

THE ROAD TO 2020

DECEMBER 2012

The UT System Board of Regents approves the creation of a new university in the Rio Grande

Valley, including a medica school, by combining The University of Texas-Pan American in Edinburg, The University of Texas at Brownsville and The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio's Harlingen Regional Academic Health Center (UTHSCSA HRAHC).

FEBRUARY 2013

House Bill 1000 and Senate Bill 24 are filed and introduced by Valley lawmakers, authorizing the unification of UTPA, UTB and the UTHSCSA HRAHC for the establishment of a medical school.

JUNE/JULY 2013

The Texas Legislature approves Senate Bill 24, Gov. Rick Perry signs the bill into law, with ceremonial signings in Brownsville and Edinburg.

NOVEMBER 2013

The UT System Board of
Regents approves spending \$54
million to create the Medical
Education Building on the
UTRGV Edinburg Campus.
Medical students will spend
much of their first two years in
that building.

FEBRUARY 2014

Dr. Francisco Fernandez is hired as inaugural dean for the UTRGV School of Medicine.

JULY 2014

The UT System Board of Regents approves the Doctor of Medicine (MD) degree program for UTRGV.

JULY 2014

Construction begins on the Medical Education Building on the UTRGV Edinburg Campus.

OCTOBER 2014

Dr. Sarah Williams-Blangero and her team are brought on board to establish the South Texas Diabetes and Obesity Institute.

MARCH 2015

The first 42 medical residents are matched with UTRGV.

JUNE 2015

UTRGV School of Medicine welcomes its first cohort of medical residents with a White Coat Ceremony.

OCTOBER 2015

The Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) grants preliminary accreditation, allowing the School of Medicine to recruit its first students.

SUMMER 2016

Construction is completed on the Medical Education Building.

JUNE 2016

The UTRGV School of Medicine welcomes its first 55 students.

