The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Graduate College Division of Academic Affairs

Program Coordinators

Below you will find a list of Program Coordinators by program. Program Coordinators are faculty members who will guide you throughout your entire graduate program from admissions through graduation. If you have questions, they have answers. Feel free to contact them at any point of your graduate career.

Graduate Degrees

Robert C. Vackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship

Doctoral Degrees
Business Administration (Ph.D.) Dr. Michael Abebe michael.abebe@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees

Accountancy (MACC)

Dr. Penny Simpson

Linda Acevedo

Deborah Gonzalez

penny.simpson@utrgv.edu

linda.acevedo@utrgv.edu

deborah.gonzalez@utrgv.edu

Business Administration (MBA)

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi 

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

Business Administration – Spanish (MBA)

Dr. Clara Downey

clara.downey@utrgv.edu

Certificate Programs
Advanced Business Administration

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

Customs and International Trade Dr. E. Thomas Coyle, Jr. ecoyle@utrgv.edu
Health Care Administration Leadership

Dr. Akinloye Akindayomi

akinloye.akindayomi@utrgv.edu

College of Education and P-16 Integration

Doctoral Degrees
Curriculum and Instruction (Ed.D.) Dr. Laura Jewett laura.jewett@utrgv.edu
Educational Leadership (Ed.D.) Dr. Karen M. Watt  karen.watt@utrgv.edu 
Master’s Degrees
Bilingual Education (M.Ed.) Kip Austin Hinton, Ph.D. kipaustin.hinton@utrgv.edu
Counseling and Guidance (M.Ed.)

Dr. Cynthia Wimberly

cynthia.wimberly@utrgv.edu

Curriculum and Instruction (M.Ed.)

Prof. James Telese

Dr. Kathy Bussert- Webb (Digital Literacy Specialization)

james.telese@utrgv.edu 

kathy.bussertwebb@utrgv.edu

Curriculum & Instruction in Elementary Math and Science Education (MED) Prof. James Telese james.telese@utrgv.edu
Curriculum & Instruction in Mathematics Education (MED) Prof. James Telese james.telese@utrgv.edu
Curriculum & Instruction in Science Education (MED) Prof. James Telese james.telese@utrgv.edu
Early Childhood (M.Ed.) Dr. Hilda Medrano hilda.medrano@utrgv.edu
Early Childhood Special Education (M.Ed.) Dr. Hsuying Ward hsuying.ward@utrgv.edu
Educational Leadership (M.Ed.) Dr. Rosalinda Hernandez rosalinda.hernandez@utrgv.edu
Educational Technology (M.Ed.) Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
Reading and Literacy (M.Ed.) Dr. Janine Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu
School Psychology (MA) Dr. Nancy Razo nancy.razo@utrgv.edu
Special Education (M.Ed.) Dr. John Lowdermilk john.lowdermilk@utrgv.edu
Certification Programs
Teacher Certification (Superintendent) Dr. Roberto Zamora roberto.zamora@utrgv.edu
Teacher Certification (Principal) Dr. Federico Guerra federico.guerra@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Digital Literacy Leader Dr. Kathy Bussert-Webb kathy.bussertwebb@utrgv.edu
E-Learning Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu 
Educational Diagnostician (Teacher Credential) Dr. John Lowdermilk. john.lowdermilk@utrgv.edu 
Technology Leadership in Education Dr. Joseph Corbeil rene.corbeil@utrgv.edu
TxVSN Digital Literacies Dr. Kathy Bussert-Webb kathy.bussertwerbb@utrgv.edu
Master Reading Teacher Dr. Janine Schall janine.schall@utrgv.edu

College of Health Affairs

Doctoral Degrees
Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) in cooperation with
the University of Texas at Austin
Rehabilitation Counseling (Ph.D.) Dr. Jerome Fischer jerome.fischer@utrgv.edu
Master’s Degrees
Communication Sciences and Disorders (MS) Dr. Teri Mata-Pistokache theresa.matapistokache@utrgv.edu
Exercise Science (MS) Dr. Murat Karabulut murat.karabulut@utrgv.edu
Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN) Dr. Beatriz Bautista beatriz.bautista@utrgv.edu  
Health Sciences (MS) Dr. Saraswathy Nair saraswathy.nair@utrgv.edu 
Kinesiology (MS) Dr. Zasha Romero zasha.romero@utrgv.edu
Nursing Administration (MSN) Dr. Eloisa Tamez eloisa.tamez@utrgv.edu 
Nursing Education (MSN) Dr. Eloisa Tamez eloisa.tamez@utrgv.edu 
Occupational Therapy (MS) Dr. Shirley Wells shirley.wells@utrgv.edu
Physician Assistant Studies (MPAS) Mr. Frank Ambriz frank.ambriz@utrgv.edu
Physician Assistant Studies – Bridge Program (MPAS) Mr. Frank Ambriz frank.ambriz@utrgv.edu
Rehabilitation Counseling (MS) Dr. Elizabeth Palacios elizabeth.palacios@utrgv.edu 
Social Work (MSSW) Dr. John Gonzalez john.gonzalez@utrgv.edu 
Social Work - Administration and Community Practice (Advanced Standing) (MSSW) Dr. Sudershan Pasupuleti sudershan.pasupuleti@utrgv.edu
Social Work - Direct Practice with Latino Individuals, Families, and Groups (Advanced Standing) (MSSW) Dr. Sudershan Pasupuleti sudershan.pasupuleti@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Dr. Eloisa Tamez eloisa.tamez@utrgv.edu

