The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

2019-2020 Faculty Senate Meeting I
Edinburg Academic Services Building (EACSB 1.104) and
Brownsville Salon Gardenia (BSTUN 2.24) via zoom
Friday, May 3, 2019
4:00pm - 4:45pm
Minutes

Senators Present: Khalid Aada, Punit Ahluwalia, Sonja Arredondo, Sandra Atkins, Jameela Banu, Karl Berg, Dumitru Caruntu, Steven Chamberlain, Mircea Chipara, Amy Cummins, Mark Dantzker, Frederick Darsow, Elizabeth Deven-Hernandez, Arden Dingle, Miryam Espinosa-Dulanto, Louis Falk, Mohammad Ibrahim Farooqi, Fuat First, Anahit Galstyan, Laura Gephart, Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Margaret Graham, Elamin Ibrahim, Wendy Innis, Murat Karabulut, Dae Kim, Dongchul Kim, Kye-Hwan Lee, Irving Levinson, Karin Lewis, John Luna, Donald Jerry Lyles, Salma Mahmood, Arnulfo Mar, Theresa Mata-Pistokache, Nancy Nadeau, Michael Persans, Volker Quetschke, Ernesto Ramirez, Clarissa Salinas, Andrea Schwarzbach, Laura Seligman, Denise Silcox, William Sokoloff, Owen Temby, Annelyn Torres-Reveron, Jorge Vidal, Yingchen Yang, Michelle Zeager, Dae Kim.

Senators Absent: Andrew Anabila, Elvia Ardalana, Bruno Arthur, Stephanie Atkins-Sharpe, Chinwendu Chineke, Marcus Farris, Zen Faulkes, Johnathan Guist, Kip Austin Hinton, Sunand Kallumadanda, Junfei Li, John Newman, Charles Olney, Cynthia Paccacerqua, Abdullah Faiz Rahman, Candace Robledo, Sam Sale, Garry Souffrant

Senators Absent (Excused): William Donner, Raquel Estrada, Hale Kaynak, Hilda Silva, John VandeBerg

Visitors(s): N/A

Office Assistant III: Vanessa Ceballos

Convened: 3:25

- I. Welcoming of 2019-2020 Faculty Senators President Arden Dingle
- II. Election of Faculty Senate Officers
 Important Note: A quorum of the 2018-2019 Senate is needed in order to elect the 2019-2020 Senate Officers and Executive Committee Officers are elected by the full senate The following names were nominated and are a suggestion of the FSEC. On the floor nominations are encouraged to complement the nominations:
 - a. President-Elect V. Quetschke
 - b. Secretary E. Ramirez
 - c. Parliamentarian Raquel Estrada Vote: Passed unanimously

III. Election of Faculty Senate Executive Committee Members

Important Note: A quorum of the 2018-2019 Senate is needed in order to elect the 2019-2020

Executive Committee – Executive Committee members are elected by the College caucuses.

Every College that does not currently provides an Officer (including President and Past-President) has to elect an executive committee member. The following names were nominated and are a suggestion of the FSEC. On the floor nominations are encouraged to complement the nominations:

- a. VCOBE B. Arthur
- b. CECS D. Caruntu
- c. CEP K. Hinton
- d. CFA Donald Jerry Lyles
- e. COHA J. Banu
- f. CLA E. Ramirez
- g. COS V. Quetschke
- h. SON Nancy
- i. SSW S. Arredondo
- j. SOM A. Dingle
- k. UC S. Atkins
- 1. UL R. Estrada

IV. Announcements

A number of areas of concern by our president will be addressed in the next year. To include faculty treatment, summer teaching, grievance policy. Chair survey, follow up on White Paper report card

Other concerns brought by FS – evaluations by faculty being completed by HR. Questioning the credentials of faculty to teach a course. This is a department issue not an HR issue. Volker explained that it happened in his department that HR asked about physics faculty being able to teach astronomy. He responded that they could and moved on. L. Falk noticed that HR is teaching communications courses to staff. He raises the concern that these actions indicate a problem when our own faculty are not considered for use in internal training and development. We will collect some information first and then get a sense of how to proceed on this issue. Recognizing that staff training is probably run by its own needs and separate from faculty duties.

Vanessa will send out for college caucuses to meet and determine their representative for FSEC.

Survey is completed and will be converted for use on Qualtrics and will be done before Tuesday for release and response by Friday after the commencement. Laura Saenz wants an academic policy committee. The FS already voted on this in 2016 and this will be acted upon.

V. Adjournment of first meeting of 2019-2020 AY Faculty Senate 3:44pm