SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 289

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley chess team, which has won its third consecutive President's Cup; and

WHEREAS, The President's Cup is awarded to the winner of the Final Four of chess, which is the competition that determines the national championship among American colleges and universities; this year's event was the first to be held virtually, and top-ranked chess teams from Webster University, Saint Louis University, and Texas Tech University were in the competition; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley team that competed in the Final Four tournament consists of the following grand masters: Mateusz Bartel, from Poland; Hovhannes Gabuzyan, from Armenia; Kamil Dragun, from Poland; and Vladimir Belous, from Russia; these young men can take great pride in their outstanding performances; and

WHEREAS, Under the exemplary leadership of chess coach Bartek Macieja, the team has enjoyed great success and has retained its number-one ranking from 2018 and 2019; previous victories for the team this season include winning the Kasparov Chess Foundation University Cup and the FIDE World University Online Blitz Championship; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley chess team has established itself as one of the finest in the nation; it is truly fitting that this exceptional program receive special recognition for its third consecutive national championship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley chess team on winning the 2021 President's Cup and extend best wishes to team members for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa, Lucio Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 21, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate