The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

The Center of Excellence in STEM Education

UTRGV STEM Faculty Mentors for Students


STEM Faculty Mentors are UTRGV faculty who reside in the College Science and Mathematics or in the College of Engineering and Computer Science. The faculty provide their guidance and advice to students in these colleges regarding students' academic, career, and professional development. They have volunteered to mentor students and to answer any questions you may have, in particular, questions relating to graduate programs, summer research opportunities, scholarships/fellowships, or research. Therefore, please seek any of the STEM Faculty Mentors below or speak with your favorite professor.
Learn about additional resources for your academic, professional, and career development in the tab Student Resources

College of Science & Mathematics

Biology    
Dr. Robert Gilkerson gilkersonrw@utpa.edu SCIE 2.320
Dr. Jameela Banu banuj@utpa.edu HSHW 1.102C
Dr. Frank Dirrigl
dirriglf@utpa.edu SCIE 2.344
Dr. Teresa Feria
tpferia@utpa.edu SCIE 2.328
Dr. Christopher Vitek vitekc@utpa.edu SCIE 2.324
Dr. Robert Dearth dearthrk@utpa.edu SCIE 1.320
Chemistry    
Dr. Chris Smith kcsmith@utpa.edu SCIE 3.308
Dr. Jim Bullard (biochem) bullardj@utpa.edu SCIE 3.320
Dr. Yuanbing Mao maoy@utpa.edu SCIE 3.368
Dr. Evangelia Kotsikorou kotsikoroue@utpa.edu SCNE 3.364
Dr. Joanne Rampersad jrampersad@utpa.edu SCIE 3.118
Mathematics    
Dr. Zhaosheng Feng zsfeng@utpa.edu MAGC 3.730
Dr. Tim Huber hubertj@utpa.edu MAGC 3.734
Dr. Sean Lawton lawtonsd@utpa.edu MAGC 3.422
Dr. George Yanev yanevgp@utpa.edu MAGC 3.424
Dr. Xiaohui Wang xhwang@utpa.edu MAGC 3.434
Dr. Iskra Nunez nunezi@utpa.edu MAGC 3.210
Dr. Aaron Wilson wilsonat@utpa.edu MAGC 3.208
Dr. Cristina Villalobos mcvilla@utpa.edu MAGC 3.718
Physics & Geology    
Dr. Edgar Corpuz ecorpuz@utpa.edu SCIE 3.130
Dr. Liang Zeng zengl@utpa.edu SCIE 3.134
Ms. Martha Casquete casquetem@utpa.edu SCIE 3.136

College of Engineering & Computer Science

Manufacturing Engineering    
Dr. Kye-Hwan Lee khlee@utpa.edu ENGR 3.254
Dr. Rajiv Nambiar nambiar@utpa.edu ENGR 3258
Dr. Hiram Moya
moyah@utpa.edu ENGR 3224
Mechanical Engineering    
Dr. Arturo Fuentes aafuentes@utpa.edu ENGR 3.256
Mr. Gregory Potter gpotter@utpa.edu ENGR. 3.218
Dr. Constantine Tarawneh Tarawneh@utpa.edu ENGR 3.228
Civil Engineering    
Dr. Jungseok (Jay) Ho hoj@utpa.edu ASB 1.204
Mr. Jorge Vidal vidalj@utpa.edu BUSA 120I
Computer Science    
Dr. Laura Grabowski grabowskilm@utpa.edu ENGR 3.264A
Dr. Christine Reilly reillycf@utpa.edu ENGR 3.272
Dr. Andres Figueroa andresfila@utpa.edu ENGR. 3.264
Dr. Richard Fowler fowler@utpa.edu ENGR 3.2104