Sub Menu Toggle

UTRGV education professor named to fifth class of Greater Texas Foundation fellows

UTRGV Assistant Professor Angela Chapman, College of Education and P-16 Integration’s Department of Teaching and Learning, is one of just six professors in Texas to be named to the Greater Texas Foundation’s new class of Faculty Fellows. (UTRGV Photo by Paul Chouy)

UTRGV Assistant Professor Angela Chapman, College of Education and P-16 Integration’s Department of Teaching and Learning, is one of just six professors in Texas to be named to the Greater Texas Foundation’s new class of Faculty Fellows. (UTRGV Photo by Paul Chouy)

RIO GRANDE VALLEY, TEXAS – SEPT. 13, 2017 – Dr. Angela Chapman, assistant professor in the UTRGV College of Education and P-16 Integration’s Department of Teaching and Learning, is one of six professors in the state to be named to the Greater Texas Foundation’s new class of Faculty Fellows (GTF Fellows).

The six faculty members from five Texas universities will join the program in fall 2018. The goal of the GTF Fellows program is to build the research and teaching capacity of tenure-track faculty at Texas colleges who work in areas related to student success.

Each GTF Fellow receives up to $30,000 per year for three years to support a research agenda aligned with the foundation’s mission to support postsecondary preparation, access, persistence, and completion for Texas students.

Chapman, who has been with the university since 2013, holds a Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction with a Science Education emphasis from the University of South Florida. She earned a Master of Science degree in Biology from the University of Kentucky, and a Bachelor of Science degree in Zoology from Michigan State University.

She has been a middle and high school science teacher in Florida public schools and was awarded several classroom grants that focused on improving student engagement and learning in science, especially for students who have been marginalized and disenfranchised. Many of her middle and high school projects focused on providing all students with authentic science experiences and inquiry-based instruction, and she was recognized as a 2006 Disney Teacher of the Year for those efforts.

Chapman said she is excited for the GTF opportunity, because her plan of research – “Project ACCESS: Acquisition of Curricular Content for Exceptional Success in Science” – will support prospective and in-service secondary math and science teachers in the classroom.

“I hope this allows me to not only continue what I have been doing in my classroom, but to develop, test and implement innovative science and math curriculum for high school science and math teachers,” Chapman said. “In the past two years, I have been working with several RGV school districts and high school science teachers to pilot Project ACCESS curriculum, and establishing an RGV STEM Education Consortium that brings together P-16, for-profit, and not-for-profit stakeholders to support STEM learning and success for RGV residents.”

Dr. Patricia McHatton, dean of the College of Education and P-16 Integration, interim UTRGV provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, said Chapman’s many accomplishments as an educator speak to her continued commitment to improving outcomes for students everywhere.

“It is gratifying that the Greater Texas Foundation recognizes and values Dr. Chapman’s vision for providing the highest-quality education for our students,” McHatton said. “Dr. Chapman is committed to ensuring we are preparing the quality of teacher all of our students deserve. She also works with many of our undergraduate students, engaging them in research initiatives pertaining to STEM education.”

In addition to Chapman, Texas educators selected for the fifth GTF Fellows Program are:

  • Dr. Joshua Childs, assistant professor, Department of Educational Administration, UT-Austin.
  • Dr. Hugo Garcia-Gonzales, assistant professor, Department of Higher Education, Texas Tech University.
  • Dr. Forrest Lane, assistant professor, Department of Educational Leadership, Sam Houston State University.
  • Dr. James Pustejovsky, assistant professor, Department of Educational Psychology, UT-Austin.
  • Dr. Marialena Rivera, assistant professor, Department of Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education & School Improvement, Texas State University.

During the first four years of the program, GTF named four fellows per year, making this year’s class the largest to date.

After being nominated through an invitation-only process, the selected fellows were invited to participate in a competitive proposal process in which they were required to demonstrate significant potential in and commitment to a career in research and teaching at the postsecondary level. Applicants also are required to identify a mentor to assist them throughout the three-year fellowship.

Each of the selected fellows’ institutions committed to a partial match for the program. Through participation in annual GTF Fellows convenings over the course of the fellowship, fellows will have access to professional development opportunities and guidance related to their intended career trajectory.

Selection process for the sixth class of fellows will begin in fall 2017. For additional information about the GTF Fellows program and the fellows, visit

The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) was created by the Texas Legislature in 2013 as the first major public university of the 21st century in Texas. This transformative initiative provided the opportunity to expand educational opportunities in the Rio Grande Valley, including a new School of Medicine, and made it possible for residents of the region to benefit from the Permanent University Fund – a public endowment contributing support to the University of Texas System and other institutions.

UTRGV has campuses and off-campus research and teaching sites throughout the Rio Grande Valley including in Boca Chica Beach, Brownsville (formerly The University of Texas at Brownsville campus), Edinburg (formerly The University of Texas-Pan American campus), Harlingen, McAllen, Port Isabel, Rio Grande City, and South Padre Island. UTRGV, a comprehensive academic institution, enrolled its first class in the fall of 2015, and the School of Medicine welcomed its first class in the summer of 2016.

UTRGV Director of News and Internal Communications / 956-665-2742