## The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

## 2019-2020 Faculty Senate Meeting XI Zoom meeting Friday, May 1, 2020 2:00pm - 4:30pm Agenda

- I. Convene Meeting and Welcome Senators and Guests
- II. Thank You! A minute to thank all UTRGV members – students, faculty and staff – that are involved in working to get through the COVID-19 crisis.
- III. Action Item: Approval of Minutes
- IV. Guests:
  - a. Dr. Bailey UTRGV President (20 min)
  - b. Dr. Jonikka Charlton AVP for Student Academic Success & Dean of University College (10min)
- V. Report from the Faculty Senate President/President-Elect
  - a. FSEC meeting with Dr. Bailey
  - b. AAEC meeting
- VI. Business
  - a. Extension of tenure clock for junior faculty discussion of the need address COVID-19 impact for post-tenure reviews and lecturer reviews.
  - b. Faculty Teaching Qualifications Policy (handout) review and suggestion.
  - c. Reduced hiring of instructors Discussion about impact on quality instruction.
  - d. Transparency in Budget affairs sub-committee to investigate best practices and status in other UT System members. Chair Owen Temby.
  - e. Teaching and Teaching Evaluation sub-committee chair Dumitru Caruntu.
- VII. AOB
- VIII. Adjournment

## The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

## 2020-2021 Faculty Senate Meeting I Zoom meeting Friday, May 1, 2020 4:30pm - 4:45pm Agenda

- I. State of the Senate address by Faculty Senate President Volker Quetschke
- II. Welcoming of 2020/2021 President Cynthia Paccacerqua
- III. Election of Faculty Senate Officers

Important Note: A quorum of the 2020-2021 Senate is needed in order to elect the 2020-2021 Senate Officers and Executive Committee – Officers are elected by the 2020/2021 full senate Nominations by email and on the floor nominations are accepted for the positions below:

- a. President-Elect
- b. Secretary
- c. Parliamentarian

**Important Note 1**: All Officer positions must to be elected **in the order given above** and only senators from Colleges that not already provide a newly elected Senate Officer are eligible to be elected.

IV. Election of Faculty Senate Executive Committee Members

**Important Note 1**: All Senate officers need to be elected before electing the remaining FSEC members. Until that has happened all 2019/2020 FSEC members will keep stay on the FSEC and elections of the FSEC will be postponed.

**Important Note 2** Executive Committee members are **elected by the College caucuses**. Every College that does not currently provide an Officer (including President and Past-President) must elect an executive committee member.

Nominations by email and on the floor nominations are accepted for the positions Below is a list of colleges and units that need representation in the FSEC (Either as officer or regular member):

- a. VCOBE
- b. CECS
- c. CEP
- d. CFA
- e. COHP
- f. CLA
- g. COS
- h. SON
- i. SSW
- j. SOM
- k. UC
- l. UL

V. Announcements

VI. Adjournment of first meeting of 2020-2021 AY Faculty Senate