Started at 11:00 am

Present: Maysam Pournik (Chair), John Abraham, Erik Enriquez, Jae Son, Nantakan Wongkasem, Mataz Alcoutlabi, Majid Hosseini (via Zoom), Thang Pham.

<u>Guests:</u> Sanjeev Kumar (Faculty Senator (Ex Officio/Non-Voting Member), via Zoom), Ala Qubbaj, Thuy Vu, Nazmul Islam.

Absent: Abdoul Oubeidillah, Alley Butler, Domingo Molina, Immanuel Edinbarough

Minutes:

- 1. Council Chair, Dr. Pournik, welcomed and introduced the College council, and all present members introduced themselves.
- 2. College Dean, Dr. Qubbaj, gave speech on college updates and plans for the current academic year, including faculty evaluation, merit and equity, R1 transition, enrollment, and PhD programs.
- Additional topics discussed: Suggestions for Council role/responsibilities/activities (Dr. Pournik), i.e., excellent awards, internal leadership, building good climate, education quality (Dr. Islam), Brownsville campus (Drs. Kumar and Wongkasem), long term research contribution (Dr. Son), common evaluation criteria for all departments (Dr. Hosseini).

Meeting adjourned at 12:22 pm