae, Mayra Ortiz-Galarza

Comprehensive Exam Committee for Core Assessment

Andras Balogh (Chair), Timothy Huber, Jose Ponce, Alexey Glazyrin, Edgar De La Cruz, William Heller, Jacob White, Salma Mahmood, Paul-Hermann Zieschang, Madhavi Devanaboina

SMSS Adjunct Mentoring Committee

Salma Mahmood (Chair), Zaena Zamora, Liliana Zamfir, Guillermo Garza, Mrinal Roychowdhury, Mayra Ortiz Galarza, Younggon Bae

SMSS Excellence Award in Teaching Committee

Cristina Villalobos (Chair), Luis Sanchez, Shagha Setayesh

Faculty Advisors for Student Organizations

Faculty Advisor for the SIAM student Chapter

Baofeng Feng

Faculty Advisor for SACNAS student chapter

Cristina Villalobos

Faculty Advisor for the SPIE student Chapter

Zhijun Qiao

University and College Committees

Library Liaison: Paul Bracken (Chair)

COS Tenure and Promotion Committee: Baofeng Feng, Elena Poletaeva, Karen Yagdjian

SMSS Faculty Senators (elected): Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Salma Mahmood, Anahit Galstyan

University Graduate Committee: George Yanev

University Tenure and Promotion Committee: Anahit Galstyan

External Awards Committee: Karen Yagdijan