Brownsville, Edinburg, Harlingen

2022-2023 Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda Tuesday, May 9, 2023, 3pm – 5pm CST Via Zoom

Community Agreement

The UTRGV Faculty Senate is brought together in the spirit of shared governance to move forward in a positive, open manner for input that allows all stakeholders to speak regarding policy and process. To create a productive environment where everyone's opinions are valued and considered, let us observe the following:

- 1. *Try to be on time to the meeting and actively participate*
- 2. Review the pre-reading materials to be discussed, and if you plan to comment have your thoughts organized in advance
- 3. Assume positive intent, seek to understand, be inclusive, bring productive energy to discussions
- 4. Only one person speaks at a time (use raise hand feature to be recognized) chat is not part of the official record (will not be included in the minutes).
- 5. Respect and acknowledge everyone's opinions, even if they differ from yours
- 6. Confidentiality: some things shouldn't be repeated outside the meeting
- I. Convene meeting/Attendance/Welcome (3:00pm) (2 minutes)
- II. Report of FS Parliamentarian Louis Falk (2 minutes)
 - a. Roberts rules & Zoom reminder
- III. Report of the FS Secretary Jonathan Guist (3 min)
 - a. April 2023 Minutes w/ pre-reading, "1. April Minutes"
 - a. zoom poll vote
- IV. Old Business (3:07pm) (23 min)
 - a. ADM 06-701 Organized Research Units
 - b. ADM 07-304 Institutional Base Salary H.O.P. Policy
 - c. ADM 00-000 Faculty Development Leave Policy
- V. Committee reports (3:30pm) (15 min)
 - a. Technology Enhanced Education Oversight Committee (TEEOC), Randall Monty & Information Technology
 - b. Ad-Hoc Sustainability Committee
 - c. B3 Working Group
 - d. Committees discussion (3:45pm)
- VI. New Business (3:50pm) (10 min)
 - a. Shirts arrived!
 - b. Newly elected senators confirmed by President Hinton
 - c. 2023-2024 FSEC and FS Meeting calendar w/pre-reading attached

At 4pm, we invite our Guest Speakers to join the meeting.

VII. Guest Presentations (4:00pm)

- a. Veronica Gonzales, Associate Vice Presidents for Government & Community Relations
- b. Janna Arney, Executive Vice President & Provost
- c. TBA

VIII. Election of FS Officers (4:45pm)

- IX. 2022-2023 President Kip Austin Hinton Farewell Remarks (4:50pm) (5 minutes)
- X. 2023-2024 President Cynthia Paccacerqua Remarks (4:55pm) (5 min)
- XI. Meeting adjourned (5:00pm)