The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Sub Menu Toggle

College of Fine Arts

College of Fine Arts

The College of Fine Arts is the heart of performing and fine arts at UTRGV. It is home to the School of Art, School of Music, and the departments of dance, theatre and creative writing where we prepare our students for productive careers and life in the arts. Through plays, concerts, art exhibits and special events, our college also provides access to cultural events for the entire Rio Grande Valley.

Accreditation

Department of Theatre:

The theatre-TV-film program is accredited by the Texas Educational Theatre Association and the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST).

School of Music:

The Department of Music is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM) and is a member of the Texas Association of Music Schools (TAMS).

Contact Information

Office of the Dean

Steven Block
Dean, College of Fine Arts
steven.block@utrgv.edu
956-665-2175
Peter Dabrowski
Interim Associate Dean for Community Engagement
peter.dabrowski@utrgv.edu
956-665-2175
Vacant
Interim Associate Dean for Undergraduate/Graduate Studies
Mirna Villarreal
Assistant Dean for Administration
mirna.villarreal@utrgv.edu
956-665-2175
Jessica Lorena Trevino
Administrative Coordinator
jessica.trevino@utrgv.edu
956-665-2175
Alexandra Gonzalez
Administrative Associate
alexandra.gonzalez@utrgv.edu
956-665-2175
Angela Reyes
Administrative Assistant II
angela.reyes@utrg.edu
956-665-7768
 

Performing Arts Complex

H. Joseph Diaz
Production and Arts Facilities Manager
hiram.diaz@utrgv.edu
956-665-3880
Tony Casas
Senior Program Coordinator
tony.casas@utrgv.edu
956-665-8714

TSC Arts Center

Catherine Compton
Program Coordinator
catherine.compton@utrgv.edu
956-882-7025
 

Art

Susan Fitzsimmons
Interim Director
susan.fitzsimmons@utrgv.edu
956-665-3480
Vacant
Associate Director
Veronica Chavaria
Administrative Assistant II
veronica.chavaria@utrgv.edu
956-665-7030
Arlene Cavazos
Office Assistant I
arelene.cavazos@utrgv.edu
956-665-3480 
Robert Axtell
Lab Technical Service Supervisor
robert.axtell@utrgv.edu
956-665-8242
 

Music

Kurt Martinez
Interim Director
kurt.martinez@utrgv.edu
956-665-3471
Norma Salinas
Administrative Assistant II
norma.salinas@utrgv.edu
956-665-3471

Theatre

Interim Chair
thomas.grabowski@utrgv.edu
956-665-3888
Diana Ramirez
Administrative Assistant II
diana.ramirez@utrgv.edu
956-665-3888

Creative Writing

Philip Zwerling
Interim Program Director
philip.zwerling@utrgv.edu
956-665-3890
Diana Ramirez
Administrative Assistant II
diana.ramirez@utrgv.edu
956-665-3890

Dance

Francisco Munoz
Interim Program Director
francisco.munoz@utrgv.edu
956-665-3889
Diana Ramirez
Administrative Assistant II
diana.ramirez@utrgv.edu
956-665-3889

Compose Word documents and convert to HTML easily online for free. Please leave this message unchanged or subscribe now for a htmlg membership.