

2017-2018 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes May 5, 2017, 4:30 PM, HCEBL 1.100, Harlingen Campus

Minutes prepared by Michelle Alvarado, UTRGV Faculty Senate, Secretary

SENATORS PRESENT: Andrew Anabila, Arden Dingle, Aziza Zemrani, Bobbette Morgan, Britt Claude Haraway, Catherine Faver, Christopher Vitek, Don Carlson, Donald J. Lyles, DongYop Oh, Dora Saavedra, Douglas Timmer, Eleftherios Gkioulekas, Ernesto Ramirez, Fidencio Mercado, Frederick Darsow, Jameela Banu, James Boudreau, James Bullard, James Wenzel, James Whittenberg, John Newman, Justin Writer, Kathy (Kathleen) Carter, Kip Austin Hinton, Laura Seligman, Margaret Graham, Maria Romero-Ramirez, Michael Weaver, Michelle Alvarado, Dumitru Micky Caruntu, Murat Karabulut, Raquel Estrada, Saara Grizzell, Sanjeev Kumar, Sheila Dooley, Teresa Feria Arroyo, Volker Quetschke, Wendy Innis, Wendy Lawrence-Fowler, Wilma Mealer, Yasar Tasnif

SENATORS ABSENT: Alexander Kazansky, Bailey Wang, Brian Warren, Cory Wimberly, David Anshen, Frank Dirrigl, Irasema Gonzalez, Irina Armianu, Irving Levinson, Jacob Neumann, Jasang Yoon, Jeffrey McQuillen, John VandeBerg, Jung-Il Oh, Katherine Decker, Lilia A. Fuentes, Mahmoud Quweider, Marguerite Dewitt, Maria "Miriam" Herrera, Michelle Keck, Mohammadali Zolfagharian, Nicolas Pereyra, Ranadhir Roy, Robert Gilbert, Rosalinda Hernandez, Rosalva Resendiz, Sam Sale, Sibin Wu, William Donner

SENATORS ABSENT (EXCUSED): Jorge Vidal, Yuanbing Mao, Joe Lacher, Cynthia Paccacerqua

FACULTY SENATE OFFICE ASSISTANT III: Vanessa Ceballos

VISITOR(S): Ala Qubbaj, Cynthia Brown, Elise Grizzell, Guy Bailey, Marie Mora, Havidián Rodríguez, Kristin Croyle, Lisa Smith

Faculty Senate Agenda

I. Welcome and introduction of 2017-2018 Faculty Senators

President Dora E. Saavedra convened the first meeting of the 2017-2018 Faculty Senate at 4:30p.m. President Saavedra then recognized Past President Morgan for her dedication and her work as President of Faculty Senate during 2016-2017.

II. Election of President-Elect:

Senator Fowler nominated Senator Quetschke for President-Elect and Senator Wenzel seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

III. Election of Secretary:



Senator Morgan nominated Senator Alvarado for Secretary. Senator Wenzel moved to accept the nomination, and Senator Whittenberg seconded the nomination. The motion passed unanimously.

IV. Election of Parliamentarian:

Senator Fowler nominated Senator Boudreau for Parliamentarian, the motion was seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

V. Caucus to Elect Executive Committee Members

- a. Senator Estrada Library
- b. Senator Dingle School of Medicine
- c. Senator Lyles Fine Arts
- d. Senator Timmer Computer Science
- e. Senator Grizzell Health Affairs

VI. Closure and Processing

The first meeting of the 2017-2018 Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:39 p.m.