The College of Fine Arts

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, April 30th, 2025 at 7 p.m.
UTRGV Performing Arts Complex
1201 West University Drive, Edinburg, TX 78504



Program

The UTRGV College of Fine Arts **Awards Ceremony**

Welcome - Jeffrey Ward, Dean, College of Fine Arts

Global Citizen Scholarship and Dr. Donald E. Fritz Study Abroad Memorial Scholarship

Krista Jobson, Associate Dean for Student Success, College of Fine Arts

Caravaggio and Optics and Introduction to Art Restoration Study Abroad in Florence Santa Maria Tiberina, and Vatican City, Italy (Elena Macias, Faculty Sponsor)

Angela Martinez Valeria Solis

Writing in Paris: A Movable Feast - Study Abroad in France, Paris (Britt Haraway, Faculty Sponsor)

Caroline De La Garza

International Lyric Academy in Venice and Vicenza in Italy (Wendell Davis, Faculty Sponsor)

Elijah Adame

Music Across the Pond in Oxford, England (David Sadlier, Faculty Sponsor)

Michael Banda

Gabriel Banda

International Trombone Festival in London, Ontario, Canada (Pedro Martinez, Faculty Sponsor)

Jhon Escobar	Barnabe Martinez	Jesua Tejeda
Nathan Limas	Julian Montalvo	Ryan Vogel
Daniel Lozano	Alejandro Salinas	Efren Zapata

2025 International Tuba/Euphonium Conference in Valencia, Spain (Scott Roeder, Faculty Sponsor)

Jorge Ayala	Alejandro Garza	Gilbert Moya
Jose Castillo	Raphael Gonzalez	Alessandro Pena
Jose Coronado	Jordi Guerra	Pablo Salinas
Victor Cruz	Albert Gutierrez	Steven Vallejo
Sam de Leon	Noah Jaramillo	Jaime Zamarripa
Diego Garcia	Azdruhall Montemayor	

Diego Garcia — Azdrubali Montemayor

2025 National Festival of Arts, Antigua, Guatemala (Norman Gamboa, Faculty Sponsor)

Melanie Cantu	Leah Loera	Marisol Mejia
Cristian Contreras	Maximiliano Lopez	Ramiro Raya
Isaac Escalon	Katia Luna	Judith Recio
Sebastian Garcia-Loredo	Alvaro Martinez	Valeria Ruiz
Jairo Garza	Clarissa Martinez	Jose Salinas
Astrid Herrera	Jacob Martinez	Daniel Santiago
Angela Llanes		Isaac Vargas

Design Thinking in Sustainable Science—Study Abroad in Seoul, South Korea (Clara Choir, Faculty Sponsor)

Miguel Medina Nathaly Rodriguez

Vivez le français! Beginner and Advanced French—Study Abroad in **Paris France** (Irina Armianu, Faculty Sponsor)

Anayancy Salinas

Student Research Travel Scholarship

Dan Hunter-Holly, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Fine Arts

Texas Art Education Association Conference in Galveston, Texas (Lilia Cabrera, Faculty Sponsor)

Asayne Maltos

Society for Photographic Education Annual Conference in Reno, Nevada
(DM Witman, Faculty Sponsor)

Dulce Perez

Association of Writers and Writing Programs (AWP) 2025 Conference in Los Angeles, California (Britt Haraway and Emmy Perez, Faculty Sponsor)

Jessi Farfan

Nathan Phillip

3rd Annual Midwest Poetry Mash-Up Competition in Minneapolis, Minnesota (Emmy Perez, Faculty Sponsor)

Krista Olivarez

2025 Palette Project Workshop in Scottsdale, Arizona (Gina Palacios, Faculty Sponsor)

Erika Lino April Prado Jonathan Ramirez

National Council on Education for the Ceramics Arts (NCECA) in Salt Lake City, Utah (Japheth Asiedu-Kwarteng, Faculty Sponsor)

Mikaela Martinez

Mid-South Horn Workshop 2025 at Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, Arkansas (Monica Martinez, Faculty Sponsor)

Rodrigo Barrera	Alonzo Cavazos	Luis Flores
Roberto Bautista	Brittany Cruz	Josue Juarez
Jonah Cantu	Johan Espinoza	Isaac Salinas

2025 National Trumpet Competition in Fort Worth, Texas (Alexander Sanso, Faculty Sponsor)

Fabiola Ahuja Jacob Morales Christian Ramirez
Victor Fortuna Solis Ryan Mowers Luis Sebastian Paz
Daniel Vela

