## The University of Texas RioGrande Valley

2018-2019 Faculty Senate Meeting I Edinburg: EACSB 1.104 Brownsville: BBRHB 1.222 (Zoom) Friday, May 4, 2018 2:00 p.m. - 4:30p.m. Minutes

Minutes prepared by Michelle Alvarado, UTRGV Faculty Senate, Secretary

Senators Present: Punit Ahluwalia, Andrew Anabila, Elvia Ardalani, Sonja Arredondo, Sandra Atkins, Bruno Arthur, Jameela Banu, Karl Berg, Don Carlson, Dumitru (Micky) Caruntu, Steve Chamberlain, Chinwendu Chineke, Mark Dantzker, Frederick Darsow, Elizabeth Deven-Hernandez, Abdoulaye Diallo, Frank Dirrigl, Richard Edmonson, Miryam Espinosa-Dulanto, Raquel Estrada, Teresa Feria Arroyo, Lilia A. Fuentes, Anahit Galstyan, Laura Gephart, Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Margaret Graham, Jonathan Guist, Sharon Helsley-Mcginley, Murat Karabulut, Mark Kaswan, Sanjeev Kumar, Irving Levinson, Karin Lewis, Junfei Li, Marci McMahon, John Newman, Cynthia Paccacerqua, Volker Quetschke, Mahmoud Quweider, Ernesto Ramirez, Maria Romero-Ramirez, Sam Sale, Andrea Schwarzbach, Denise Silcox, Hilda Silva, William Sokoloff, Douglas Timmer, John VandeBerg, Jorge Vidal, Bailey Wang, Michael Weaver, James Whittenberg, Aziza Zemrani

**Senators Absent**: George Amorim, Stephanie Atkins Sharpe, Ibrahim Farooqi, Marcus Farris, Kip Austin Hinton, Wendy Innis, Sunand Kallumadanda, Jung-Il Oh, Candace Robledo, Gary Schneider, Laura Seligman, Samuel Snyder, Garry Souffrant, Yasar Tasnif, Mohammadali Zolfagharian

Excused Absences: Arden Dingle, Hale Kaynak, Yingchen Yang, Jasang Yoon, Michelle Zeager

Faculty Senate Office Assistant III: Vanessa Ceballos

## Visitors: N/A

- I. Welcoming of 2018-2019 Faculty Senators President Volker Quetschke
- II. Election of Officers for Executive Committee and Executive Committee Members
  - a. A motion by Senator Arthur to authorize the FSEC to conduct senate votes via email, BlackBoard or other suitable electronic votes if the majority of the FSEC approved the vote.
    - i. Seconded by Senator Graham
    - ii. Discussion: Floor open for discussion, there was no discussion on the motion.
    - iii. Vote: Unanimous; note the motion carried.

## The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

- b. A motion by Senator Weaver to nominate and elect Senator Douglas Timmer as President-Elect.
  - i. Seconded by Senator Graham
  - ii. Discussion: Floor opened for discussion, there was no discussion on the motion.
  - iii. Vote: Unanimous; note the motion carried
- c. A motion by Senator Paccacerqua to elect the following individuals to the Executive Committee and to table the election of the remaining officer positions until candidates are available and to vote electronically on them.
  - University Library Raquel Estrada
  - University College Sandra Atkins
  - School of Medicine Arden Dingle
  - CECS Douglas Timmer (President-Elect)
  - COHA Jameela Banu
  - VCOBE Andrew Anabila
  - ii. Seconded by Senator Weaver
  - iii. There was no discussion
  - iv. Vote: Unanimous; Note the motion carried
- III. Adjournment of first meeting of 2018-2019 AY Faculty Senate