Recruitment and Scholarships

Mission

The Recruitment and Scholarships Department is committed to reviewing current practices to improve efficiencies. This will allow us to reiterate UTRGV’s commitment to make college attainable for prospective students, campus visitors, and the University community at large. By continuously coaching constituents through the admissions and financial aid process, students will be successful not only in enrolling but in completing their collegiate goals. By utilizing technology, data, and innovation, we will identify and recruit top academic achievers to increase retention and graduation rates.

Essential functions include assisting high school and transfer students through the admissions and financial aid process, managing new student orientations and assisting with registration, managing campus tours, new student scholarships as well as the entering freshmen welcome event, The Vaquero Roundup.

GC Griselda Castilla
Associate VP for Strategic Enrollment
956-665-8942
956-562-3650
griselda.castilla@utrgv.edu

Welcome

UTRGV recruiters are your admissions counselors who will guide you through the enrollment process. They are here to answer your questions and share information about academics, campus life, scholarships, and much, much more. 

Meet your UTRGV Recruiter to find out more about attending UTRGV.

Staff Directory

Brenda Garcia
Associate Director for Scholarships and Communications
Office: 956-665-2507
brenda.garcia@utrgv.edu

Carlo Tamayo
Assistant Director of Outreach
Office: 956-882-3814
Mobile: 956-466-1560
carlo.tamayo@utrgv.edu

Norma Linda Vera
Outreach Manager
Office: 956-882-7814
Mobile: 956-346-0637
norma.vera@utrgv.edu

Cristina De Leon
Outreach Representative II
Office: 956-665-2137
Mobile: 956-961-9742
cristina.deleon@utrgv.edu

Veronica Flores
Outreach Representative II
Office: 956-882-7624
Mobile: 956-521-9341
veronica.flores@utrgv.edu

Andres Trevino
Outreach Representative I
Office: 956-665-7121
Mobile: 956-827-9287
andres.trevino02@utrgv.edu

Jeanette Tamez
Outreach Representative I
Office: 956-665-3179
Mobile: 956-467-6414
jeanette.tamez@utrgv.edu

Margarita Cantu
Outreach Representative I
Office: 956-665-2400
Mobile: 956-789-7452
margarita.cantu@utrgv.edu

Irving Valdez
Outreach Representative I
Office: 956-665-2879
Mobile: 956-560-9642
irving.valdez@utrgv.edu

New Student Orientation Coordinators

Brenda Rodriguez
Coordinator of Recruitment & Orientation (Brownsville)
Office: 956-882-7624
Mobile: 956-376-8063
brenda.rodriguez@utrgv.edu

Tour Coordinator

Krystal Marroquin
Outreach Representative I
Office: 956-665-5390
krystal.marroquin01@utrgv.edu

Administrative Staff

Blanca Garcia
Administrative Assistant II
Office: 956-665-7335
blanca.garcia@utrgv.edu

Veronica Leos
Office Assistant I
Office: 956-665-7442
veronica.leos01@utrgv.edu