College of Sciences

Doctoral Degrees
Doctoral Degrees
Physics (Ph.D.) in cooperation with the University of Texas at Arlington
Master’s Degrees
Master’s Degrees
Agricultural, Environmental, and Sustainability Sciences (MS) Dr. Christopher Gabler christopher.gabler@utrgv.edu
Biology (MS) Dr. Zen Faulkes zen.faulkes@utrgv.edu
Chemistry (MS) Dr. Evangelia Kotsikorou evangelia.kotsikorou@utrgv.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (MSIS)
Physics Education
Dr. Edgar Corpuz
edgar.corpuz@utrgv.edu
Mathematics (MS) Dr. Zhijun Qiao zhijun.qiao@utrgv.edu
Ocean, Coastal and Earth Sciences (MS)

Dr. Richard Kline

Dr. David W. Hicks

richard.kline@utrgv.edu

david.hicks@utrgv.edu

Physics (MS) Dr. Malik Rakhmanov malik.rakhmanov@utrgv.edu 

College of Engineering and Computer Science

Master’s Degrees
Computer Science (MS) Dr. Zhixiang Chen zhixiang.chen@utrgv.edu
Electrical Engineering (MSE) Dr. Hasina Huq hasina.huq@utrgv.edu
Engineering Management (MS) Dr. Alley Butler alley.butler@utrgv.edu
Information Technology (MS) Dr. Zhixiang Chen zhixiang.chen@utrgv.edu
Mechanical Engineering (MSE) Dr. Horacio Vasquez horacio.vasquez@utrgv.edu
Manufacturing Engineering (MSE) Dr. Alley Butler alley.butler@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Materials Dr. Constantine Tarawneh constantine.tarawneh@utrgv.edu
Mechanics and Design Dr. Constantine Tarawneh constantine.tarawneh@utrgv.edu
Thermal Fluid Science Dr. Constantine Tarawneh constantine.tarawneh@utrgv.edu

College of Fine Arts

Master’s Degrees
Art (MFA)

Dr. Robert Bradley

Mr. Donald Lyles

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

donald.lyles@utrgv.edu

Creative Writing (MFA) Dr. Philip Zwerling philip.zwerling@utrgv.edu
Music (MM) Dr. Cynthia Cripps cynthia.cripps@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Design

Dr. Robert Bradley

Mr. Donald Lyles

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

donald.lyles@utrgv.edu

Latin American Art History

Dr. Carlos De Souza

Dr. Robert Bradley

carlos.desouza@utrgv.edu

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

College of Liberal Arts

Master’s Degrees
Criminal Justice (MS) Dr. Thomas White thomas.white@utrgv.edu
Communication (MA) Dr. Aje-Ori Agbese ajeori.agbese@utrgv.edu
Clinical Psychology (MA) Dr. Mark Winkel mark.winkel@utrgv.edu
Disaster Studies (MA)

Dr. William Donner

Dr. Dawid Wladlyka

william.donner@utrgv.edu

dawid.wladyka@utrgv.edu

English (MA)

Dr. Mark Noe

Dr. Diana Dominguez

joe.noe@utrgv.edu

diana.dominguez@utrgv.edu

Experimental Psychology (MA) Dr. Mark Winkel mark.winkel@utrgv.edu
English as a 2nd Language (MA) Dr. Mark Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
History (MA) Dr. Megan Birk megan.birk@utrgv.edu
Public Affairs (MPA) Dr. Aziza Zemrani
Dr. Terence Garrett
aziza.zemrani@utrgv.edu
terence.garrett@utrgv.edu
Sociology (MS) Dr. Igor Ryabov igor.ryabov@utrgv.edu
Spanish (MA) Dr. Jose Esteban Hernandez jose.e.hernandez@utrgv.edu
Spanish Translation and Interpreting (MA) Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (MAIS)
Art History

Dr. Carlos De Souza

Dr. Robert Bradley

carlos.desouza@utrgv.edu

robert.bradley@utrgv.edu

Anthropology Dr. Margaret Graham margaret.graham@utrgv.edu
Mexican American Studies Stephanie Alvarez, PhD stephanie.alvarez@utrgv.edu
English Dr. Joe Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
History Dr. Megan Birk megan.birk@utrgv.edu
Certificate Programs
Advanced Placement Spanish Literature Dr. Jose Martinez jose.martinez@utrgv.edu
Board Certified Behavioral Analyst Dr. Mark Winkel mark.winkel@utrgv.edu
Communication Training and Consulting Dr. Jeffrey McQuillen jeffrey.mcquillen@utrgv.edu
Court Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
English as a Second Language Supplemental Dr. Mark Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
Gender and Women’s Studies Dr. Linda English linda.english@utrgv.edu
Healthcare Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez tip@utrgv.edu
Literary Translation Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez tip@utrgv.edu
Localization and Audiovisual Translation Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu
Media Relations and Strategic Communication Dr. Jeffrey McQuillen jeffrey.mcquillen@utrgv.edu
Mexican American Studies Stephanie Alvarez, PhD stephanie.alvarez@utrgv.edu
Secondary English Language Arts Dr. Mark Noe joe.noe@utrgv.edu
Spanish Translation and Interpreting Dr. Gabriel Gonzalez Nunez gabriel.gonzaleznunez@utrgv.edu