National Organization for Arts in Health in Houston, Texas (Lilia Cabrera, Faculty Sponsor)

Zachary Arellano

Austin Zine Friends at The Future Front House (Lilia Cabrera, Faculty Sponsor)

Devin Garza

American College Dance Association (ACDA) National Conference in Washington, DC (Miguel Peña, Faculty Sponsor)

Ezra Alcocer	Angela Y. Marentes	Allexander Pesqueira
Jessica Desiderio	Mellanie Olivarez	Cesar Rios
Itzel Garcia	Joseph Padron	Carolina Rodriguez
Manuel Lopez	Emmanuel Peralez	Juan Jaiver Salinas
Beny Lopez		Ramiro Silva

Berkshire Choral International, Amherst, Massachusetts (Sean Taylor, Faculty Sponsor)

Alejandro Garcia Gael Sebastian Gonzalez

Ivan Melendez Gael Ulyses Valdez

Undergraduate Graduate Research Grant

Mark Ramirez, Associate Dean for Research and Outreach, College of Fine Arts

A Microbial Requiem (DM Witman, Faculty Mentor)

Eduardo Escamilla

Sustainability in Art: Exploring Ash Glazes through Waste Materials (Japheth Asiedu-Kwarteng, Faculty Mentor)

Cinthya Delgado

Sustainable Structure: Transforming the Invasive:
Utilizing Carrizo
(Tim Gonchoroff, Faculty Mentor)

Emma Creps

Sustainable Sculpture and Research: Harvesting natural materials and developing tools for weaving (Marcus Farris, Faculty Mentor)

Kendra Dominique Delgado

Clay of the Rio Grande: Exploring Natural Material (Japheth Asiedu-Kwarteng, Faculty Mentor)

Andres Rangel

Uncharted Territory (Donald Lyles, Faculty Mentor)

Juan Jose Delgado

Presser Scholar Award

Mark Ramirez, Associate Dean for Research and Outreach, College of Fine Arts

Victor Cruz

Advancement of Research and Creative (ARC) Works Collaborative Fellowship

Mark Ramirez, Associate Dean for Research and Outreach, College of Fine Arts

Adam Boggs Rebecca Cole Francis Favis Rebeca Gamborino Marco Guerra
Elizabeth McCormack-Whittemore
Jason Mitchell

Kriti Vashisht Minzhi Ye Alex Zuo

Excellence Awards

Mark Ramirez, Associate Dean for Research and Outreach, College of Fine Arts

Excellence in Teaching Award: Brenton Hamilton, Lecturer II, School of Art and Design

Excellence in Research/Scholarship/Creative Work Award: Scott Roeder, Professor, School of Music

Nominees

Timothy Gonchoroff, Assistant Professor, School of Art and Design Norman Gamboa, Assistant Professor, School of Music

Emerging Scholar Award:
Timothy Gonchoroff, Assistant Professor,
School of Art and Design

Excellence in CFA Distinguished Career Award Eric Wiley, Professor, Theatre Department

Nominee

Art Brownlow, Professor, School of Music

Alumnus Merit Award

Alumnus Merit Award: David Mesquitic (BM '15)

Dean's Partner Award

Jeffrey Ward, Dean, College of Fine Arts

Revival of Cultural Arts

Closing - Jeffrey Ward, Dean, College of Fine Arts

The students and faculty of the College of Fine Arts are strongly supported by a dedicated group of staff.

Dean's Office

Mirna Villarreal Kayla Garza Jessica Trevino Kendra Lara

School of Art and Design

Veronica Chavarria Lisa Mendiola Price Julietta Rivera

Creative Writing Department

Anita Reyes

Dance Department

Zeydy Garza

Theatre Department

Anita Reyes
Alexandra Gonzalez
Eric Sanchez
Alfredo Garza
Carla Simon

School of Music

Norma Salinas Brenda Vela Roman David Rios

UTRGV ARTS

Richard Burrows
Joseph Diaz
Angel Pena
Juan Munoz
Veronica Gomez
Leah Hollingshead

Thank You!



Never Miss an Event!

Follow us: https://www.utrgv.edu/arts

LIKE, FOLLOW, SUBSCRIBE, ADD









Brownsville Office TSC Performing Arts Center 90 Taylor Avenue Brownsville, Texas 78520 (956) 882-7025

Edinburg Office UTRGV Performing Arts Complex 1201 West University Drive Edinburg, Texas 78539 (956) 665-3881

UTRio Grande Valley